I’ve still got the greatest enthusiasm and confidence in the mission

Thorsday

164 Comments

  1. And here we go.

  2. It was sold on Amazon as a “machete”.

    It’s a gladius, came with a nylon scabbard with a belt loop.

    *gets shield*
    *slaughters cattails*

  3. Dickbutt….wonder how Pupster’s faring during his move/transition.

  4. What could go wrong?

  5. He’s probably already got the still runnin’ ‘shine.

  6. In case you’re curious, The Flash is pretty entertaining. I loved the part where Green Arrow makes a cameo appearance.

  7. Pupster should get a banjo.

  8. Is that on the teevee, Hotspur?

  9. He’s going to need chickens, and some appliances for the front porch.

  10. Wife-beater t-shirts make a nice housewarming gift, right?

  11. HA! They make husband beater shirts. FTW

  12. It’s on some TV channel, but I use an *cough* alternate method.*cough*

  13. It’s on the CW at 9pm on Tuesdays. It’s also on Hulu Plus.

  14. I’ll look at it on Hulu+.

  15. Arrow was ok, but felt like it should have been the third or fourth episode of the season, not the first.

  16. I find Oliver Queen almost impossible to like as a character, so I haven’t watched any of Arrow.

  17. Wife-beater t-shirts make a nice housewarming gift, right?

    He’ll need cut-off plum smugglers and cowboy boots too.

  18. He can be emo and whiny, but at least it makes sense why he’s that way.

  19. Also, Felicity Smoak is all kinds of yummy.

  20. Ollie is the left-wing answer to what’s become a right-wing caricature embodied in Batman.

  21. I <3 Felicity? She is hot in all the right ways – which translates to: she's not slutty.

  22. Truck nutz

  23. Green Arrow has always been a progressive alternative to Batman. The show never really got too preachy IMHO, and it quickly goes away after season 1.

  24. she’s not slutty.

    You can do that on TV?

  25. * orders Pupsters housewarming gift *

    http://is.gd/3kxnwp

  26. Velvet Elvis.

    And in case you were wondering what the worst smell in the world is….the guy in front of me at the ATL security checkpoint.

  27. How do you know it isn’t your breath backing up on you?

  28. I got out of bed at the crack of 10am for this?

  29. gotta get out sometime X

  30. Only to pee.

  31. XBrad, we both know you only got up to check on your torrents.

  32. xbrad, CoLex found you some Load Heat up at 11:40.

  33. I almost never use torrents.

  34. Only to pee.

    You obviously not creative enough. *holds up PVC tubing and a drill*

  35. She’s very cute, J’ames, but my readers are always bitching about how skinny the girls are.

  36. She’s very cute, J’ames, but my readers are always bitching about how skinny the girls are.

    Are they jealous or something?

  37. Maybe they just like MMM trannies.

  38. Check out how the city of St. Louis dealt with the 1918 Spanish flu, that killed so many. “Social distancing”, works.

    “The order was extreme, but it worked — St. Louis’ death rate was the lowest among major American cities.”

    http://tinyurl.com/qzwtswl

  39. The St Louis police should just shoot everyone with Ebola. Especially if they aren’t wearing their seatbelt.

  40. Comment by scott on October 9, 2014 11:08 am
    He’s going to need chickens, and some appliances for the front porch.

    And a beat-up old couch to sit on.

    Plus a rusty truck up on cinder blocks for the correct ambience – wouldn’t want to look like they’re new to the neighborhood.

  41. Oh come on, TiFW, it’s not like he’s moving to Texas!

  42. While there are plenty of police who are dicks, there are more dicks who are perps.

  43. I had to put on pants and a jacket. It’s flipping rainy and cold. For the next 5 days.

  44. I take off my pants and jacket. That way there are no unfortunate zipper accidents.

  45. Oh come on, TiFW, it’s not like he’s moving to Texas!

    Them’s fightin’ words, pardner…..

    *pulls on cowgirl boots, holsters six-shooter, checks GPS for quickest route to Iowa*

  46. Comment by MJ on October 9, 2014 2:29 pm

    I take off my pants and jacket. That way there are no unfortunate zipper accidents.

    How could you tell the difference?

  47. Just look for the big sign that says 35 and head north.

    You’ll turn around after it gets cold.

  48. *pulls on cowgirl boots, holsters six-shooter, checks GPS for quickest route to Iowa*

    Just drive north until the corn starts telling you what to do.

  49. Drive north until you smell it, drive east until you step in it.

  50. Silly HS, she’s not going to Michigan.

  51. No, u.

  52. Your mom.

  53. HA, Dana Loesch was just saying that customs or TSA or whoever said that they are not prepared or equipped to handle potential ebola zombies.

    Forget proper screening. As if there is any proper screening.

    You have to wonder why Obama wants to infect everyone.

  54. If there was an outbreak of ebola, I don’t see how any hospital could deal with it. They still have to run a hospital.

  55. Take two aspirin, and call me in the morning.

  56. The underclass is no longer needed, it will be extinguished.

  57. Who will flip all of those burgers?

  58. Robots.

  59. No, you’re a towel!

  60. Or the only burgers will be artisinal masterpieces that cost $50.

    The elite don’t care either way.

  61. I’ll cook their burgers!

    *hocks a loogy

  62. Ebola burgers

  63. Flubola

  64. Which Von Hostage’s get to work on Indigenous People Day?

  65. >>>If there was an outbreak of ebola, I don’t see how any hospital could deal with it. They still have to run a hospital.

    There’s a lot going on in any hospital that’s unnecessary. If the SHTF that bad most of what passes for ordinary work in a hospital would cease to happen. A lot of people with common sense would avoid going with the knowledge that their complaint was minor and/or likely to get worse in the midst of the pandemic. The clueless and entitled would still come in for their narcotic scams though.

  66. I took it off Oso. It’s not a hospital holiday but every year I work Columbus Day it’s the same old story. Half the people don’t come in because they think we’re not there and the half that do bring the whole damn family because they don’t have school.

  67. Which Von Hostage’s get to work on Indigenous People Day?

    1) Egregious apostrophe mis-use, 10 pts from Slitherin.

    c) Is that really a thing?

  68. Oops. Yes. Pretty sure Denver and now Seattle.

  69. Wow, Maine gets Columbus Day off from school?

  70. Yeah, and Patriot’s Day since ME used to be part of MA or so the story goes.

  71. I’m an indigenous person and I’ll be working as hard as I ever do.

  72. Which hostage is this?

  73. Dammitalltohell, why do these keep embedding?

  74. Because you’re a towel.

  75. Local thugs keep trying to get Cesar Chavez Day.

  76. http://i.imgur.com/f3nzuL1.gif

  77. Heh cute

  78. They will get it, Oso.

    http://phoenix.about.com/od/famous/a/CesarChavez.htm.

  79. *snaps Cyn’s bra*

  80. *reaches in to give Hotspur an atomic wedgie, keeps reaching, eventually realizes he’s not actually wearing underwear, runs off scream-crying*

  81. Cesar Chavez was against illegals. We have a street and a community center named after him.

  82. Huh, I didn’t know elves were Catholic.

  83. Caesar Chavez conquered the pendejo Gauls, non?

  84. Table grapes and lettuce. He conquered salad.

  85. You guys need to comment faster. Meds will be knocking me out early. Dance, monkeys, dance!

  86. Pupster needs this http://tinyurl.com/kcc9nb3

  87. I wonder which of these is Pupster’s?

  88. Oops.

    http://tinyurl.com/3e6pwbm

  89. Hey Jew, any snow yet?

  90. No snow. In fact it has been about 70 all week. No shirts required.

  91. Wow. Dusting in the mtns from Simon. Rain may keep the Glowdeo from happening tonight. Yay, no fireworks!

  92. Have you told the wieners yet? I’m sure they’ll be glad to hear it.

  93. No official announcement. We can hear/see fireworks from Balloon Park.

  94. Rant: Lived here since ’81. Balloon Park has moved 3 times. Northern fringe of the Albuquerque Box. SYWM. Homes have filled in lots of the open space, and now those assholes are complaining about traffic and noise. FY.

  95. We have that same kind of whining from folks who move in near airports. Duh.

  96. http://tinyurl.com/n79kdhy

  97. Jackrabbit!!!

  98. Cyn, we also have the assholes that move to Corrales and complain about the smell of horse/cow shit. Hellooooo….in the name you gits.

  99. Turbo Hare!

  100. New to me http://tinyurl.com/lwjc7zl

  101. Cool story, bro!

  102. K guys. We need Andrew Luck to kick ass 2 nite.

  103. Wiser should grab some of this for his show

    http://tinyurl.com/o2z4qlr

  104. New to you, Cyn?

  105. It was, Scott.

    Made me go searching; found this:
    http://www.loa.org/images/pdf/Rankin_Man_Thunder.pdf

  106. The book doesn’t seem to be in print any more.

    I did find this review:

    I knew this book would be more about the Marines than the thunderstorm, and I wasn’t wrong, but it was still decent read. Only about the last 50 pages are so dealt with the fact that this man parachuted into a severe thunderstorm (not on purpose mind you). It’s really quite an incredible story – even with all the military history in the first half.

  107. I should have heard about it.
    I blame Mare.

  108. Dave should do that bass slapping thing for Wiser’s show. And he should do it LIVE!

  109. You may have lost a little piece of your Man Card not knowing about that.

    #smh
    #stupidmare

  110. 4letword enddddth EEEE. clue: “missing concubine of amazing girth”

  111. WTF? STupid wireless keyboard

  112. No way I’m letting Dave on my show. He called me stupid.

  113. His personal intrologist.

  114. …things that sound nasty…

  115. heh

  116. Laura got CPR certified today. How cool is that?

  117. Yay Lauraw! Congrats to her!

  118. Screw you 911!

  119. AWESOME!

    can’t wait for her to save my life…

    rawr

  120. Did anybody burn down anybody else’s childhood home today?

  121. Yay!!!!

  122. I would totally let Laura give me CPR.

  123. I’m not feeling very well and I probably need CPR

  124. *plays dead. Opens one eye just to make sure HS doesn’t try to French me.

  125. I thought Wiser and Jewstin were the CPR Hostages?

  126. Dan is such a girl! He made soup last night. It has carrots. I H8 carrots. And soup. Now, he’s all butthurt that I don’t want leftover soup. Duh. Reason it’s leftover.

  127. You fuckers need to get in line to get CPR from Laura. Wiser’s first, then me.

  128. Onside kick…brilliant!

  129. No I don’t

  130. I shoveled dirt for 4 hours.

    My body is saying – N0.

  131. Hotspur has lost his mind.

  132. Is that zumba or crossfat?

  133. I really still don’t know what the Hell I’m doing.

    *applies tourniquet to Scott’s ankle*

    TELL ME IF THIS HURTS.
    *attaches jumper cables to little toe and big toe*

  134. there are some things that i hope to never be able to understand….

    http://www.kztv10.com/news/son-confesses-to-killing-and-defiling-his-mother/

  135. *has unexplained extra cable clamps; panics*

  136. Laura, did you get certified on an AED yet?

  137. G’night guys. Congrats Lauraw.

  138. FIRE IN THE HOLE!!

  139. Stop eating so many jalapeno poppers, MJ.

  140. BLS has changed a few times since I last took it. Paula just took ACLS which I passed in ’91 during internship. She was laughing at my answers to mock scenarios. “They don’t give that drug anymore” was a common response. I figure if you’re still viable after BLS, epinephrine, atropine and an AED someone who does this life saving stuff more often will be arriving to take over.

  141. The CPR course has an AED component, xbrad.

  142. I saw that story earlier today jam and didn’t read beyond the headline. The headline told me all I needed to know and confirmed that some people ain’t worth living.

  143. Scott in 1979 I shoveled three dumptruck loads of dirt against the side of a hill that you couldn’t safely get a grader on.

    That was enough for me.

  144. AED’s talk to you.

    It’s like cheating on an exam or something.

  145. Back in ’92, for a training exercise, we put in a 3km long wire/mine/ditch obstacle.

    The “mines” were simply concrete castings shaped like an anti-tank mine. There were about 20 of us working on it. We had to first pick them up at the depot, loading them by hand on trucks, then we had to emplace them for the obstacle. There were 10,000 of them.

    Then of course, we had to emplace the wire. That means taking a picket pounder and hammering in pickets ever 5′ for about 2 miles. Then you get to struggle with the wire. Not as bad, but tends to always draw some blood, and ruin a uniform.

    At least a bulldozer dug the anti-tank ditch.

    Of course, 48 hours later, we had to pick up the mines, and the wire.

  146. Packing for the next Phatspawn college visit.

    Hello Purdue!

    Got tickets to see them get their ass whipped by MSU on Saturday.

    Daughter doesn’t really want to go to Purdue, but my best friend from the AF is now a Col and the AF sent him there to get his PhD. We will be staying with them.

    Really more of an opportunity to party with friends, but we’re calling it a ‘campus visit’.

  147. Those are a bit more pricey than I imagined.

    *scratches AED off Christmas list*

  148. I hope you two have a fun college visit, Phat. I loved those campus visits back in the day.

  149. I never went on any campus visits. I just showed up at WSU with a check.

  150. H4?

  151. Anita is doing it again.
    Finished the viola practice. In the attached garage drinking whiskey and smoking, turning pages in “Executive Orders”…

  152. H3.14

    I like pi

  153. I figure if you’re still viable after BLS, epinephrine, atropine and an AED someone who does this life saving stuff more often will be arriving to take over.

    I got adenosine twice. Do not want.

    Phat, I was tremendously disappointed by Purdue. An hour sitting in a lecture hall watching a Powerpoint show does not count as an engineering tour.

  154. Atropine is sometimes used to test for Myasthenia Gravis; too much of it, though, is bad news (for anyone).

  155. An hour sitting in a lecture hall watching a Powerpoint show does not count as an engineering tour.

    Not engineering engineering, but systems engineering? Sure.

  156. Phat, what was the program you worked on Ferrying Russians?

  157. Hullo all. My brain hurts…

  158. … Well foo, I forgot that timestamps one here show as an hour AHEAD of me, not behind.

  159. Wow, Bruce Braley has 4 words that will improve manufacturing in Iowa:

    Col
    Lab
    Or
    Ation.

    He said that during a debate. I wonder if he’s related to Biden.

  160. Bewbs.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS