MMM 235: The end of the drive

Not of MMM, mind you, but of my time in this weird job.  There are some parts of it I’m definitely going to miss (like my coworkers, and being able to kinda sorta talk about my job and having people be interested in it), and some parts I really won’t miss (like commuting past the airport, not having my kitchen right there for lunches, not having my gym nearby).  Friday (or possibly earlier, depends on when we determine that I’ve sufficiently brain-dumped to coworkers and management) will be my last day in the industry.  I am definitely going to miss the people.  They are generally great to work with even if we couldn’t talk about much else, and to a person they really want to solve the problem.  It’s been really nice to be part of a team that is focused, competent, and positive.  If things don’t work out with the new gig, they have said they’d have me back.  I don’t know that I’ll take them up on that, but I wouldn’t feel awful doing so.  Even if it’s “just a a job”, it really isn’t a bad one, I just think I’ve found a better one for me.

Okay, time for some abs.

tumblr_m9wn8mvCei1r674hyo1_500

Not appropriate clothing for the gym.

tumblr_mcg18mAOL11rfi5sto1_500

Chains.

tumblr_mcnk2g7y7F1rpyb62o1_500

Butt selfie.

tumblr_mcv2ktpT881rb88tdo1_500

Handstand variation.

tumblr_md5ggrvSMe1qdqxc1o1_500

How in the heck is he looking at a clipboard?

tumblr_mddd0qGqY51qdqxc1o1_400

Wide stance.

tumblr_mde4kzuY8u1ru9y3vo1_500

I still don’t have a giant tire.  Probably couldn’t move one these days.

tumblr_mdgfmn8XN01ru6yjso1_500

Nice quads.

tumblr_mdigydHhzE1r1n07ho1_500

And that’ll round us out for this week.  Y’all have a great day.  I’ve got a full day of work and then hours of paperwork this evening, so even though I’m jazzed about moving on, I’m going to need some motivation today.

104 Comments

  1. Up since 430 again. Too many things conspiring to deprive me of a good night’s sleep.

  2. Good choices today Leon. Lingerie girl can workout here. Back to work today for me. We’re at the halfway mark of summer now, less than a month before school begins anew. We still embrace camp life but we all begin to sense the end of summer a little bit more each day.

  3. Workie workie

  4. ww

  5. Ok, today I’m gonna try that IF stuff. I’m easing into this whole deal.

  6. If you fast for 24 hours, what do you do then? Not that I’m thinking of doing such a thing, but I get the 14 or 16 hour fasting deal, where you simply eat in the other hours from the 24. If you fast for 24, what do you do then?

  7. I’m really not AS interested in this for me. I’m going to go on it and then encourage a few members of my family.

  8. The easiest way for me is to just skip breakfast. Dinner is over by 7PM and lunch at work is noonish.

    17 hours … BAM!!!

    (Black coffee happens)

  9. A 24 hour fast just means you eat dinner one night and then don’t eat again until dinner the next day. No special change to diet outside of that.

  10. Typically if you do 24s you do one or two a week, not daily as that would mathematically imply starvation. 14s and 16s and 20s and so on are for daily use.

  11. I’m not going to count the carbs of my veggies, etc. That’s too much work. I’ll just avoid high-carb veggies. Today I’ll do 12- 6 and try similar tomorrow (maybe 10-6). Mostly it’s going to be an issue of eating last because my family gets home late and eating after I work.

  12. Good morning!

    I’m losing weight I’ve already lost which makes me mad at myself, but I must keep focused and motivated.

    I will use Leon’s MMM for it’s purpose, motivation. Although these kittens are too young for my actual inspiration needs, I will use them to push for my abs to look like abdominals.

    I don’t know what I’m saying, but that hasn’t stopped me before.

  13. Fasting is a commie plot.

  14. “I would rather fast than eat communist gruel!!”

    ——–Possibly Thomas Paine

  15. Is not crop failure. Is glorious People’s Soviet Diet Plan.

    Like the beet diet, only better.

  16. IF Trump were smart, when asked about the naked Melania pics (which are fantastic) he’s should just say, “She’s gorgeous, right?” “Next question.”

  17. Even if you have only passing interest in seeing “The Secret Life Of Pets” you should go see it for no other reason than to watch the Minions Short which is shown before the feature is shown. Our entire audience howled with laughter pretty much every second of it.

  18. Star Trek Beyond is pretty good too. Trailer for Rogue One was most excellent.

  19. I’m likely going off keto for a while when I harvest potatoes, pumpkins, and cantaloupes.

  20. Is dissent the highest form of patriotism again?

    Is using dead soldiers as political props beneath contempt yet?

    Just checking.

  21. Only if you are a D, MJ. It’s in the rulebook.

  22. Oh, ok.

    I’ll go back to inventing iFish.

    On demand fish and chips delivery. It’s part of the shared economy and many other buzzwords.

  23. Eff shared economy.

  24. * strikes deal between Uber and Mrs Paul *

    * calls 1-800- fishstick *

  25. Will this be connected to your parking lot sushi project?

  26. *sues Scottw industries

  27. What would happen if Mrs. Paul and the Gorton’s guy hooked up?

  28. Will this be connected to your parking lot sushi project?
    ———————-
    Yes, but only in gas stations located near the ocean. Quality is of the utmost importance to us here are Phish Solutions Inc.

  29. “What would happen if Mrs. Paul and the Gorton’s guy hooked up?”

    People would notice a putrid smell, look up and utter, “Hillary for crying out loud haven’t you ever heard of Summer’s Eve?”

  30. Re:Those pics of Melania

    You know damn well that Bill Clinton is perving on them.

  31. To think, all this happened because kids in Valerie Jarrett’s grade school called her ferret face.

  32. Everyone seems to be stuck in the past. Naked pics of your wife is a feature, not a bug.

    As long as we don’t have to see naked pics of Bill, I’m good.

    https://is.gd/mj9iNL

  33. Ugh…coming here to complain because I need more than 140 characters…

    1) Twitter is not your domain, if you don’t want people to comment on what you post, bitch, then go to your barely read blog and post it there. And yes, using ‘your’ when you meant “you’re” does make you sound stupid and uneducated.

    2) I don’t think you are stupid because you have ladyparts. i think you are stupid because your posts are filled with misspellings, waterboarded logic and quotes from Last Week Tonight.

    3) Cedars-Sinai Hospital is pissing me off. I do not like being lied to and the constant feeling I am being tested like a rat in a maze to make sure I am worthy of taking care of my son after a transplant.

    4) Constantly moving the goalposts of his readiness for transplant listing while watching him get weaker is not easy.

    5)I am getting to the point of wanting to hurt people who tell me that I could have done something to keep him from getting sick.

    6) ((Primal scream))

    Thanks for listening…

    So, how is all you all’s Monday?

  34. Ugh…coming here to complain because I need more than 140 characters…
    1) Twitter is not your domain, if you don’t want people to comment on what you post, bitch, then go to your barely read blog and post it there. And yes, using ‘your’ when you meant “you’re” does make you sound stupid and uneducated.
    2) I don’t think you are stupid because you have ladyparts. i think you are stupid because your posts are filled with misspellings, waterboarded logic and quotes from Last Week Tonight.
    3) Cedars-Sinai Hospital is pissing me off. I do not like being lied to and the constant feeling I am being tested like a rat in a maze to make sure I am worthy of taking care of my son after a transplant.
    4) Constantly moving the goalposts of his readiness for transplant listing while watching him get weaker is not easy.
    5)I am getting to the point of wanting to hurt people who tell me that I could have done something to keep him from getting sick.
    6) ((Primal scream))
    Thanks for listening…
    So, how is all you all’s Monday?
    ———————–
    Good.

  35. Ugh…coming here to complain because I need more than 140 characters…
    1) Twitter is not your domain, if you don’t want people to comment on what you post, bitch, then go to your barely read blog and post it there. And yes, using ‘your’ when you meant “you’re” does make you sound stupid and uneducated.
    2) I don’t think you are stupid because you have ladyparts. i think you are stupid because your posts are filled with misspellings, waterboarded logic and quotes from Last Week Tonight.
    3) Cedars-Sinai Hospital is pissing me off. I do not like being lied to and the constant feeling I am being tested like a rat in a maze to make sure I am worthy of taking care of my son after a transplant.
    4) Constantly moving the goalposts of his readiness for transplant listing while watching him get weaker is not easy.
    5)I am getting to the point of wanting to hurt people who tell me that I could have done something to keep him from getting sick.
    6) ((Primal scream))
    Thanks for listening…
    So, how is all you all’s Monday?

    Fine.

  36. Good to see you again Mr. Science. Don’t be a stranger.

    Hotspur is hogging all the bullwhips this week, so you got that going for you.

  37. First “fast” down. I think I ate too much though just now. I’m feeling over-full.

    It was mostly veggies (with 2 eggs and some ham cooked in bacon fat) , so hopefully this will pass.

  38. My Monday is okay. I will pray for you and your son.

    If you need a sympathetic ear, email this username at Gmail and we can exchange numbers. Not sure if I can help at all, but will listen.

  39. Leon…thanks even if I don’t take you up on that offer. Thanks man. You are awesome despite what Car in says about you

  40. She’s just jealous of my tomato crop.

  41. Keeps mouf shut about transplant issues.

    But I will join with Leon in the prayers.

  42. Leon – my tomatoes are going to be EPIC this year.

  43. Probably. Everyone is jealous of your fruit

  44. I was thinking that I might rent a wood chipper for a day at the end of this season and just throw a few trees through it onto the garden area for next year, trying out the ‘Back to Eden’ method. Any thoughts? Pertinent thoughts?

  45. “Pertinent thoughts?”

    A: I often wonder if jock itch is hereditary?

  46. That sounds like a good idea. PLUS, if any of us have any bodies we need to get rid of ….

  47. If?????

  48. Remind me, it’s quicklime, not just plain lime, right?

  49. You put the lime in the coconut.

  50. Just bought a Lyin German VW. Hopefully I’m not too hard on the environment.

  51. Remind me, it’s quicklime, not just plain lime, right?

    Whatever. I’ll bring fresh mint. We’ll have mojitos.

  52. I have to worky worky at 5. It’s been *almost* two weeks.

    sigh.

  53. As in, straight, Car in? That’s a long haul.

  54. *starts a candlelight vigil for Car in’s vacation.

  55. Candlelight vigils is sooooo 90’s…..

    #nevahfohgetcarinvacation

  56. Wood-chippers are cool as heck, just be carefull lefty.

    Unless you turn the soil a lot, it will take a couple of seasons for the wood chips to break down, especially if it is green.

    Rental units will probably be dull, always get the bigger sized chipper than you think you need.

  57. Ok, went to see Finding Dory. Was not expecting what I saw. First off, I felt like i got punched right in the feels every time Dory’s parents were teaching her coping strategies. And then the scene where Dory’s mom was crying/worrying about Dory living on her own…

    Well, I freaking lost it like teh tweens when Zayn left One Direction, or the Latina community when Ricky Martin came out of the closet.

    Anyway, it was a good movie.

    Off Topic: Car In got a vacation? How in heck did you get that?

  58. Black Lives Matter put together a list of demands for the presidential candidates and reparations is one of them.

    1) were you ever a slave?

    2) do you wish you were born in Africa?

    c) shut the fuck up

  59. Wot a Monday. Taking a vacation means a lot of stuff backs up despite checking my email and powerchart twice, most recently Thursday. My partner is off this week which means all the cases coming in from call are mine. Cancelled the afternoon office to fix a smashed elbow in a 7 year old practicing pro wrestling moves at home. I’m pretty sure I tied or beat my record for fuck/fuckin-A/holy fucks/fuckin fucksticks uttered during a case. It fucking worked.

  60. Paula took the boys to the Bangor State Fair. There’s a big 4-H component to it but most people are there for the rides and people watching. Our older boy has been texting back and forth with a girl he met at his younger brother’s cross country meet. His friend has been staying at our camp so he asked if she had a friend. I saw the picture she texted and kept my mouth shut. Paula let me know what I suspected: big girl. Got a later update: the high school couples are holding hands. It’s only a matter of time before a fingerbang in the haunted house.

  61. https://is.gd/5BDS7J

  62. My just about 17 yr old is a jr dating the senior literal highschool cheerleading captain….. (don’t ask me how he pulled this off)

    Me: Do I need to get you condoms?

    Him: Already got some.

    Me: Good, now use em and don’t be a idiot.

    This has lead to other discussions re the affections of high school girls, keeping romantic relationship in context, etc.

  63. House is clean, garage emptied and swept. I’ll sweep it once more tomorrow while waiting for the carpet cleaners and then throw the last few things into the trailer. I’m hoping to get on the road by 10am.

  64. Bon voyage, Colorado Alex.

    Adventure awaits.

  65. https://is.gd/BeyMvU

  66. Vegan trolling again. I can’t help myself.

  67. Okay, it’s not really trolling. It’s just arguing with malnourished fools.

  68. https://is.gd/gQcdHT

  69. “A Fingerbang In The Haunted House” is my favorite Alice Cooper album, bar none.

  70. Being an adult is like fiesta everyday…except the pinata is filled with bills, the songs remind you of how old you are and it only ends when you die

    I am a fucking ray of sunshine…

  71. I am reading a baby sleep book, because “sleep like a baby” is a damned lie of an expression.

  72. A few of those gals above will likely tread upon chemically enlarged genitalia territory in their quest for muscle mass.

  73. http://tinyurl.com/lfpfrml

  74. Usually people claim they have dicks. “Enlarged clitorises” is an improvement.

    Also who the fuck are you and how many bullwhips are up your ass right now?

  75. Actually, adam, most of them are taking chemicals to go in the other direction.

  76. See? Like that.

    Lern 2 trol, n00b

  77. Saved for later reading, Alex, though it does contain some lies:

    Related to physical combat he states that recruits should be capable to march near 25 km, in five hours, they should also run, and jump (more likely avoiding obstacles) on a regular basis.

    Ahem, Flavius Vegetius most certainly did not say fuckall about kilometers or any other Metric System unit, you slapdick. Write the unit he wrote if you’re going to claim it’s a quote and provide the modern unit equivalent.

  78. 14,900 your mom.

  79. Sorry, I’m still punchy from hearing yet another vegan claim that pellagra and iron deficiencies aren’t real.

  80. BED TIME.

    All day with Possum tomorrow.

  81. Ahem, Flavius Vegetius most certainly did not say fuckall about kilometers or any other Metric System unit, you slapdick.

    He had The Sight. That’s why they burned him at the stake.

  82. or approximately 13000 hotspurs.

  83. 29000 MJs

  84. Could be less, he’s been working out

    https://is.gd/cg7u0S

  85. Are people in touch with Cyn on facedouche?

  86. I don’t think Cyn uses facedouche.

  87. I may be a little rusty on my Latin, but isn’t Flavius Vegetius Renatus
    Tasty vegetables from your ass?
    Wait – renal is kidney?

  88. It means asparagus pee smell or some shit

  89. Are people in touch with Cyn on facedouche?

    She used to answer emails before the retraining order. Maybe give that a try.

  90. Heh
    I knew it wasn’t tasty vegetable kidney, but now that you mention it Latin has a weird word order so it could be tasty kidney with vegetables.

  91. Publius Flavius was a 4th Century Historian. Makes him a contemporary of the greatest Roman general of all, Belisarius, but I don;t think he wrote directly about him

  92. De Gustibus is a better translation for the word taste I’m thinking. But I’m no expert.

  93. Who stole my muffkin paste?

  94. When I was studying Rome, had a hard time keeping it straight after the 3rd century. After the split and Byzantium I did not even try.

  95. I am making a silly PG, I did at one time know basic Latin. I was very surprised at how far it got me in Spanish speaking countries. I do not remember a dozen words now.

  96. Figured as much. I never studied Latin but my mom minored in it in college and my dad was an agronomy major so he had to know the latin names for a whole shitload of plants and farm animals. I kinda got bombarded with it as a kid. Don’t remember much now except that my mom used to throw a little “De Gustibus Est Non Disputandum” on my dad every time he got on his soapbox about something.

  97. Wandered through the front-room. Anita is looking at something on Amazon;
    “Mozart in The Jungle”.
    I was like;
    “That looks like Bernadette Peters from 20 years ago.”
    It is her.
    She must have a portrait in the attic that looks like hell.
    She has not aged…

  98. SHe was cute in The Jerk.

  99. PG,
    She still looks just like that…

  100. Beard Update, Day 274: It’s been a full nine months since I’ve had a shave. Three more months before I can trim this thing.

    http://tinyurl.com/zwv9zw7

  101. SeanM, I really hate to say this……but you’re one fedora and a pair of Chuck Taylor high tops away from being able to pass for hipster.

  102. I recently mused that my beard, glasses, amnd enjoyment of indie rock (not to mention vaping) put me quite close to hipster territory, but I am saved by my lack of a weird diet and unironic love of cargo shorts.

  103. The day breaks your derp aches
    You find that all her words of kindness linger on
    She no longer needs you
    She wakes up she makes up
    She takes her time and doesn’t feel she has to hurry
    She no longer needs you


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS