MMM 176: Memorial Day Motivation?

Please stomp this if you have an actual Memorial Day poat in mind.

Really shouldn’t box in panties.
tumblr_mmdsicOnkf1rfi5sto1_500

Arm veins.
tumblr_mnyfryO04o1qd6wl0o1_500
Is it intended to be a booty selfie or a tricep selfie?
tumblr_mp3t4tIbvw1rqlia6o1_500
Meanwhile, in Colombia…
tumblr_mxt6xxK6rP1rpfztqo1_1280
Redhead in emerald.
tumblr_n2qd2iSg0P1rpfztqo1_1280
Could be a guy.
tumblr_nncce3q6IJ1r41ea0o1_1280
Is that a stack of traffic cones over there?
tumblr_nniudu4nCJ1tnaufeo1_1280
Enjoy what’s most likely your day off. I’ll be lifting and then doing intense manual labor until mid afternoon.

224 Comments

  1. I’m working with ya too, leon. Project steaming forward, but working.

    *fingers crossed for an early day

    Hate missing Memorial Day with my dad. Hate it. I don’t have a lot of them left.

  2. Late risers today, huh?

    GET UP!

  3. Skinny guy in Ames.

  4. What is a “day off”?

  5. Got up with a dog whining at me at 0545.

    GOTTA KEEP THE ROUTINE !!!!

    Shaved/showered/sipped coffee/some other “s” soon.

  6. First ones up are on the West coast? interesting

  7. Paula’s mother has done well after her surgery. They were going to drive home today from Boston but she’s had a low grade fever off and on for the past 2 days. Fevers post-op are pretty common due to atelectasis (not taking deep breaths due to pain and relative inactivity). She has a vascular graft in place and they’re being cautious to make sure there’s no infection present which is unlikely.

  8. I got up at 730 or so, I was really trying to sleep in but it’s too bright out.

    Coffee made. Drinking and checking news ’til gym time.

  9. Morning.

  10. The guy taking the selfie with the water bottle might be a girl.

  11. good night future travelers.

  12. Something I did yesterday or the day before irritated the skin on my cheeks and around my eyes. Spending most of the day outside may be rough.

  13. Shaved/showered/sipped coffee/some other “s” soon.
    ——————-
    Suck dick for crack?

  14. Hold out for a better drug.

  15. 2 questions, is Carin still working and is she Jamaican?

  16. GYM TIME! I hope it’s not too crowded.

  17. Wakey wakey

    I need jimbro. Medical question. Free advice if you please.

  18. I worked a fake double yesterday mare.

    I work today at 4.

  19. Why not 3:00?

  20. Don’t give them any ideas

  21. I have to go scout out tonight’s auction.

    I think I tripled my money last week.

  22. Wassup Car in? I just had to get the kids to shower and brush their teeth since I realized it has been a couple of days and momma isn’t coming home to make it happen.

  23. A chiro at work yesterday told me that it’s not my rotator cuff- it’s my bicep tendon. That it’s out of alignment and that an adjustment would help. This morning a heard a pop and now it feels a ton better but it’s done this before. Should I go or just keep on with the ice, rest etc?

  24. My rule with chiropractors is if they’re making you feel better and not claiming to cure outrageous things, go for it. Most of them are well within the realm of do no harm. I’ve seen the occasional doozies coming out of their offices though. With overhead lifting (trays, zumba) the long head of the biceps can impinge and have a tendonitis. I’m not sure how “manipulating” it within its sheath is supposed to give relief. There’s not much to do for biceps tendonitis other than conservative care or surgery. Take your pick.

    More than you ever want to know about biceps tendonitis:

    http://www.wheelessonline.com/ortho/407

  25. Thanks!!!!

  26. Rupture of the long head of the biceps leads to a “Popeye” appearance: http://is.gd/XexiUM

  27. Buffalone, I like how the idiot in the white sweater falls in again.

  28. Popeye, not stinkeye: http://is.gd/VUi5MW

    She’s drunk Mare!

  29. gross

  30. It’s nothing like that.

    Another guy yesterday (I think he was a PT) told me to I’ve three times a day, keep the sleeve on I bought, and do some pt movements.

  31. Tendon injuries suck.
    I think my elbow was messed up for 2 years.

  32. But Scott I bet you didn’t do anything to treat it.

  33. I avoided gluten, and salty foods.

  34. Heh.

  35. Big Bad Beef Rub helps tennis elbow.

  36. Due to work, it wasn’t possible for me to rest it.

  37. You should go lefty for a while.

  38. I’ve heard that paleo-gazpacho cures onomatopoeia.

  39. Air travel is becoming insane. I booked tickets on British Airways (which is a better airline than most).
    I cannot choose my seats right now, unless I pay them $600 extra.
    No guarantee they will give me adjoining seats. This is going to be fun.

    I like some person’s suggestion: Don’t pay those extortion rates to choose seats in advance. Just show up with your kids holding triple scoop ice-cream cones dripping all over. Watch as their neighbors gallantly volunteer to switch seats.

  40. Tushar’s Tips.

  41. Our tickets to Atlanta this year were super expensive. Makes me hate flying even more.

  42. Wet your hair and tell them you are returning from Liberia.

  43. Nothing makes you appreciate air travel more than paying more for less, amirite?

  44. Comment by scott on May 25, 2015 10:10 am
    I avoided gluten, and salty foods.

    ——

    hahahaha

  45. Speaking of gluten, where’s Teresa been?

  46. Here’s something I never thought I would hear.

    “She looks like she’s in heat. Try mounting her.”

  47. Flying is truly like taking the greyhound now. Lots of gross people in a dream world and you’re hoping against hope you don’t get the grossest one next to you.

  48. hahahaha…Jew, first time for everything.

  49. Washington Nearsider in the AOS comments:

    It’s always sobering to remember who paid for my day off.

    Well put!

  50. if you don’t experience any gross people while flying, does that mean you’re the gross one?

  51. If I flew next to mare I’d sweat like a pig.

  52. Comment by Jay in Ames on May 25, 2015 11:13 am
    if you don’t experience any gross people while flying, does that mean you’re the gross one?

    —–

    Possibly, Jay.

    And the likelihood of you not experiencing gross people while flying is zero.

  53. PD, if you sat next to me I’d give you a sidelong glance to determine if you are good looking, or barring that, interesting, or barring that not insane. I would then take off my headphones (used to discourage conversation since I’m normally reading my kindle) and we’d have a nice chat over drinks.

  54. But mare, I’m only down to 800 pounds, from 840.

  55. I’m about to start The Historian. Is it any good, mare?

  56. It’s auction day!

    I am really getting into this, plus it’s right around the corner from the Mexican burrito place.

  57. >>PD, if you sat next to me I’d give you a sidelong glance to determine if you are good looking, or barring that, interesting, or barring that not insane. I would then take off my …..

    I stopped reading at this point. I need to get in the mood before reading further. Oh boy! This gonna be good.

  58. Good luck Scott. may you score big, and score bigger on eBay.

  59. Mexican auction: So, how much for the leetle girls?

  60. Preview time.

  61. Mare, TiFW hasn’t been on FB much either. Last time I remember her being here was Outlander HHD

  62. There are non-Mexican burritos?

  63. I have a friend who is huge, 6′ 5″ + and 350 pounds. When he flies, he walks down the aisle and acts like he’s going to sit in the seat next to people just to see the look of terror in their eyes.

  64. http://imgur.com/rsiCk7r

  65. That river bank those chix were clinging to looks like The Seine. GuhRoss.

  66. breakfast burritos, vmax.

  67. I’m not reading all of this crap.

  68. Comment by scott on May 25, 2015 10:10 am
    I avoided gluten, and salty foods.
    ******
    Not worth it. I’ll live with the pain.

    I’m using my left for most things at work- anything that would strain . I can now safely carry a try with left hand – lol. The brace helps a ton. Also , I had been icing, but I’m going to be doing it religiously now. So sick of it.

  69. The pain/infirmity. Not icing. I’m agnostic about that.

  70. Today has been kind of a waste

  71. Redhead is a tucker.

  72. Not even a real redhead.

  73. Tucker/Trucker whateve.

  74. Raining.

  75. Has your house sold yet, ‘Spur?

  76. No, it just went on the market yesterday morning. Two showing this afternoon.

  77. Rain stopped.

  78. Have you asked Scott to put it on his ebay site yet?

  79. Cyn….LOL

  80. I remember some of these old timey tricks…

    http://imgur.com/a/CB0ij?gallery

  81. I remember your mom’s old timey tricks.

  82. Beasn, This is for you; don’t let anybody else see.

    http://tinyurl.com/k3weszr

  83. http://imgur.com/gallery/gfgkjjM

  84. Comment by beasn on May 25, 2015 1:41 pm

    Redhead is a tucker.

    Comment by Cyn on May 25, 2015 1:42 pm

    Not even a real redhead.

    http://is.gd/ls4tH3

  85. Huh, more tornado warnings.

    It’s been days and days of rain. BOOOOOOOOO!

  86. Is Vman around? Vman, do you know anything about Lakewood Ranch? I don’t think I can afford to live there but it looks pretty cool.

  87. An observation:

    Went to the parade today. Crowd was probably 99% white. There was an army troop there that marched, then stood at ease during the speeches. I couldn’t help noticing that they were an extremely diverse group of young men and women.

    I wonder if they noticed the lack of diversity in the crowd as well.

    Also give credit to the mayor, the deputy mayor and the priest who gave the benediction.

    All three made a point of emphasizing that we are still at war, both here and abroad. Deputy mayor even threw a shout out to our “first responders” (read: police)

    As we live in a city dominated by Dems, it was awesome to hear their beliefs challenged so publicly and pointedly.

  88. We’re currently driving home from Mr. TiFW’s mom’s housr, attempting (but not succeeding) to outrun the squall line of thunderstorms bearing down on North Texas.

    Got news from my mom today that my dear sweet Granny passed peacefully late last night. I’m so thankful that we were able to see her last month.

  89. Mare, Oso – I’ve been working on my cross stitch projects since the first of the year; makes it hard to type on a keyboard….

    I catch up with the blog every night when I go to bed, but most folks are already asleep by then, so I don’t bother to comment.

  90. Worky worky time

  91. Pat took the kids to put little flags up at the cemetery.

  92. That’s good to hear, Wiser.

  93. TiFW, sorry about the loss of your Granny. Hope she enjoyed her party. I agree with you about Dougal.

  94. WB, sounds cool to have an old fashioned Memorial Day. I hope to someday attend the observance in Angel Fire at the VN Memorial Chapel. Just regular visits there are pretty awesome.

  95. Sorry for your loss,TiF

  96. We’ve had a Democrat mayor for the last couple of decades. Current mayor is a Republican. He got elected mainly because the Dem party got lazy and his last name is hispanic

    After he won, the state’s Hispanic PAC went ape-shit, basically calling the hispanic voters in our town stupid, because they only voted for the guy with the Hispanic name.

    Hmmmm……. wonder how they feel about the concept of voting for Hillary because woman…..

  97. Ha! Susana had the same effect in NM. Hispanic Dems voted for the surname. Our D-rat congresscritter uses her maiden name as her middle name. LIVs think they are voting for a relative of Manny Lujan.

  98. http://is.gd/we_need_a_bigger_H2partyboat

    If that’s H2, it’s probably the first bath some of us have had in years.

  99. Goddamn Marco for having a Hispanic surname! Rubio is cheating!

  100. Mare,
    I worked for firms that designed Lakewood Ranch. There are affordable sections there. West Bradenton is nice too and much closer to the water.

  101. For those fallen and for the families they left behind; Thank you. If was an honor to serve among you.

  102. Florida is a shithole.

  103. Only parts, Hotspur. Some are gorgeous with beautiful amenities.

    And considering you’re from Michigan, shut your corn hole.

  104. Afternoon Hostages. How goes it?

  105. ~waves at MCPO~

  106. Great – I broke the blog again…..

  107. Never mind, my “Refresh” didn’t refresh fast enough!

  108. You know what I love most about having blog buddies all over the place? When the tornado sirens go off while you’re driving near where one of them lives, you can call your nearest BB for a status report….

    Thanks, DaveinTexas!

  109. Ever get that not so refresh feeling?

  110. TiFW, I’ve been watching my Tejas blog buddies alerting each other and the Okies, too.

  111. Texas looks like an absolute mess.

  112. Our ground is saturated.

  113. We are green and our arroyos are full. Water Co needs another increase because we are saving too much water. Need to replace old lines that are leaking and taxed.

  114. Just finished watching “The Professional” on Amazon Prime
    http://www.amazon.com/The-Professional-Jean-Reno/dp/B00170F0WU

    I give it 4.8 out of 5.0 bald heads.

  115. Stay safe mah Texas Peeps.

  116. Someone posted a radar image of texas on twitter. Fucking hell that looked insane. Y’all be safe.

  117. Great movie Cyn. It’s on prime..I’d watch it again.

  118. “EVERYONE!!!!”

  119. Made it home, though we had to cut short the visit with my dad because of the bad weather moving in.

  120. All this rain is leading to lots of weeds. Our main threat is drunk driving. Drunk took out our wall. 2nd time this year. This drunk hit decorative metal and stone. Last drunk went through decorative cinderblock

  121. Free WiFi at Sam’s and McDs doesn’t allow H2 or HQ. I was off grid all day yesterday. No access other than phone data that is no longer free. It was brutal.

  122. Greetings, people who have a firmer grasp of the meaning of this holiday than the Commander in Chief of our Armed Forces.

  123. Passed over us about a half hour ago.

  124. Greetings, people who have a firmer grasp of the meaning of this holiday than the Commander in Chief of our Armed Forces.

    Sad but true.

  125. Sean, nobody expects a 3rd Gen Commie to understand Memorial Day.

  126. My money is on “understands and rejects”.

  127. BCoch gets it. I don’t have time for TFG. He makes me into the Hulk of H*

  128. I don’t think he understands how shoelaces work.

  129. MiL today: I’m so glad you didn’t have to join the military. Me: It didn’t matter to OBL. We all became combatants on 9/11. MiL: O.o Dan: WTF is wrong with you? (Happy Memorial Day)

  130. Oh come on. Everyone knows Memorial Day is all about watching, on bended knee, the president eating ice cream. If that isn’t a historical achievement nothing is.

  131. Licorice Dick made it safe for you to eat ice cream. Even chocolate ice cream.

  132. Ice cream is full of lactose. Most full-blooded Africans are lactose intolerant. Him eating ice cream is just cultural appropriation from Scandi-Americans.

    Did I do that right? I’m bad at SJW-logic.

  133. MiL today: I’m so glad you didn’t have to join the military.

    I’m not sure of the context, so I’m not sure how I would respond. My first thought wasn’t kind.

    I liked your response, Oso. It’s dead on. Terrorists make us all combatants.

  134. MiL and Dan are total civilians. They lived under the umbrella too long.

  135. Dan doesn’t like it when I call out his D-rat family. My D-rat family is totes ok to challenge.

  136. “You’re glad he didn’t join the military….I’m proud that men in my family did.”

  137. Ice cream is full of lactose. Most full-blooded Africans are lactose intolerant.

    Africans? Africans? RACIST BIRTHER!

    Besides, that just proves that milk sugar is another tool of dietary Anglo oppression.

  138. BCoch, exactly.

  139. Ice cream is full of lactose. Most full-blooded Africans are lactose intolerant. Him eating ice cream is just cultural appropriation from Scandi-Americans.

    Did I do that right? I’m bad at SJW-logic.

    Close, but it’s actually about him not understanding the Authentic African-American Experience because his dad wasn’t the grandson of slaves and his mom was a White Devil.

    You can’t actually appropriate anything from any white “culture” because they have stolen everything they have from The People of the Sun.

  140. GO, natives re blah blah blah lactose intolerant too

  141. TFG was living in a highrise in Waikiki, but my trek to a outhouse in NM was totes the same.

  142. See? Racism is everywhere. Even in common sweeteners. Every time you put some sugar in your black coffee, it’s like you organized a lynching.

  143. Sometimes when I feel like going to a Klan rally, instead I just put some cream in my Ethiopian drip brew and it’s like I’m reliving the thrill of Thomas Jefferson bedding Sally Hemmings.

  144. GO, don’t get me started. We no longer carry Equal or Sweet
    & Low. I’m allergic to Splenda,

  145. For you folks not on FaceChimp. This means you, Mare!
    https://flic.kr/p/thTtxS

  146. CUTENESS TRIGGER WARNING!

  147. DG used to be HAIR!!! New DG is EYES!!!!

  148. What about honey? Oh, wait. It’s yellow, so it’s like Roosevelt oppressing Japanese-Americans in internment camps. But he was a Dem, so I guess it’s the good kind of oppression.

  149. Oso – She reminded me today that she is a “big girl”. Three years old!

  150. I love her so much!!!!

  151. After he won, the state’s Hispanic PAC went ape-shit, basically calling the hispanic voters in our town stupid, because they only voted for the guy with the Hispanic name.

    Oh Wiser, you left out the best part. The guy isn’t even ‘Hispanic;’ he’s straight up non-Spanish European – a Portuguese native. They’ve subsequently called him a ‘faux Latino.’

    Although, that’s actually an ignorant statement. Historically, the Latin peoples are the French, Spanish, Portuguese, and *especially* the Italians. I might have left somebody out but I can’t think of it right now.

  152. Obama grew up with more white privilege than probably most of us. I know the area his Grandmother (and guardian) lived, I know the school he went to, and I know some of the guys (well, his basketball coach and 2 of his co-players).

    This shit for brains had it good and chose to feel out his blackness with the biggest communist asshole in Hawaii, Frank Marshall Davis.

    F Obama’s ice cream, his falsely deserved bitterness and his association with Bill Ayers who is his chief puppet master instilling the empty skull with hatred for America.

  153. Looked i up- the Romanians.

  154. Holy shit, MCPO, she’s stunning!

  155. Heh.

    Hillary Clinton, after marching in a Chappaqua parade with Bill, led some remembrance of her own:

    Razor @hale_razor
    In a solemn ceremony, Hillary Clinton to lay a wreath at the Tomb of the Unknown Emails.
    8:07 AM – 25 May 2015

  156. MCPO, please consider sharing a photo of you two together.

  157. Mare – I have grown old and unattractive. We have passed the point where photos of my visage should be solicited.

  158. Beasn and I re getting crap from a libertarian troll. She’s still Beasning. I bailed.

  159. *drops this*

    http://www.vox.com/2015/5/25/8656381/war-resisters-memorial-day

    *retreats to safe distance to observe*

  160. Oso – Where?

  161. On FB. Feldman group.

  162. They can have May Day, Sean.

  163. DG is adorable, and so is her grampa.

  164. The Shot at Dawn Memorial at the National Memorial Arboretum in Alrewas, Staffordshire, UK, which honors British and Commonwealth troops executed for cowardice or desertion in World War I

    I haven’t had such a good laugh since I first saw this:
    http://is.gd/3uhSad

  165. Rubbish, MCPO. You are a man of distinction.

  166. Beasn, This is for you; don’t let anybody else see.

    SQUEEEEE! BACON SEEDS!

  167. Oso, I don’t think that is a libertarian. He defends everything to the left. Only thing he’s in agreement with the rest of jewboy’s friends, is Israel. Mostly.

  168. If I see he’s on a thread, I won’t comment. He’s a condescending prick.

  169. BTW, this is the author of the piece* I linked:

    http://is.gd/snvDk1

    I expected him to have a scraggly beard.

    *The “of shit” part is implied.

  170. Also, did I tell you beasnette’s boyfriend looks like Flynn Rider but with really bad eyesight? We talked politics last night and part of today before he left. I gave him ‘The 5000 Year Leap’ as a parting gift.

  171. I’m thinking of launching a Kickstarter to fund the I Gotta Be Me Memorial, which will honor men who were subjected to divorce after desertion and infidelity in marriage.

  172. Beasnsnsnsns, Flynn Rider is adorable. I’m assuming beasnsnsnsnsett’s boyfriend is also, which is the point.

    You don’t good.

  173. BTW, this is the author of the piece* I linked:

    Total douche-wonk.

  174. Mare, she wanted to get him to ‘smolder’ but thought he would feel silly so she didn’t ask.

  175. Also there is a GoFundMe accepting donations to erect a memorial to all the college women who falsely accuse others of rape. It will be made of mattresses and fail.

  176. Ha! Hit him with a frying pan a couple times, maybe that’ll help with the smolder.

  177. Nice work, SJWs.

    Baltimore has seen 27 shootings and eight deaths so far over Memorial Day weekend, as the month of May promises to be the most violent the city has seen this century.
    —-
    According to Baltimore Sun reporter Justin Fenton, crime in the city has reached levels not seen since 1999.

    The city did not reach the 100 murder threshold until July last year.

  178. Colby Smulders?

  179. Ha! Hit him with a frying pan a couple times, maybe that’ll help with the smolder.

    HA! I don’t think my daughter would approve.

  180. I think I’ll be avoiding Baltimore for the next century or so. . .

  181. Sorry to read of your loss, TiFW – my condolences.

  182. DG is looking more adorable every day, Master Chief!

  183. You know, one way to solve these ubiquitous and innumerable crises of gay nuptialphobia would be simply this: Make it illegal for anyone straight to be a baker or a florist or a photographer or a jeweler. Just to be on the safe side we could prohibit straights from being doctors, lawyers, merchants, chiefs. Butchers, bakers… Oh we covered that. We can let the straights be beggarmen and thieves.

  184. Watched another flick on Prime: The Zero Theorem

    It was… interesting. I’m still processing the number of bald heads to give it.

  185. DG is so cute. She’s going to be a handful. I remember when she was born, so glad she’s doing so well now.

  186. Had to scroll up. Sorry to hear about your granny, TiFW. Prayers sent.

  187. Condolences to the TiFW fam.

  188. The point is to remove believing Christians from public life.

    But you knew that.

  189. Comment by Sean M. on May 25, 2015 8:06 pm

    BTW, this is the author of the piece* I linked:

    Yeah, he’s had to beg for sex.

    Probably cried during it as well.

  190. The point is to remove believing Christians from public life.

    Fixt.

  191. Yeah, he’s had to beg for sex.

    There is nothing sadder than seeing a grown man beg his own hand.

  192. Condolences to the TiFW fam.
    Seconded.

  193. Sorry about your granny, TiFW.

  194. There is nothing sadder than seeing a grown man beg his own hand.

    HAHAHA

  195. Yeah, he’s had to beg for sex.

    He looks like he’s probably had to beg for it to stop.

  196. He looks like he’s probably had to beg for it to stop.

    Sometimes his girlfriend gets rough with the strap-on. Usually after he’s forgotten to do some chore on the list she left for him.

  197. getting slammed now http://www.myfoxhouston.com/weather

  198. *dusts hands*
    That is how to kill it!

  199. I might have lost money tonight.

    People were spendy.

  200. “girlfriend”

  201. Hope you and the doggehs are safe, Vman.

  202. Rain in sheets with marble sized hail and power outages

  203. Thanks Sean
    We are.

  204. Houston & surrounding:
    2″/hour.
    Scary shit…

  205. http://tinypic.com/r/i44j9d/8

    *uptwinkles*

  206. 2″ per hour is meh Chris. However the lightning and hail are spectacular.
    3′ o rain in 3 days is considered normal in hurricane season. It is what we plan for in a hundred year storm.
    Not so much here.

  207. Did anybody warn anybody else that they would not be allowed in the door if they brought any of that vegan “meat-substitute” bullshit to their barbecue today?

  208. You can grill that shit? Seriously? Tofu can be bbq’ed??

  209. Six Seconds:

    http://neveryetmelted.com/2015/05/25/six-seconds/

  210. Wow, great link, ChrisP. Thanks.

  211. Home again. Giggity jig.

  212. Thanks for the kind thoughts, all – the whole family is just happy that she didn’t linger long after her diagnosis.

  213. *hugs Teresa*

  214. ^^^What Pepe said, ChrisP^^^

  215. Well I know you’re not the one and the only
    But we both know what it’s like to be lonely
    Well these fantasies they left us wanting
    But just bring all your derp back to me
    I guess for now it’s just how it will be

  216. For ye.

    https://thehostages.wordpress.com/2015/05/26/wire-it-up/

  217. Wakey

  218. Comment by ChrisP on May 25, 2015 11:14 pm
    Six Seconds:
    http://neveryetmelted.com/2015/05/25/six-seconds/

    ——-

    Chris, that was really an excellent Memorial Day link.

    Literally crying in my coffee but great link.

  219. Re seeing that pic of Obama eating ice cream the Democrats tweeted for Memorial Day actually made me weep harder.

    52% of the Country is so messed up.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS