MMM 290: Now the real work starts

We close on Thursday, so that alone is going to be an ordeal as wife, Possum, and I spend hours in the car getting the cashier’s check and then signing all the documents.  After that, eesh.  Gotta plant some trees, find a builder, talk to the engineered septic guy, find a guy to lease some acreage for hay planting, make some plans, get a building loan, consider borrowing from my 401k since the market’s sure to tank next year anyhow, get the landscaping in shape here, get the house and barn and fencing built and the well dug, sell this house, move 2 horses and 2 dogs and 13 chickens and 3 cats and a house full of stuff, and keep my awesome job going long enough to pay for all of that.

Next year at this time, hopefully, it will all be okay, but right now I feel like I’m going in for major corrective surgery or something.

Motivational statements in photos are sooo 2009.

tumblr_m3rucgvzfU1qdqxc1o1_500.jpg

Fake, but at least they aren’t disgustingly large.

tumblr_m4htoc1C4M1rqlia6o1_500.jpg

I think she’s Greek

tumblr_m7q8zpk9Hu1rpfztqo1_500.jpg

She is climbing that rope all wrong.

tumblr_maeixw2rOf1ro0mq6o1_500.jpg

Nike monochrome.

tumblr_mbbwe7J5EA1qcy3b7o1_500.jpg

The Big Reveal is about to happen, is Clint right?

tumblr_mcc6a56EyD1rzz0two1_500.jpg

Pink shorts.

tumblr_mcg48rwEdb1rfi5sto1_500.jpg

The only reason to attend these things.

tumblr_mcqc0nP3dz1qaktt0o1_500.jpg

Deep lunge.

tumblr_mcrhoas3v31qdqxc1o1_500.jpg

And the week begins.  Anyone else doing something life-altering in the next few days?

173 Comments

  1. A lot of life altering things just sorta sneak up on you. 20-20 retrospective vision makes them obvious of course.

  2. Did Carin get a grease pen number for the weekend race?

  3. Number of vaginas in this poat: 3.75

  4. And if so, is it gone yet?

  5. The only reason to attend these things.

    NOT TRUE. you get a “free beer” and a banana. And a t-shirt.

    I love the races – especially with a group. They are a lot of fun.

  6. Did Carin get a grease pen number for the weekend race?

    Yea, and mostly gone. It was some sort of a marker.

  7. My mudder buddies did a Ruck walk for Veteran Suicide awareness while I ran the Spartan. 23 miles. Most of them are hurting pretty bad still.

  8. Not boyfriend is proving to be pretty much a “not” boyfriend. As in, he kinda sucks as a boyfriend. School started and suddenly he doesn’t have much time for her – but gets irritated when she spends time with other people. Whatever. Dating is supposed to be more fun, so Ethan told me he’s getting the boot today.

    Stay tuned. She’s kinda given him ultimatums before and suddenly he’s caring and concerned. I don’t get it. Maybe he’s defective. Erin’s best friend Emily says he just likes the idea of dating Erin, but is actually just too self focused to care about other people’s feelings. He’s been kinda shitty to his best friend recently as well.

  9. I did a 4 minute cold shower this morning for brown fat gainz, and didn’t put on my glasses until I sat down at my desk about an hour after I got up and after all my outside chores for eye gainz, also prayed my rosary first thing when I got up for all kinds of gainz.

    It’s been a good morning.

  10. Is eye gainz a thing? Should I be going w/o?

    Or are you merely getting “used” to shitty eyesight.

  11. Maybe he’s defective.

    He’s a teenaged boy, we all were.

  12. True. Some are more defective than others.

  13. Carin, I’ve read a bit about this now, and there is a lot to suggest that correcting myopia makes the problem worse as the eyes distort more to accommodate the lenses. The primary issue isn’t distance vision – where you need all of the correction to see details – but close vision, where you’re using all the correction you need for 200 yards to see things at 2 yards. I’m planning to get a weaker prescription for my many hours of daily computer work next time I get glasses, and I’ve stopped wearing them to read hand-held books and screens. I’m noticing less eyestrain, and I think my distance vision is improving slowly.

  14. Nike “girl” shouldn’t wear white, shows the bump.

  15. So, it’s like lifting for your eyes?

  16. I did notice that my distance vision improved dramatically during my staycation, before I was even thinking about this. I spent 8-10 hours outside every day in bright sunshine looking into the distance for most of the week.

  17. More like yoga, you’re letting the muscles around the eye relax and return to a more natural state, which should let they eye flatten out over time (myopia makes it too long).

  18. I’m near sighted, so I guess this won’t help me?

  19. Myopia is near-sightedness. I have moderate myopia and slight astigmatism.

  20. Oh, so you wear glasses to read for the astigmatism? I take my glasses off for any reading, etc.

  21. My prescription is pretty strong.

  22. Far-sightedness is hyperopia, different problem. Age-related far-sightedness is actually presbyopia, which is a hardening of the lens that makes it difficult to focus on nearby objects. Myopic people becoming presbyopic are the bifocals-wearers.

  23. I’m moderate, 4.25 in the right eye, 3.25 in the left. Astigmatism is very light, but it’s corrected for in my lenses.

  24. Yes. I’m myopic. Have been since I was 16. I have zero problem reading books, looking at the computer. I was just confused by you stating you wanted a different RX for reading. I just take my glasses off.

    Basically, you’re explanation confused me. I take my glasses off to read anyway, so it shouldn’t be an issue for me with ever needing glasses to read book. At least not due to my corrective lenses. I’ve pretty much always taken my glasses off to read.

  25. No, the different RX would be for desk work. I can always hold a book closer, but my monitors and desk are at arm’s length, which is about 1′ too far away for easy use.

  26. Ah. Got it.

  27. Of course you’re myopic, your a conservative!

    Duh!

  28. my monitor sits about 17 inches away, which is perfect. I notice that a little further than that and it’s not so good.

  29. Any word from Mare?

    Our friends who live close by are stranded in Michigan. Nobody is allowed back into Pinellas County at this time, so my friends are just waiting for the clean up and reopening of bridges so they can fly back. They talked to neighbors who say that they all still have power. I hope Mare does.

    By the time the storm hit Tampa/St. Pete area is was a Cat 1. Now it’s a tropical storm fucking with the people in northern FL.

  30. If I start a tangelo from seed (cross between a tangerine and a pomelo, form of grapefruit, really tasty!) is that the tree I’ll have? Or is it one of those grafting type things, where I’ll get the tangerine tree, or pomelo?

    Can’t remember, I think it’s the tangelo I’ll get, it’s a true cross.

  31. I think that’s how Godzilla came about.

  32. Happy birthday, Oso!

  33. Welp, we dodged that bullet, A few trees down but we never lost power, no windows were broken and no water damage at our house. Hope my daughter’s home faired as well.

    MJ, so, so happy for the two of you (three of you)!!

    Oso, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

  34. Hotspur, I can’t speak for Jeff and Linda’s island but we really faired well here. I think they are going to be surprised how well everything came through. The hurricane eye was very wide (which is good) and it lost a lot of steam after trashing Ft. Meyers. Although rotten for them, it made things up here so much better.

  35. Weird, the hurricane was on the west side of the state but the east side had it really badly with rain and wind.

  36. Our company’s office in Orlando is closed today, cuz of Irma.

    Glad to hear you’re safe, mare.

  37. I friend lives on the east side and they’ve got 5 inches of water in their house.

  38. I’m super excited. I got some tickets to see a band I’m really excited about, and they’re basically playing in a bar. It’s a “venue” but tiny tiny tiny.

    I can’t wait. It’s going to be so awesome. It’s for that band I put here last week or so – Highly suspect. Probably the last tour they play these kind of joints.

  39. Those are usually really good shows. Small venue before they go big.

    Saw Cracker in one of those, still one of the best shows ever. Matthew Sweet, Son Volt, etc. Man I miss that live music place.

  40. “correcting myopia makes the problem worse as the eyes distort more to accommodate the lenses”

    I have noticed this. I’ve had distance glasses for almost 20 years and never wear them.

    They help when I am wearing them, but if I take them off my vision is twice as bad.

  41. Congrats on not dying Mare zee doats

  42. Thanks, Jam.

  43. Good luck with the land leon!!!!

  44. That’ll be fun

  45. I am so excited J’ames. I’m taking a friend from work. She went to see Tool with me – she’s usually up for anything. It’s NEXT week.

    Then next month is QOTSA

  46. Hi, Mare. Isn’t that because the worst part of a hurricane is normally on the northeast side of the eye?

  47. I’m taking a friend from work. She went to see Tool with me – she’s usually up for anything.

    Does she drive a Subaru as well?

  48. She does not.

    /bad dog

  49. https://www.steynonline.com/8101/songs-in-the-keys-of-florida

    Nice collection of songs.

  50. Must have the plaid flannel shirt, tho…

  51. Comment by mare on September 11, 2017 9:23 am
    Weird, the hurricane was on the west side of the state but the east side had it really badly with rain and wind.

    The east side of a hurricane is often referred to as “the dirty side” because that’s where all of the nasty weather is.

  52. Long myopia talk

  53. It’s all hurricaney here….not that impressive really. I thought North Dakota was supposed to be in the damage zone.

  54. I’m nearsighted and severly astigmatic. Folks who’ve looked through my lenses are amazed I can see at all.

  55. Correct, I forgot just how big the hurricane was, the northeast quadrant was right on Ft. Pierce.

  56. Every time I see that picture of The Falling Man from 9-11 my stomach rolls and I get enraged at the bullshitters who refuse to call it Islamic terrorism. Pencil-dick Obama, I’m looking at you.

  57. HBD Oso.

  58. Compare and contrast the Google & Bing main pages.

  59. Thanks Leon, that was very interesting.

  60. I’m surprised Google has even the black ribbon. Just happy they aren’t celebrating Chavez or Pol Pot or Idi Amin.

  61. Happy Birthday Crazy Bear,

    https://is.gd/_I_got_you_one_of_these_pink flamingo blow up things.

  62. Comment by Chi on September 11, 2017 12:08 pm
    Compare and contrast the Google & Bing main pages.

    ——-

    Googlie really is comprised of a bunch of churlish mofos.

  63. flamingo blow up things.

    Good thing they were safe behind that pane of glass!

  64. They could have put up a balloon for oso’s birthday. Since we’re always googling her acronyms.

  65. I don’t google.

    Happy birthday, Oso.

  66. RECIPE MAYDAY

    Pancake mix calls for 3TBLS of vegetable oil, I only have virgin olive oil or butter.

    MAYDAY MAYDAY

  67. My 8th grader texted Paula earlier and boy was he pissed. No 9/11 memorial at his school today. It’s something he’s known his entire school life and he’s mad at the teachers for not doing it. I told Paula she ought to call the local VFW and leave an anonymous tip on their machine to avoid any blowback on the patriotic kid.

  68. I had to look up the black ribbon. Apparently it’s a generic “remembrance” ribbon (I thought it originated as a POW/MIA thing).

    But yeah, I’m surprised those assholes don’t have Google spelled out in arabic today.

  69. Anyone else have different color vision between eyes? I’m looking at a bush that’s turning red and my red/green quantity is pretty distinct between them. I knew I had some, but hadn’t realized how much.

  70. Pancake mix calls for 3TBLS of vegetable oil, I only have virgin olive oil or butter.

    Melt the butter, watch for browning.

  71. That’s an easy one Pupster. Substitute 4 TBLS of rum or vodka.

  72. I’d use the EVOO, myself. Butter would be good, though.

  73. Olive oil will make them taste like salad.

  74. nah, there’s not enough of it.

  75. Do you have any synthetic motor oil? Not the regular stuff.

  76. http://tinyurl.com/yan3fw8k

  77. Happy birthday OSO!!!!!

  78. Any Crisco in the house? Lard?

  79. Your mom’s car

  80. Tempted to make XBrad or Jay’s linkies my screensaver at work….

  81. 2T of butter, 1T of olive oil or vice versa

  82. Throw in some chocolate chips.

  83. And rum.

  84. The fake Verrits at Ace’s are hilarious. I’m betting at this point there are more parodists than actual users.

  85. http://seandietrich.com/evacuees/

  86. A sweet account, roamy!
    <3

  87. Breakup didn’t take.

  88. LOL

  89. She will later look back on this and wish it had.

  90. Grrr. Friend request on Facedouche. Several friends in common, all with kids at Mini-me’s high school. Okay, I don’t recognize her name, but maybe she’s a freshman parent (she is). I click “accept”.

    Scumsucking lowlife jackwagon is selling some scam ketone supplement for losing weight and went through the school directory, gathering names and email addresses. I hope I just got her banned, and if I see her at the school, I’m going to give her a piece of my mind.

  91. Maybe sooner rather than later, Leon?

    I think it’s kinda cute. How many first/early relationships actually work out?

    I know of one, my sis married her first boyfriend right out of HS. Eloped. They had four kids & 25 yrs of happiness before she crashed it.

  92. I married my high school girlfriend. Dumbest fucking thing ever.

  93. I married my high school girlfriend. Dumbest fucking thing ever.

    Ditto. If I’d left for real the first time it was clear we were a bad match, we’d both have been much better off.

  94. I have several friends who are still married to their hs sweethearts.

  95. I have several friends who are still married to their hs sweethearts.

  96. Evidently Carin and Zombie Carin have several friends who are still married to their hs sweethearts

  97. I have a couple friends like that too, but stubbornness kept me in a relationship that was poison, just because I thought mine would work like theirs had. Eventually.

  98. Comment by Car in on September 11, 2017 2:52 pm

    Breakup didn’t take.

    She just needed one more hit to get clean.

  99. There is no time frame for meeting someone. People make just as shitty decisions in their 3
    20s and 30s.

    I’m not saying that’s the case with these two. Who still are “not dating”. He did officially ask her to homecoming. I think she’s waiting to see if he screws this up. It’s time to shine, son.

    Heh- as an aside, I caught him taking a nervous look at my car after school. I pick up ethan and he parks right next to the spot.

  100. *Ahem*
    And in their 40’s. Or… So I’ve heard.

  101. He’s just a really shitty boyfriend if he can’t make Erin happy. She isn’t needy and loves spending time with her friends- doesn’t have to be with you 24/7. Not clingy, etc. Gets along with your guy friends, isn’t jealous of BS.

  102. I’m missing something in the car comment. Do you think he’s figured out that you’re a lesbian or do you think he dinged it?

  103. The thing is, for some reason she really likes him. Her friend emily is always saying that if previous guys she was sorta interested in did ONE wrong thing, they were gone and she moved on.

    /shrugs.

    /practices “the look”

  104. No, he’s been sensitive in the past that i’d give him some mean look when she was upset with him.

    I’m sweet as pie. I don’t know what he’s referring to.

  105. I think he dinged it.

  106. farcebook post from Oconee County, GA Sheriff’s Department;

    Realistically speaking, please be prepared to be without electricity
    for a few days due to high winds and trees taking out utility lines.
    You might even lose your internet connection, which probably scares you more than being without TV or air conditioning.

    I don’t know what you need to get by for a few days without power. You
    should have a good idea of what you need and I hope you already have
    it. If you have someone elderly in your family you take care of then
    plan with them accordingly.
    It is going to rain, hard. Trees will fall. Up to 60mph winds will launch your porch furniture over into your neighbors yard. Normally that would be hilarious, but his porch furniture will launch into your yard too. Anything you don’t want launched should be put out of the wind.

    It is hard for us to plan ahead for what we call the “stupid factor”. I don’t know why, but it seems that someone always wants to do something stupid no matter the unique weather event. Try to avoid the stupid factor. Stupid makes more work for us, EMTs and ER personnel. In fact, stupid is the reason most of us have jobs. If you have stupid friends, avoid them until the power comes back on. If YOU are the stupid one, then please sit this one out and wait til an ice storm to come along before you demonstrate your capabilities.

  107. I think he dinged it.

    That was my first thought.

    ChrisPy,
    Damn but I hope that is a real post. Good to see a sense of humor from them.

  108. My eyesight improved over the past few years, to the point where I had to get new glasses. The damn prescription sunglasses cracked (cheap Michael Kors crap) and I can’t afford to get a new pair. That’s the only designer stuff I own. Didn’t even know what the MK stood for, didn’t care. But I liked the frames. Maybe I should just buy a regular pair. I only use glasses at night when driving locally.

    Life altering? My car is in the body shop, and I’m driving a Ford Focus. It’s freaking me out with all of its newfangled technology. The engine turns off when I’m at a red light. My left foot has nothing to do. I can’t smoke in the car. I don’t know how to use Sirius. The rear-view camera is alien. I want my 2005 Mustang.

  109. Comment by Chi on September 11, 2017 4:13 pm

    *Ahem*
    And in their 40’s. Or… So I’ve heard.

    And 50s. And 60s…

  110. Can the focus do donuts?

  111. The engine turns off when I’m at a red light.

    I had that in a rental car. I fucking hate it. Never in my own car.

  112. Can the Focus do donuts? I’ll never know!

    And yeah, I don’t like the engine turning off by itself. I need to keep this pony going as long as I can ( don’t want a newfangled nanny-car). It’s got just over 80K miles on it.

  113. Pupster, I thought I’d covered that here. Hops => “brewer’s droop”. First the schlong turns to taffy, then the moobs come.

  114. Stick to liquor, guys, it’s easier on your manhood.

    But not wine, because then you’ll be Hotspur.

  115. We met with the funeral home, chapel, and florist today, and made plans for Michelle’s memorial service. Amazingly, everything just fell into place.

    Now we have to come up with stuff for her obituary/tribute, pictures for her memorial video, and the details of the service itself.

    On Thursday, we are hoping to be able to drive down to Bryan/College Station and pick up her ashes and the urn.

    Friday will be when we have the visitation and Saturday will be the service.

  116. Choosing photos and music is so painful, {{{Teresa}}}. My heart goes out to you.

  117. Greetings, people who aren’t secretly Juggalos on the weekend. And leon, C arin, and Hospurt.

  118. Leon isn’t a juggalo.

    Car in, on the other hand, probably has a Faygo tramp stamp.

  119. Teresa, you have a long row to hoe, but I know you will get it all done beautifully. For those of us who have buried elderly parents, it’s a cake walk compared to what you have to get through.

    Godspeed.

  120. It’s true, I am not formally a Juggalo. I just handle their cybersecurity.

  121. Equating me with a juggalo is like saying your mom prays the rosary daily.

  122. This guy is a great artist

    https://is.gd/fXlc5s

  123. I preordered Hillary Clinton’s book. Can’t wait to read it.

  124. No, I didn’t.

  125. No, I don’t.

  126. That fucking book will die on the shelves. Who the eff wants to read the incoherent rantings of a fucking alcoholic pant suited bull dyke? (Who didn’t actually write it herself.)

  127. Roamy, I loved that “Sean of the South” deal.

  128. Mare LOVES Hotspur!

  129. This guy is a great artist

    I was fully expecting that to link to something like this:

    http://i.imgur.com/w8J9LUR.gif

  130. “No, he’s been sensitive in the past that i’d give him some mean look when she was upset with him.

    I’m sweet as pie. I don’t know what he’s referring to.”

    Oedipus thought the pie was sweet too…

    just sayin’

  131. The amount of busy stuff that has to get done asap after someone passes away is both a curse and a blessing.

  132. Thanks everyone. Happy Birthday, CoAlEx

  133. Hugs, TiFW ❤️🙏🏻

  134. Thanks, Crazy Bear!

  135. I knew it was oso’s birfday, but I forgot about Colex.

    Congrats on not dying for another year, man.

  136. Happy 29th to both of you.

  137. Happy B’Day you two…

  138. Yes, Happy birthday, and I am also happy that Mare didn’t get swept out to sea/

    How did your daughter fare?

  139. Happy Birthday, CoAlex!

  140. Happy birthday, Osita and CoAlex.

  141. ESPN has a woman with an incredibly annoying voice/delivery doing play by play on the Denver game tonight. Yeeesh.

  142. I don’t ESPN.

  143. I’ll only steal it for Giants games;

  144. I’ll raise my glass and say my Happy Birthdays to both of yous again.

    Watch “Flags Of Our Fathers” for the first time. This is brutal even on network TV.

  145. Broncos/LA Chargers so meh. Rams had 6$ tickets for yesterday’s game. It was like watching an Indians game at the Muni

  146. Serious? $6 for a NFL game?

  147. Happy Birthday Osoloco and Colex! Hang on to the Earth for another revolution around the sun. Good chance it’ll be more fun than the last.

  148. Happy birthday, Colex!

  149. Happy birthday CoAlex!!

  150. Hang on to the Earth for another revolution around the sun. Good chance it’ll be more fun than the last.

    Saaaaaaaay…that was awfully optimistic.

    WHO ARE YOU AND WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WITH LAURAW??!!

  151. Scott, yep. There’s a reason LA lost their football teams in the past.

  152. Work was bleh. Time for bed.

  153. Happy birthday, Oso and CoAlex!

  154. HAH! You are so funny. Aaaanyway.
    Goodnight.

    *zips pod up above head-nodule and commences restoration-cycle*

  155. Retail moment, we suspended Children’s Miracle Network for Hurricane Harvey. Auto pop up at POS. I get illegals that never donate or people that lecture me about the Red Cross. I’ve collected $5 total. H8

  156. G’night. Fat dachshund has already camped on my side of the bed. This dachshund doesn’t move.

  157. Derp in your summer, gather your corn
    The dreams of the night time will vanish by dawn
    And time waits for no one, and it won’t wait for me
    And time waits for no one, and it won’t wait for me
    No, no, no, not for me, no, not for me

  158. Moarnin!

    Happy Birthday Colex, sorry I’m late, but I got you one of these:

    https://is.gd/V53rTB

  159. Arsenal is closed due to Irma, so are the schools. I’m not arguing, every joint is letting me know the barometer is dropping. Advil is my friend today.

  160. wakey wakey

  161. Just saw a before/after Irma satellite pic of Fla at Twitchy. It looks like North Korea now.
    Est 10-13 million without power. Maybe for weeks.

  162. So I’m working on my new morning routine that I sort of started last week. I get out of bed the first time I look at the clock and it’s after 530am, then I get small-bladder dog outside and feed the cat. Next is rosary prayer, followed by dishes and making a cup of half-caff coffee (soon to be no caff). I let the coffee cool while I go outside to feed the horses, chickens, and barn cats, then I take an ice cold 5 minute shower. Today I even managed to squeeze in a load of laundry and transferring a giant bag of cat food from my car to the barrel in the barn. None of it felt rushed or hurried, and all of that got done by 8am.

    This needs to be a long-term habit, I feel great.

  163. Oh man, I hope it’s not weeks. Florida Light and Power is pretty damn good, I hope they’re getting the support they need.

  164. I snuggled with moose. Did some dishes. Started some laundry. Swept the floor. Investigated why Moose is getting too close to the fence, and remedied that situation.

    Then I watched a few videos and am catching up/drinking coffee.

    I’m fine with slow-rolling my morning. Life is a marathon, not a sprint.

  165. So I’m working on my new morning routine that I sort of started last week. I get out of bed the first time I look at the clock and it’s after 530am, then I get small-bladder dog outside and feed the cat. Next is rosary prayer, followed by dishes and making a cup of half-caff coffee (soon to be no caff). I let the coffee cool while I go outside to feed the horses, chickens, and barn cats, then I take an ice cold 5 minute shower. Today I even managed to squeeze in a load of laundry and transferring a giant bag of cat food from my car to the barrel in the barn. None of it felt rushed or hurried, and all of that got done by 8am.
    This needs to be a long-term habit, I feel great.
    ————————————
    *puts on tie hoping leon will notice my ‘go getum’ attitude

  166. Of course, I worked last night. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

  167. I need to wake about a half hour earlier than I currently do so I can practice violin before I head into work. I’m not going to do it when I get home at 9pm.

  168. This wasn’t sprinting at all, Carin, like I said, I just didn’t do anything else until it was all done. No internets, no multitasking.

  169. I just like to pace this shit out leon. If I accomplished that much in one day, Pay might start expecting more.

    gah.

  170. That ice cold shower would be the end of my day. I don’t think I could recover.

    But then I think I have circulation issues. Once my hands/feet get cold, it takes hours to get them back.

  171. got up

    made coffee

    farted

    sat in hot tub

    drank coffee

    poated

    gonna slow roll the rest of the day…..

    https://thehostages.wordpress.com/2017/09/12/directionless-pos-pooat/


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS