Thank you, Veterans

Please feel free to add to this post.

I remember picking my daughter up from day care one day. She was in the middle of something on the other side of the room, and suddenly noticed that I was there.  She immediately dropped what she was doing and ran at full steam across the room, into my arms, yelling “DADDY!!!!”  And I had only just dropped her of that morning.

That’s one of my all-time favorite memories.

I cannot even imagine how the moments in this video felt, but I’m very happy for every single person in these clips, because they will have this awesome memory for the rest their lives.

To all veterans….  thank you for your service and your sacrifice on our behalf.  You are all truly the best this country has to offer.

232 Comments

  1. It’s dusty in here….

  2. Did the midday show on Monday.

    Ferris called in and made a complete ass of himself re: the thanking of veterans for their service.

    Fucking idiot has now beclowned himself twice on my shows.

    You’d think he’d learn

  3. Bless his heart…..

  4. Rereading “Guns of August” by Barbara Tuchman, speaking of 11/11/1918 aka Veteran’s Day
    It’s a frightening, cautionary tale.

    Have a safe and happy Veterans Day!!

  5. TexasJew, if you’re interested in WWI, check this out:

    http://xbradtc.com/2014/11/09/the-bbcs-1964-masterpiece-the-great-war/

  6. You run, run, runaway
    It’s your derp that you betray
    Feeding on your hungry eyes
    I bet you’re not so civilized

  7. Thank you, Veterans.

  8. Thank you veterans.

    Also thank you nice restaurant who I’ll be getting a free meal from later.

  9. I kinda regret that I never did a stretch in the service. I graduated from HS during the Carter administration and the word at the time was that the army was full of druggies and there was no discipline.

    My best friend in HS got appointed to the USMA at West Point and made a career of it as an Apache pilot. He’s lived an exceptionally interesting life. I kinda envy him.

  10. I was very close to doing Navy nuke school and a stint in an engine room. If I hadn’t got my first job making military simulators I’d have done it.

  11. To all you Veterans, thank you for protecting this country. It ain’t perfect, but it still is our last, best hope on this damned rock of a planet…

  12. I kind of regret not serving too, pendejo. I probably should have, would have done me some good. Oh well i was young and knew everything.

  13. Stopped at the er today (still there) with tight chest. All the tests are normal, probably indigestion. They want to keep me all day for observation, but i dont think i need to do that.

  14. It’s probably your prostate.

  15. J’Ames, I meant to run this by you the other day and didn’t.

    Fucking Kansas? Dude……..

  16. You leave your ass RIGHT THERE MISTER. Do not screw around with chest pain crap!!

    Also, I hope you only need some Bromo and a swift kick in the butt.

  17. Wakey wakey.

    i have a good story, but it’s too long.

  18. I promise not to C&P it.

  19. You could write it at your blog and link it.

  20. No, I think she means she’s too lazy to write it.

  21. No, leon nailed it.

  22. You fuckers don’t deserve long stories.

  23. tl:dr
    $20

    I’m not setting myself up for that.

  24. Punkin chunkin

  25. Thank you, veterans

  26. Yay Mini-me!

  27. Feel better, Jay. Did they give you an aspirin just in case?

  28. Cyn, she was the only girl out there competing. I am always amazed at her level of self-confidence.

  29. You fuckers don’t deserve long stories.

    We prefer short stories with lots of girth.

  30. She’s strong like bull Mom.

  31. *subscribes to Alex’s newsletter*

  32. Jay?? Jay?? Why isn’t he answering??

    *desperately dials every major hospital in Iowa*

    *this signifies three phone calls*

    Seriously, though, don’t just drop that on us and run. If you’re okay please pop back here a few times just to reassure us. Dammit.

  33. I escaped the hospital and drove 40 mins to work, that’s why I was offline, sorry!

    I wasn’t really worried, it was just different. I had blood tests, and an EKG and those were completely clear. They wanted to keep me all day so they could run a test every 6 hours, but I didn’t feel that was necessary. There is no history of heart disease in my family (crosses fingers and knocks on wood) so I’m not in any danger areas. That is why I decided not to stay. I was 90% sure it was indigestion, but the 10% made me stop at the ER. 10% isn’t enough to stay there for a day, after other tests came back fine.

  34. *mans phones to help Lauraw in her search

    *freezes and hangs up when first number dialed is answered.

    Sorry. I tried.

  35. I got 4 baby aspirin and a cup of Maalox laced with lidocaine (tastes horrible!). Can’t wait to see the bill for that.

  36. $1200

  37. Ok, here goes. But I’m doing this for J’ames.

    This older man (I’ll call him Scott because that’s his name) and his wife come in. Pushing people to move out of their “spot” at the bar (I’ve seen him stand behind someone sitting at the bar, and ask them to move because it’s his spot – @@@@@@). He first orders coffee “3/4 full for me, and completely full for my wife.”

    he repeats this thee times, in case I’m an idiot.

    I get the coffee (all the way in the kitchen – I’m bartending ) – then he says he needs a spoon. I lift up and show him the spoon I included with the coffee set-up. He gives me a look.

    Then he needs water. 3/4 full. @@. I’m super busy, but he’s taking his own sweet-slow time. Then he has questions about the menu. Really???? fack.

  38. Finally, after completely useless questions- he actually at one point READS me the descriptions from the menu – he orders a meal to split with his wife ( I’ve failed to mention so far, but he’s being COMPLETELY RUDE to her – so mean, that people are watching).

    He wants the ribs, but we put “way too much” sauce on them so he says he wants half the sauce. He must have a fraction thing going. Ok, fine. I’ll tell them to go light on the sauce.

  39. So … I bring the ribs and guess what he says. Just guess. I’ll give you a minute.

  40. Haha, not enough sauce!

  41. More hot water?

  42. He’s really into Zumba?

  43. “Wanna do a threesome?”

  44. So glad this isn’t behind a paywall!!! Squeeeeee!!1

  45. “3/4 sauce, but on the side”?

  46. Ok, here goes. But I’m doing this for J’ames.
    This older man (I’ll call him Scott because that’s his name) and his wife come in. Pushing people to move out of their “spot” at the bar (I’ve seen him stand behind someone sitting at the bar, and ask them to move because it’s his spot – @@@@@@). He first orders coffee “3/4 full for me, and completely full for my wife.”
    he repeats this thee times, in case I’m an idiot.
    I get the coffee (all the way in the kitchen – I’m bartending ) – then he says he needs a spoon. I lift up and show him the spoon I included with the coffee set-up. He gives me a look.
    Then he needs water. 3/4 full. @@. I’m super busy, but he’s taking his own sweet-slow time. Then he has questions about the menu. Really???? fack.
    Finally, after completely useless questions- he actually at one point READS me the descriptions from the menu – he orders a meal to split with his wife ( I’ve failed to mention so far, but he’s being COMPLETELY RUDE to her – so mean, that people are watching).
    He wants the ribs, but we put “way too much” sauce on them so he says he wants half the sauce. He must have a fraction thing going. Ok, fine. I’ll tell them to go light on the sauce.
    So … I bring the ribs and guess what he says. Just guess. I’ll give you a minute.

    “Hey, I ordered the pastrami!”

  47. I was waiting for the big conclusion (that we might not get) but I see CoLex is on the same wavelength.

  48. Yep. Actually, the exact quote is : “THOSE LOOK AWFULLY DRY”.

  49. I was in the middle of making a drink when someone brought me his food, so i’m finishing up with that, and he interrupts and says “I’M GOING TO NEED THAT SAUCE RIGHT NOW.” So I go get some more sauce, and just as I’m about to set the ramekin down he says … “IS THAT ALL THE SAUCE I GET?”. . . back to the kitchen for a SECOND ramekin of sauce for the guy who sauce we put too much sauce on our ribs. I’m just getting back and the other bartender says “give it to me, you’re going to punch him i the face, but he wants the sauce heated up.” So she takes him for a while, because she knows I’m at my limit.

    *ignores colex, and soldiers on. I hate you fockers

  50. Here’s what you should have asked him:

    Why are you such an asshole? Be nice to your wife even if you hate her because you are in public. If you’d like dinner and coffee, sit at a fucking table, dickface. You might want to request a table with a server that knows how to deal with someone off their meds.

  51. I’m making dry ribs later today. On purpose.

  52. Then, he asks Michelle (the other bartender) for more coffee. NO, he wants a fresher pot. Back to the kitchen. NO, he needs a NEW cup because the coffee in his cup is old. She dumps out the coffee and refills it. He calls me over and points to his dirty cup – dirty by HIM – and says “I ASKED FOR A CLEAN CUP, AND SHE GIVES ME THIS.” So I tell Michelle, and she tries to give me one of the glass cups we keep at the bar. Nope, this fucker needs a new mug. So michelle goes back to the kitchen and gets him a fresh, clean, mug.

  53. As she’s walking by me, returning with the fresh, clean mug, she whispers in my ear – I licked the rim of the mug.

    I died laughing.

  54. End of the story – he ate ALL the ribs, but complained they were too dry and had them taken off his bill. His grand total was $12 and he left us $3. And yes, he’s like this every time he’s there.

  55. Are you going to get to the part where he leaves a $2 tip, or go on all day?

  56. Guys like him are why the staff’s job at the inn was to keep me away from the customers.

  57. It’s unfortunate that Carin needs her job too much to correct that man in his utter depravity.

  58. Hotspur, don’t you have some chardonnay to drink or something?

  59. The Monday morning bartender was pissed becaues Michelle (the mug licker – whore mouths, shut them) did a shitty job closing on Sunday night. I told her this story, and she said she forgave her. Everyone universally hates this man.

  60. The stories about the staff are better.

  61. Hotspur, don’t you have some chardonnay to drink or something?

    Later. It’s too early for that yet.

  62. The stories about the staff are better.

    Oh, I’m sorry. Didn’t mean to clutter up the blog and distract from YOUR interesting tales and adventures …

  63. I’m sure they’re here somewhere …

    searching …

  64. Is Michelle pregnant with Sean’s kid?

  65. I love people like that. Makes the day go faster.

    Especially imagining them gettting waterboarded.

  66. Work has made you bitter Car in.

  67. Michelle had Jeremy’s baby.

    It’s like you guys don’t even LISTEN to me.

  68. Is Michelle pregnant with Sean’s kid?

    Sounds like a job requirement at that place.

  69. So, Carin, why doesn’t your manager stand up to the prick? After he ordered the ribs with less sauce it was his decision all the way.

    I’d have charged him full price, and hoped that it pissed him off enough to never come back.

  70. Work has made you bitter Car in.

    Naw. I’m just kicking myself that I told the story.

    now foch off.

  71. So, Carin, why doesn’t your manager stand up to the prick? After he ordered the ribs with less sauce it was his decision all the way.

    The manager that night was a very inexperienced young thing.

  72. I can put up with a lot, but from now on I’m licking this fucker’s coffee mug. Preemptively.

  73. That way, every time he starts bitching or ordering me around, the little corners of my mouth will turn up as I tried to suppress a smile.

  74. If you’d like dinner and coffee, sit at a fucking table, dickface.

    But this way he can bark orders at any time and watch people jump. He gets dinner (free!), coffee and a show.

  75. Float a Baby Ruth bar in his soup

  76. and by “Baby Ruth bar” I mean a turd

  77. They wanted to keep me all day so they could run a test every 6 hours,

    Great. Now, if you have any problems relating to the chest pain later today, your insurance company can refuse to pay, because you left against medical advice….

  78. Thank you, veterans!

    Happy birthday, Michael ♥♥♥

  79. If he’s such a dickface and everybody knows his game, are you obligated to jump to serve him if you’re in the middle of something else?

  80. Ha. This was fun – on facedouche, bil brought up the Innocence Project, and I made a comment that getting criminals out of jail on technicalities is super awesome, because I don’t live in those neighborhoods anymore. Black liib friend of my bil posted the following comment:

    Hahahaha. Carin, you keep talking about ‘your neighborhood’, and how you moved. I bet where you live is the best place on earth. I bet it makes Disney World, look like Cabrini Green. Just full old white ladies with all the answers about everything. Old ladies who learned lifes lessons from the interweb, and Fox News. No?

    Ha! BIL told him he was in trouble … but dude is suddenly too busy/ has to work.

  81. You should have said, “No, I learned life’s lessons from all these young black asshole guys who made my old neighborhood so unsafe, I had to flee with my husband and kids. Enjoy your shithole.”

  82. If I’m the guy in jail, I want all the technicalities I can get.

    I also don’t trust the police for shit anymore.

  83. But yeah, getting Thug Life back out on the streets?

    Not a noble cause.

  84. Remember, the Innocence Project isn’t about justice, it’s about the abolition of the death penalty. That’s why they had no qualms about framing an innocent man to spring one with a death sentence.

  85. Cabrini Green has been closed for years. You can now purchase a swanky $500K, 800SF condo in that part of town.

    So yeah, it’s about the same.

  86. Reading Car in’s story, I still don’t understand why resturants do business with people who don’t care to have an amicable nor profitable relationship. Seems like this old boy ought to be given the, “We reserve the right to refuse you service” speech and then be arrested for trespassing if he doesn’t leave quickly enough.

  87. “Get the fuck out. But your wife can stay.”

  88. Restaurants have a fear of bad press, is why they don’t do that. But sometimes you have to fire a customer, and deal with the consequences. Some aren’t able to do that.

  89. My favorite story is when drunk ugly fat lady told my owner to suck her dick.

    He couldn’t stop laughing.

  90. Fill the coffee cup all the way. When he complains, pick it up, take two swigs, then set it back in front of him, “There.”

    Same thing with the water glass.

    When he asked for less sauce, say, “I’ll bring it out on the side. The kitchen doesn’t read minds.”

    When he asks for something to be comp’d say “No. You ate it, you are paying for it.”

    Then stand back and watch while all of the other customers applaud.

    \o/

  91. Then stand back and watch while all of the other customers applaud.

    This.

  92. Sometimes you have to go nuclear.

  93. My gorgeous daughter was on tv today. Sorry if there is a commercial at the start.

    http://www.myfoxdetroit.com/clip/10836667/holiday-art-fair-nov-15-and-16

  94. She is lovely and so poised, Hotspur! I would be shaking like a leaf on TV.

  95. Congrats Hotspur!

    Very nice presentation..

  96. i researched Car in’s position, and this is the solution:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z4ZXRlcoEW8

  97. laura, you’d be fine on camera, except for that heavy breathing into the mic thing.

  98. Thanks. I sometimes can’t believe how short and petite she is. Seeing her on that set makes her look MJ size.

  99. You say that like it’s a bad thing.

  100. She is lovely and so poised, Hotspur! I would be shaking like a leaf Roamy on TV. *

    FTFY

    *sorry, Roamy, lurves you, but couldn’t let that low hangin’ fruit pass by.

  101. xbradtc

    Thanks for that BBC documentary reference
    Watched that once, ages ago
    It’s still very good

  102. No, it’s not a bad thing, but her younger sister is tall like I am, so I just forget sometimes.

  103. Sorry Hotspur, I was responding to Jay about how I snort microphones.

  104. OK, that’s enough fun for today. Back to schoolwork. Le Sigh.

    And CARIN, I LOVED YOUR STORY.

    Very funny/ awful. I had a couple douchebag-rendezvous at work the other day as well. Must have been the full moon.

  105. Happy Veterans Day, Car in. I for one appreciate your service:

    http://www.advicegoddess.com/archives/2014/11/11/punctuation_is.html

  106. Amen, Hotspur. “I didn’t know!” won’t fly.

  107. “This was a politically motivated case,” Naber said Friday. “We weren’t allowed to talk about how she was sexually tortured.”

    Maybe because your fucking koran tells you it is okay to lie.

  108. Well, it’s ok to lie to The People of the Book, not other Muslims.

  109. Having read the Quran many times, I’m proudly Islamophobic

  110. And Shiites and Sufis don’t count.

  111. I hate you so hard right now. I love those coming home videos, but they make me leaky.

  112. *in before the Depends jokes

  113. JAY

    *slams Jay to the ground and starts doing CPR compressions*

  114. Well, I guess scott isn’t the test subject for this round of homework.

  115. What was the other side like, Jay?

    Did you see my hamster Nibbles?

  116. You don’t want to know about Nibbles. Trust me.

    *shudders

  117. well, I have to go now. Have a good …

  118. I just read WeirdDave’s post at AoS.
    Thankfully, I have severe cold and my eyes were already watering, so I did not invite weird glances at work.

  119. Here Jay, you may need this:

    http://donnah75.hubpages.com/video/Tips-on-Pretending-to-Die-on-Stage-for-a-Play-or-Skit

  120. Pray for me. I have to bathe my dog.

  121. The boy or the girl dog?

  122. Deed is done.

  123. It was the boy. He actually enjoys the rubbing (SYWM) because it makes his achy muscles feel better.

  124. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FhtgGGpVqDc

  125. Oskar is soo happy right now. Zelda is wary. She’s not sure if she’s next.

  126. “Tell her I said they’re pussies and I ate their food.”
    -Bubba T. Dorkus

  127. I apologize for Dorkus. He has absolutely no appreciation for hospitality. He’s a dog.

  128. He’s a dog dork.

    fixtd

  129. Oskar just said Bubba isn’t a real dog if he likes baths.

  130. GND said I should give the dog a bath more frequently.

    She’s getting uppity.

  131. Dogs don’t like baths. I don’t think it’s really good for their skin, and I know it’s not good for the cleanliness of my bathroom.

    No. Dog baths are only on a NEED TO basis.

  132. You have a lake. Throw a stick.

  133. My dog needs a bath now. He hasn’t been swimming in a really long time, and he’s shedding a shadow every time he sits in one place too long.
    Winter coat must be coming in.

  134. Carin, almost time for me to dig your horseradish. So excited! I love getting a harvest of something during a time of year when nothing else is happening.

  135. My Divas love baths. They get them once a month if they haven’t been groomed. Gingy has a skin condition and the medicated oatmeal shampoo keeps her from shedding everywhere.

  136. Star gets washed in the lake during the summer and when chasing the hose late spring and fall. We just brought the hoses in for the winter today. She’ll be getting brushed and Furminated until warm weather returns. The puppy smells like tapioca and urine. Mostly urine.

  137. You should give GND a bath.

  138. I dug up horseradish a bit ago.

  139. Brined a pork rib roast last night, rinsed it off this morning, and now it is resting in tangerine juice, crushed black cardamom, coriander, and a few dashes of soy and sherry. Gonna let it sit for 1 – 2 days in fridge. See what happens.

    It makes no sense that I’m not 250 pounds. Love food so much.

  140. Im not much of a “fan” but this is still funny.

    http://tinyurl.com/mg9cj75

  141. http://herobuilders.com/pop+culture+action+figures.htm

  142. Time to work out before dinner.

  143. Fish Taco Special

  144. *arms give out*

  145. It’s like you weren’t even trying to keep her aloft.

    So disappointed.

  146. He’s doing burpees.

  147. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1mmsYazOVY&t=3m28s

    L to R: Mare, mare.

  148. **slaps MJ**

  149. *slaps xmom & xsis

  150. There’s two XSisters.

    Just sayin’.

  151. Awesome story http://is.gd/qWNu5n

  152. Has J’ames checked in? He needs to be checking in hourly.

  153. Jay is writing his memoir, ‘Walking Toward the Celestial Light; Then Getting Yanked Back by the Smell of Fresh Ebelskivers and the Exuberant Love of Helping Others; but Mostly the Smell of Fresh Ebelskivers’

  154. “There’s two XSisters.”

    …. ooooo twins….

  155. Lauraw FTW!!! Ebelskivers AND the HQ’s “but Mostly”

  156. Jam2, I hate to tell you this, but I’m by far the most attractive member of my family.

  157. Time to work out before dinner.

    Those tacos from the greasy spoon down the street that were last night’s dinner? May have been a bad idea.

  158. Jeez, at least spell aebleskiver right!

  159. Did anybody write some dumbass essay for Slate or Salon or whatever crapping all over anybody else’s military service today?

  160. I just got done with a workout. Yeah, I went there.

  161. Sorry, J’ames. I don’t speak Scandi.

  162. pjat!

  163. Uff Da!

  164. Que?

  165. hmm – bummer

    *mon-quixote rides off into the sunset*

  166. Jam2, I hate to tell you this, but I’m by far the most attractive member of my family.

    I’ve met his mother and one of his sisters, and this is a filthy lie.

  167. well, it IS xbrad. We’re not quite sure if he’s been out in the sun too long, or met up with a black widow.

  168. *turns around and rides for joy*

    *fires off memo to assistant re: send Sean diet DP*

  169. Before you get too excited, I’m just saying that he’s not the most attractive member of the Xfamily. Not that the others are models or anything.

  170. Dan H8s Metallica. He’s not changing the channel, because he knows I love them. He has been MST3K/ing their performance though.

  171. Whenever I hear Metallica, especially Enter Sandman, I think of Romacita. Because she is who I was sitting near on Rosetta’s Party Bus during STLMU while that song was blasting on the bus. We were singing our little hearts out, and she was thrashing her pretty curls around. It was so fucking awesome. Magic.

  172. *heads Rocinante towards nearest bar*

  173. Squeee!!! H2 Soundtrack story. (LMAO at Jam2)

  174. http://m.imgur.com/gallery/N0y9kmi

  175. boff a lone for the HA!!

  176. Off to make dinner. There’d better be some goddam funneh when I get back.

  177. then post a pic of your joint

  178. *cocktails and debriefs*

  179. I’ve met his mother and one of his sisters, and this is a filthy lie.
    —————————-
    When are you going to make an honest man of xbrad and pop the question?

  180. Be careful what you wish for, Laura.

  181. Bomb threat at Newtown High today.

    We are going to need tougher bomb control laws.

  182. Why not just ban threats? That would cover guns, bombs, and pop tarts.

  183. #BansAllTheThings

  184. Pop Tarts?

    * calls 911 *

  185. http://imgur.com/gallery/jOd9x6x

  186. Tushar, I sold all my copies of America. Got replenished today. Sold 50% of my replenishment.

  187. Be careful what you wish for, Laura.

    I hate it when I fuck up a joke by forgetting the link.

    http://tinyurl.com/yjrano

  188. Oso, how much did you order?
    Just trying to get a sense of how many copies are getting sold.

  189. I don’t get to order. :( Sold all 20 of the initial ship. 10 today. More than Maleficent or Planes 2. Heavily Blue area. Like commie blue.

  190. I have sold 4X as many America books as Hard Choices. I really wish Alice Walton would let us send back all the unsold Hillary books. I’m selling the crap out of both Ben Carson’s, too. D-rats love Ben Carson.

  191. Share a parking lot with Barnes&Noble. People would rather spend more $$ for the same item before giving $$ to WalMart. Our Costco pulled the America books, didn’t get them back in stock after the kerfuffle, don’t have the America DVD.

  192. When Sarah Palin’s book came out, I bought a copy at my local Costco. The snooty woman at the checkout remarked that Sarah Palin is an idiot. I complained to manager, saying that employees should not be voicing an opinion about products unless Costco endorses it. I did not see her working there after that.

  193. Tush, I H8 Ina Garten. Several other authors. Whatev. My job is to put their books out. I do. I was a little sad that I didn’t sell any copies of 41 today.

  194. Good evening ladies and Tushar!

    FINALLY got around to watching ‘Master and Commander’ tonight.

    I read the first book, but found it a bit stuffy, slow and dated. The movie was much better.

    I guess I should of watched a war movie for Veteran’s Day, but the only one I saw on was Heartbreak Ridge.

    Heartbreak Ridge has a couple of good lines, but it is awful.

    ‘Why don’t I bend you over the table there… send you home with the I just pumped the neighbor’s cat look on your face. ‘

    I saw the movie when it came out in 1986. Still have no idea what that line means. 26 yrs in the military later, no clue.

    Gotta love Gunny Highway.

  195. M&C was good. I preferred the Sharpe series. Books and TV. Sorry, Hotspur.

  196. I liked M&C, the book. I own and have read a few times all 20 in the series.

  197. Did you all know Phat is a feminist?

    http://imgur.com/gallery/cLytvzN

  198. I fought with JDBC and Oracle unsuccessfully for 5 hours today.

    I should have been basically anything else.

  199. Tipsy and ibuprofen. I remember visiting my Dad in Norfolk. Along the walls were all these pics/prints of ships. When I would go to DC, I was always drawn to Winslow Homer and ocean art and paintings of ships. My brother collected ship models and had bunches of them from around the world. My Dad’s Uncle was on the Indianapolis. My Dad served 3 tours in VN and would play euchre with Uncle John and Uncle John never talked about WWII with anyone. Not even my dad.

  200. Dude, AFA. The feminist is understood.

  201. Tush,

    Like I would take the time to make a sign!

    I just go ‘full Chad’:

    THIS DICK IS NOT GOING TO SUCK IT’S SELF!

  202. Leon, any specific problem?

  203. http://i.imgur.com/M000lKT.jpg?1

  204. Chad still makes me laugh.

    If he hadn’t have been there we would have had to invent him.

    Damn that was a funny day.

  205. OMG XB, that was EPIC!!!!

  206. I just posted on FB. I have lots of adoptive Brat friends. This should go over well.

  207. Tushar, it’s probably just a mis-configured database not accepting the connection. I’ve done this successfully with the same code before, but not this database or the newest JDBC driver. I will probably sort it out tomorrow.

    On topic, I’m a feminist too.

  208. Maybe it will s nothing, but check if the db is in exclusive (single connection) mode.
    Oracle is generally not finicky, unless some dba shit is going on.

  209. Any one else already tired of No Shave November?

  210. So, I told Dan that I didn’t feel like driving across town just to reset a microwave clock today. He called his mom to say we wouldn’t be over, because I didn’t want to be out in traffic. Not sure how it happened, but I’m the bad guy. SiL and her hubby and 3 adult children still live less than a mile away. Meh. Not like she’ll remember.

  211. GHEYEST thing EVER!!!!! Military brat orgs are being challenged to say Military Champ instead of Brat. Plus there are fucks that are trying to get recognition from Congress for Champs and Third Culture Kids. Not just no, but Hell No!

  212. 40 fucking years liberals have been slapping “FREE TIBET” bumper stickers on their Volvos, and tonight Obama just threw them under the bus.

  213. I H8 TFG. I guess China is his new pitcher now that Putin is taking a break. Never thought I’d see the day where America was a power bottom to Russkies and Chicoms.

  214. Oracle is generally not finicky, unless some dba shit is going on.

    It might be my error, I kept tinkering with it today in the vain hope that I’d find the problem. Our DBA is competent but frazzled lately.

  215. Is there an allied constituency that Obama hasn’t thrown under the bus yet? The seats have to be pretty empty by now.

  216. Remember, he thinks the Falkland Islands belong to Argentina, too.

  217. Someone should ask him about Taiwan. Just for giggles.

  218. He hasn’t thrown wymyn under the bus. He’s just counted on them being too math averse to realize he pays males more.

  219. http://tinyurl.com/ordb4kn

  220. Nicely done, Mr. Chumpo!

  221. Any one else already tired of No Shave November?

    *strokes beard*

    No.

  222. GHEYEST thing EVER!!!!! Military brat orgs are being challenged to say Military Champ instead of Brat. Plus there are fucks that are trying to get recognition from Congress for Champs and Third Culture Kids. Not just no, but Hell No!

    Fuck them. And what the fuck are Third Culture Kids?

  223. Anyone else watch Supernatural tonight? Thoughts? They went all in with the meta humor and poking fun at themselves and the fans. None of it seemed cruel, however, which is nice.

  224. Never seen it. But 200 episodes is an impressive accomplishment.

  225. There’s only two things I don’t fuck with, rattlesnakes… and condoms:

    http://tinyurl.com/pvd35gt

  226. Really can’t believe Barry on the Tibet thing. Thanks for the early heads up X.

    http://tinyurl.com/qxcuqee

  227. It’s kinda weird. That’s actually been the basic US policy for a long time. But usually some mouth noises about freedom and independence make an appearance. There’s some context to the underbustossing that I might expand on tomorrow.

  228. I’m aware of the historic policy. I just can not get enough of the irony.

    http://tinyurl.com/kcoqx7y

  229. The good derp was so elusive
    Handouts, they got me down
    I had to regain my self-respect
    So, I got into camouflage


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS