Keep it up

Also, Tuesday can suck it.

Heh:

283 Comments

  1. Tags: H2, asshole, bacon

  2. Anyone else writing an implementation of JDBC connection pooling today?

    Just me?

    Shocking.

  3. Poat updated with commercial I just saw.

  4. Poat updated with commercial I just saw.

    Fake.

  5. Ok, i’ve seriously got to get my day started. Maybe Pupster’s mantra will get me going. How does it go again?

  6. I love that commercial. You know what I don’t like about singing chickens? Nothing. There’s nothing I don’t like about singing chickens.

    Fake

    Leon owes me a new coffee and he needs to have this chair steam cleaned too.

  7. Read on Drudge that Lollapalooza left a HUGE mess in Chicago.

    You know who attended that event? Malia with secret service.

    Wonder what that little jaunt cost us.

  8. My chickens never sing to me. Maybe it’s because i don’t sing to them?

  9. why is john Kerry riding a lady’s bike?

  10. Leon owes me a new coffee and he needs to have this chair steam cleaned too.

    You’re welcome.

  11. I always sing to the chickens so I don’t startle them.

  12. Ok, so I’m at work yesterday and i get my paycheck. You guys remember that night a few weeks ago where the Keno was $100 off? And I had to pay $50?

    the story continues.

    My tip-out from the servers disappeared. I keep asking where that is, but no one knows.

    And then the final kick in the teeth? I look at my hours and for SOME REASON I didn’t get paid for the 7.5 hours I worked that night.

    So, quick review. I had to pay $50 for money I didn’t take/lose. I didn’t get tipped out from the servers. ANd I didn’t get my pay.

  13. It changes nothing, they just burble and cluck like normal.

  14. Maybe you don’t have much of a singing voice? They’re not inspired.

  15. Ok, so I’m at work yesterday and i get my paycheck. You guys remember that night a few weeks ago where the Keno was $100 off? And I had to pay $50?

    the story continues.

    My tip-out from the servers disappeared. I keep asking where that is, but no one knows.

    And then the final kick in the teeth? I look at my hours and for SOME REASON I didn’t get paid for the 7.5 hours I worked that night.

    So, quick review. I had to pay $50 for money I didn’t take/lose. I didn’t get tipped out from the servers. ANd I didn’t get my pay.

    Is this the only resturaunt in town? It sounds like you need to look.

  16. Sue for the wages. This is bullshit.

  17. I will be getting my hourly wage for bartending that night. The rest, though …

  18. Somebody doesn’t want you bartending.

  19. It’s time to hit the pavement, Carin. Somebody is either incompetent at the accounting, or is making a whipping post out of you.

  20. Well, the worst thing is that I TOLD her I didn’t want to bartend again, since I was financial responsible for something I didn’t have control over, and SHE SCHEDULED ME TO BARTEND ALL DAY SATURDAY.

    It is the convergence of three (separate) events on all one night, but I’m miffed about it.

    I *know* what happened to the tip money, I just can’t get anyone to admit it or take responsibility. I’m going to get it back, in my own way. The other bartender took it, assuming it was all his since the other bartender usually divides it for him (she was off,etc). I’m going to not tip him out until I feel like I’ve made it up.

  21. This bs happens everywhere. And, least you think I’m on the outs with management, I’m apparently one of the few servers who hasn’t had their schedule fucked with. A couple others had shifts taken away for no known reason.

  22. The white horse inn (remember that place) is under new ownership – it’s been closed for a year and a half. They had to tear down half the building, but the new stuff looks wonderful. Pat wants me to apply there.

  23. Leon, why are you writing your own? Why noy just use what Apache provides?

  24. Pepe?

  25. if there are two bartenders at the bar, can’t they have two separate cash registers?

  26. Do it, Car in! I liked that place. Plus, make sure and stick it to the current place you work.

  27. Who cares about burning bridges to places you never want to go?

  28. leon probably isn’t happy with the way Java does it.

    In his defense, neither is anyone else who uses Java.

  29. That explains the tips, but it doesn’t explain why you didn’t get your regular pay.

  30. I have been using Apache pool for a long tie now. I had forgotten it exists. Never an issue.

  31. ANd I didn’t get my pay.

    Threaten a complaint with the Labor Dept. I’m pretty sure the initial docking of your pay for the missing money is illegal. The lack of tip out is probably not, but if you could establish precedent you might have a case. The withholding of 7.5 hours is definitely illegal.

    Believe me, your employer doesn’t want the Labor Department’s scope up their ass.

  32. My local Dick’s is selling this for $400:
    http://www.dickssportinggoods.com/product/index.jsp?productId=23269166&ab=TopNav_Exercise_StrengthTraining_RacksCages&jsessionid=YTrYTgYJQQ7bYQptbgZvnSGcHC6bvDNq6MWBqHywydsPXJXbZ1p7%212099934103&cp=4413986.12598195

    It is a 3 inch tube setup.

    The one I am trying to buy from Craiglist for $225 is a 2 inch rack.

    3 inch tubing is obviously more stable, but I am not planning to lift 400 lb +. Not sure if it is worth the extra $175

  33. And by that, I mean, they’ll audit the whole fucking payroll for a year, and interview the other employees. It’s a nightmare.

  34. The White Horse was nice but racist.

  35. hold on, they saw the $100 missing, recovered it from Carin and the other guy, and are docking the whole day’s pay on top of that?
    WTF?

  36. Leon, why are you writing your own? Why noy just use what Apache provides?

    I’m actually using the Tomcat lib. I should clarify. I’m implementing making it actually work with our crapplication.

  37. I paid that $50 THAT night from my tips. There was no docking of pay or tips (from tip out). I gave her a $50 bill.

  38. The white horse had HORRIBLE management, which is why it went under . THey owed all sorts of money.

    They’ve expanded, and built a gorgeous new fireplace. ANd there is an outside area.

  39. >> ANd there is an outside area.

  40. A crooked bartender would know that for every $100 he takes out of the Keno drawer, he only has to pay back $50.

    That system is messed up.

  41. It’s Michigan, Tushar, how bad could winter be? It’s not like it’s Texas, or anything.

  42. you would rule that place, Car in. I hope you just went down there to apply, since it’s raining and you can’t garden anyway.

    Give a copy of your application to your current manager, while you’re at it.

  43. Bet they would shit a brick if they knew you were looking elsewhere.

  44. You know that we had 70 straight days below freezing this last Winter, right Jay? That 30 of those were actually below 0F?

  45. After another year of global warming, it probably wont get below freezing this year.

  46. Will the White Horse have the same management, or will they be bringing in all new folks? (Don’t know enough about restaurant stuff to know if “New Owners” always means “New Managers” or not…..)

  47. Comment by Jay in Ames on August 5, 2014 11:16 am
    It’s Michigan, Tushar, how bad could winter be?
    It’s not like it’s Texas, or anything.

    Heck, based on this summer’s temperatures, I’m not sure this is still Texas…..

  48. I am a pretty competitive procrastinator. I have won many championships by not showing up.

    But just now, I made the necessary effort to book a room for T.I.T.S.

  49. this amazingly mild summer is brought to you by……. Global Warming!!!!

  50. Tushar,

    You should by the steel tubing and weld together a rack yourself.

  51. The old “managers” were the owners, so NO this place will have new everything.

  52. I booked my room for TITTYS. Now if only HotBride can get the plane tickets booked.

  53. :( I wanna go too.

  54. Col Alex,

    I am sure I can do it. But I lack the necessary equipment and time

  55. That is probably the most absurd commercial I have ever seen,

    “Hey, look at these amazingly talented chickens! We kill them so you can eat them! Foster Farms.”

  56. The “build or buy” decision on something that is effectively life-saving equipment should be heavily weighted toward “buy”.

  57. Lake time!

  58. Heh, my congressman is on the AOS main page, and did pretty good in a setup with some dreamers.

  59. I’m sitting outside, pondering my garden, and a chicken hopped up onto my lap.

    It did not sing. Alas.

  60. I am sure I can do it. But I lack the necessary equipment and time

    You should hand build the necessary equipment.

    Also, quit your job.

  61. Damn it. Stupid customers.

  62. Risky but plausible: http://www.endofthreefitness.com/crossfit-equipment-build-your-own-power-rack-2/

    I might use that as a basis for the pull-up/muscle-up/dip station I want to build.

  63. You could build the whole thing out of iron pipe, all you would need is a pipe wrench.

    Cutting and threading is free.

  64. Tushar

  65. I’m sure Tushar’s wife would feel very proud to have her husband working out in the front yard under a tree.

  66. I don’t like the look of the 2×4’s to catch the loaded bar in case of an accident, Leon.

  67. I don’t either, Pepe. I might supplement those with some steel sawhorses or something like that.

  68. 4×4 vertical beams with 2×6 crossbeams would work. Replace the 2x4s with 2 in pipe run through holes drilled in the 4x4s to catch a loaded bar.

  69. I’m sure Tushar’s wife would feel very proud to have her husband working out in the front yard under a tree.

    Wait until she sees him shirtless and pounding on a tire with a sledgehammer.

  70. I read that back in April. Good article.

  71. Oh, wait, the video is new to me. I read the article that preceded it.

  72. So, the european space agency sent out a spacecraft that is now going to rendezvous with a comet and shove a probe up its ass.
    Not surprisingly, the spacecraft is named Rosetta.

    http://www.csmonitor.com/Science/2014/0804/Comet-chasing-Euro-probe-could-make-history-Wednesday

  73. Ha ha! That is an awesome video about Indian mace.

    >>Wait until she sees him shirtless and pounding on a tire with a sledgehammer.

    Well, she was working for NJ State police HQ a few years back and was quite impressed with the big biceps on the police officers.
    Later on, a doctor who was attached to the police department died, and all the officer’s muscles started shrinking.
    The police chief denied that he was illegally giving them any growth substances. Everybody pretended to believe him.

  74. That Indian mace is called a gadaa. The Indian clubs are called mudgal.

    Although I never used them, I have seen people use them in old style Indian Akhadas(gyms).

  75. There is a guy at the gym who i hadn’t seen in a while. he was 18 or 19 when i first started seeing him working out. fit, but more slender. I saw him the other day and he was unrecognizable. His face seems wider. Could that be steroids? He is very changed.

  76. More likely puberty, and you just were wrong about his age.

  77. No. He was a high school graduate when he started working there. His whole head looks weird now.

  78. You should get a mace and some Indian clubs and embrace your heritage. And when your children are older, if they misbehave, you can make them embrace their heritage.

  79. *crickets*

  80. Dealing with the VA is such a flaming pain in the ass.

  81. Like with the IRS, we do not sense even a smidgen of corruption.

  82. xbrad – It’s almost like they don’t want to treat us, ain’t it? *rolls eyes*

  83. Oh, the people I was dealing with were nice enough. It’s just the bureaucratic hurdles are so cumbersome.

    VA care isn’t portable. I have to jump through the eligibility hoops all over again.

  84. I’m pretty sure xbrad could get VA treatment quickly if he was diagnosed with a serious disease. You know, like sexual dysphoria. Now that would get bureaucrats moving.

  85. A kid that age wouldn’t need anabolics to have some serious growth just from eating right and training hard. It would also be a real hormonal disruptor for someone so young. For his sake I hope he didn’t start cycling.

  86. For his sake I hope he didn’t start cycling.

    Amen, brother.

    http://tinyurl.com/okgfnrd

  87. A lot of guys just use a sledge in place of the mace, if only because you can actually buy them.

  88. Sorry, “cycling” in that context meant “doing cycles of anabolic drugs”.

  89. No shit, Leon. But that’s not nearly as funny as JFuckingK on a pink bike.

  90. Nothing is as funny as that, unless we somehow spot 0bama doing the same thing.

  91. Tushar’s kids have already taken up maces and whatnot:

    http://baltimore.cbslocal.com/2014/08/04/teens-attack-man-in-patterson-park-with-medieval-weapon/

  92. Comment by xbradtc on August 5, 2014 6:08 pm

    Tushar’s kids have already taken up maces and whatnot:

    The SCA is gearing up as we speak to patrol the streets against this menace.

  93. Flashback time: http://youtu.be/eUDcTLaWJuo

  94. That came out 31 years ago.

  95. This came out when Hotspur joined the Navy: http://youtu.be/ERrwjR4ZlfI

  96. Better days, those.

  97. How ever did they get ahold of that snazzy PT cruiser so long ago, I wonder?

  98. This iPad thinks I’m not signed in and wordpress thinks I’m pupster but not signed in so fuck it.

  99. Cyn, I booked our room, so tell those dicks to give us the free meeting room.

  100. Dodged a bullet today. Can’t go into details other than sick kid at baseline was scheduled for elective surgery and got sick before the case. Sick enough to cancel. Maybe permanently. I’ve been waking up worried about this for weeks. $20.

  101. Sick kids give me a sad. :-(

  102. Backsquat 165
    Press 75
    Deadliest 210

  103. Deadlift

  104. Deadliest Catchfat

  105. I second what MCPO said, Jimbro.

  106. http://tinyurl.com/lf8nyrb

  107. Did anybody realize that they’d made a mistake by making anybody else the front segment of their human centipede today?

  108. No, Sean, I did not realize that.

  109. Ordered some parts from Bikesomewhere, they came in this box:
    http://tinypic.com/r/biunw5/8

  110. I knew that UNWRA, as are all facets of the UN, was a scam. I had no idea just how bad.
    http://www.frontpagemag.com/2014/dgreenfield/defund-the-unrwa/

  111. Bob, in addition to how many bullwhips are in your ass right now, what’s your avatard? M1A?

  112. That’s an AR-10 pitching and the AR-15 is catching.

  113. My Hostage moment of the day. Competent co-worker was taking pics for me and took this one when I wasn’t looking. I’m in the air shower cooling off getting a blow job.

  114. I am canning three very purple jars of homemade blueberry jam.

    Tomorrow I am going to finally purchase a carry sidearm for myself, and a holster. Scott is watching gun reviews and shooty videos. I think he already knows which gun I’m getting.

  115. Did anybody realize that they’d made a mistake by making anybody else the front segment of their human centipede today?

    Come on. I’m not that bad of a segment.

  116. No, Eric, but I’m all about people playing to their strengths.

  117. Update on wiserbride’ travails:

    Company has denied the beach’s claim and has informed her that she is expected to be at work Monday morning.

    Leech has not responded in two days. Meaning she is probably discussing her options with an attorney.

    But at least the company is standing up to this bullshit claim, and seems ready to fight it should it come to that.

  118. Beach = leech

  119. Roamy, yur not doin it raht…..

  120. Well, I can’t complain about today’s workload but I’m never fond of complete uncertainty about when I can leave work.

    So far today’s workload has consisted of waiting and getting paid for it. I suspect that boon will demand its tribute in the next few hours.

  121. But at least the company is standing up to this bullshit claim, and seems ready to fight it should it come to that.

    Woot! Glad to hear it.

  122. >>Backsquat 165
    >>Press 75
    >>Deadliest 210

    I have gone up to 115 on deadlifts. Not feeling any real strain yet, but I won’t add more than 10-15 pounds a week.
    No cage, so no presses and squats yet.
    I can benchpress 140 pounds on my Weider machine, but that is an electronic readout that I am not sure I can trust.

  123. That scene in “The African Queen” always creeps me out. The scene where Humphrey Bogart discovers beaches all over his body.

  124. Yay for Wiserbride!

  125. “Expected to be at work on Monday”

    Expected?

    That sounds hostile.

  126. >>>That sounds hostile.

    I hope it was meant that way. And I hope her attorney advises that she pursue this.

    I do not think wiserbride’s company is gonna play nice here.

  127. Herself brought home a slice of heavenly carrot cake tonight! I may be in sugar overload, but that was incredible!

  128. *ahem*
    I hope you brought enough carrot cake to share with everyone.

  129. My remote project appears to be starting to go sideways. Well, it had been going sideways, but it looks like all the good course corrections we could have made aren’t getting made.

    Neato.

  130. Mmmm…carrot cake.

  131. GO – Fuck off, ya British toff! *runs out of room with remains of the cake*

  132. If I could cheat on my low carb diet, I might go for a slice of key lime pie.

  133. I am on low carb diet for almost four months now, except for a weekend in Florida when I had no choice, I have not cheated.

  134. Well, it’s all moot anyway. Being dead means eating gives me real indigestion. I mean, the food just sits there in my stomach.

  135. She won’t show up on Monday, she will be filing for unemployment compensation.

  136. I am low carb since… Saturday.

    Kicking ass at it so far.

  137. or disability from the PTSD the company caused.

  138. If the project goes much further sideways I may end up funemployed.

  139. >>>She won’t show up on Monday, she will be filing for unemployment compensation.

    Yeah, that’s my prediction as well.

    I’m pretty sure the company will stand talk on that as well.

  140. *is pre-emptively traumatized*

    *files for disafuckingbility*

  141. >>>or disability from the PTSD the company caused.

    That’s gonna be a really tough case to make, considering she had already been cleared to return to work from her FMLA leave.

  142. If I gave up carbs I would starve to death in a day and a half.

    It’s probably my biggest food group.

  143. The mother of one of my friends quit her job and filed for unemployment. I thought you had to be laid off to get unemployment.

  144. I love *good* carrot-cake.
    I don’t know whether to go shopping or look at recipes…

  145. That was before all of the hostility.

  146. And expectations.

  147. Fist-Bumps Scott…

  148. >>> I thought you had to be laid off to get unemployment.

    You can file, but it doesn’t mean you’ll get it.

    But yeah, you’ll get it.

    The system is so fucked

  149. I’m certain both the travails of Leon’s remote project and wiser’s wife are the direct results of bigotry and hatred for people who self-identity as transgender, queer or questioning. I’m equally certain this same hatred is responsible for the weather, squeaky shoes and burnt toast.

    Is there any ill on earth not a result of heteroppression?

  150. Wiserbride actually tried to convince this leech to take her FMLA in parts, instead of all at once, so she could spread it out, but no… she needed it all at once.

    Ooooops

  151. Unemployment is a right.

    When that runs out there is welfare and disability.

  152. Mine is mostly about dysfunctional organization as a now-traditional aspect of corporate culture in my new division, it appears.

    It’s entirely possible that the program dies and I just go work on another one until it dies and the cycle continues.

  153. >>>>When that runs out there is welfare and disability

    It’s amazing to me how quickly this happened.

    One generation.

  154. The Leon Cycle.

    I’ve heard of this.

  155. Unemployment is a right.

    If it weren’t for unemployment, where would we get all the new writers and photographers? Nancy Pelosi shows us the way.

  156. If each cycle lasts a year and I can do this about 12 more times I’ll be in good shape for retirement.

  157. The Leon Cycle.

  158. “Leon, this project is in trouble and our lead developer just quit to go work at [insert competitor here]”

    *Leon develops awesome stuff, writes docs, makes powerpoint for design review*

    *program fails because management*

    *Leon’s network knows it wasn’t his fault, write letters of recommendation*

    “Leon, this project is in trouble and our lead developer just quit to go work at [insert competitor here]”

  159. There is hope Wiser. At Obamajob there are a lot of young people that would be better off collecting right now. They get it.

  160. Leon, you might find the subject matter here interesting:

    http://coffeeandmarkets.com/2014/08/04/revenge-of-the-nerds-the-value-of-computer-coders/

  161. At Obamajob there are a lot of young people that would be better off collecting right now. They get it.

    Building the Democrat base, one unemployment statistic at a time.

  162. I’ve met the equivalent of “trade school coders” already in a few places. There are already plenty of them. The perceived “shortage” is about quality, not quantity, and about firms not being willing to pay for quality.

    For some tasks they’ll be fine, filling in black boxes someone else drew for them. I draw the boxes and fill them without complaint.

    I should put that on my resume.

  163. I should just get a part-time gig at one of the trade schools.

  164. The perceived “shortage” is about quality, not quantity

    ah, that is precisely the point Francis makes in the podcast. He also notes you do better work cheaper with fewer people but you must get the right ones.

  165. I hadn’t listened yet. I’m watching anime to soothe myself.

    Right now we have deadlines we can’t hit without overtime. At 630 this evening we got the directive that no more OT can be charged until the new fiscal year.

  166. The best thing about food? Carbs.

  167. Then meat.

  168. 1) Meat
    2) Fatty meat
    3) Green veggies
    4) Starch

  169. Well, I’m billing OT now. For waiting and holding the client’s metaphorical hand. So all is well.

  170. I was told not to go over 8 hours/day for the remainder of the pay period, which concludes Friday.

    I’ll still get 16 hours of OT.

  171. 1) Meat
    2) Fatty meat
    3) Green veggies
    4) Starch

    You just described FLOTUS’s preferred diet, and the opposite of what she preaches.

  172. I just fed Xmom her birthday dinner. Shrimp Tempura, baked potato, and a freshly sliced vine ripened tomato.

  173. I like a sliced tomato with a little French dressing.

  174. No no, she wants you to eat vegetables. I just think they need butter and a steak nearby.

  175. I listened partly to that interview. He talks about hiring from among only the top 5%. We are an Investment Bank. Our worst programmers are probably in top 10-15% if not the top 5% of programming population. They have to be. We are dealing with money. And we are not the Government. Which means we need to handle the responsibility very well.

    We have been trying to hire people for past 4-5 months. I must have interviewed 50 people. We hired two, and need two more. We pay good money, and we get a ton of resumes. But finding people who have the right amount of skill, drive and ability to work hard is not easy.

  176. *singing*

    Do you want to make a sand-wich?

    A meal with ham and bread?

  177. nyp.st/1qVROkz

  178. Tushar has hit on my biggest worry. I’ve been a government contractor for 14 years. I think I may be institutionalized. I have no idea what expectations there are in the commercial world. I often feel like I’m barely putting forth effort but it’s apparently a ton compared to my peers in the DC area.

  179. nyp.st/1qVROkz

    NOOOOOOOO!!!

  180. But finding people who have the right amount of skill, drive and ability to work hard is not easy.

    Francis makes this point too.

    Plus, if you’re female or black and a good coder, you are a rockstar. Because diversity.

  181. Leon,
    there are two places where insanity prevails: Silicon Valley and Wall St. A person who works only 11 hours is called a slacker, and one who works less than that is basically booted out.we work under extreme pressure, and CANNOT make a mistake.

    But rest of the IT jobs are not like that. IT jobs in areas of healthcare, insurance, manufacturing, services, retail banking, logistics etc industries are relatively less stressful, and actually pay higher than Wall St on a per hour basis.

  182. >>Plus, if you’re female or black and a good coder, you are a rockstar.

    I can probably find a unicorn who can code faster than that.

    BTW, my wife is a damn good Java programmer, but thankfully she is not career minded. She puts in 8 hours of solid work, comes home and takes care of the children. The stories she tells from her workplace (public university) are horrifying. If I was running that place, I will fire most of them.

  183. very few people there put in 8 hrs of honest work.

  184. If I was running that place, I will fire most of them.

    *subscribes again to Tushar’s newsletter*

  185. Watch the stress Tushar. It affects you differently as you age.

  186. Normally, our contracts don’t even permit us to work over 40 hours per week, and we’re required by law to list every hour worked. I can’t imagine usefully doing what I do with constant 11 hour days.

  187. very few people there put in 8 hrs of honest work.

    Fixt.

  188. Scott, I know. I am planning a long term strategy that involves moving away from Wall St.

  189. “Work” for the government = paid vacation

  190. Leon, do you have a set of dumbbell weight plates at home?
    I think buying those hex dumbbells in insanity. Two bars and a bunch of standard plates is cheaper. Any reccomendations?

  191. I have fixed weight dumbbells up to 25#, but I never work out at home. I use them to hold things in place nowadays. A friend of mine has a pair of the “click to adjust” dumbbells, those are what I’d buy for a home gym. The adjustable dumbbells I’ve had in the past with clips to hold the plates in place were less than satisfactory.

  192. Those click to adjust dumbbells are very expensive. $300 for a pair.
    I think if you have good bars, cheapo weights will do.

    As Mark Rippetoe says: buy a good bar and you can buy old plates. Because old cast iron weighs the same as new cast iron.

  193. *cocktails before debriefing*

  194. A barbell is a different beast. Good bar is critical, but cheap plates can be fine (check them). I just never had good staying-put power out of the clip-handled dumbbells. YMMV.

  195. Mmmm Drinks that Clink.

    right on.

  196. I will follow up with another now.

    Who else is ready for a refill?

  197. Yew Hew.

    *slames a gold piece on the bar*

  198. I have those expensive dumbbells. Picked them up on Craig’s List cheap.

  199. *puts a song on the Juke*

  200. Drink?

    Yes please.

  201. *grabs glasses*
    *fills with ice*
    *fills with Absolut*

    There ya go. Oh wait…

    *adds cocktail umbrellas*

    Done.

  202. Damn I’m glad this day is over. Fuck.

  203. Tushar, I have a gift for you.

  204. Another rainstorm cleaves apart right over us and leaves us dry. Like, just for a couple streets either way around us. It is uncanny how often this happens. We call it the Whammy. Must be the bowl we live in, or the nearby river. Damnedest thing.

    I was really hoping my garden would get watered tonight. Looks like there might be enough storm behind it to push on through. We shall see.

    *takes a fresh new Anger Management Puppet out of its deliciously crinkly cellophane*

    *breathes in that New Puppet smell*

  205. *takes a fresh new Anger Management Puppet out of its deliciously crinkly cellophane*
    *breathes in that New Puppet smell*

    This is why, despite how very much I’m embarrassed to know you all, I keep coming back to H2.

  206. *raises hand sheepishly looking at Laura*

    I-I-I would take one of those please. TYIA.

  207. This is why, despite how very much I’m embarrassed to know you all, I keep coming back to H2.

    Well we all knew it wasn’t for me.

  208. Thanks, Cynabuns. I’m not really used to fancy name brand vodka!

  209. It’s the Wevenge of the Wabbit.

    You should move.

  210. Laura, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve walked outside with thunder and lighting to the north, south, east and west of us, with blue sky above.

    Sister called Sunday afternoon in a panic telling us about flash floods being reported where we live.

    Sure. Within a mile or two. But we were dry as a Baptist county.

  211. Wabbits suck.

  212. So I come back from a long-assed day of five interviews back to back to find in my email that I got fired from a file I was handling because the service I used to do 3+ hours of transcription didn’t get the file to me fast enough. Yay me.

  213. **puts ice in glass*

    **pours full of Absolut**

    **pops in a cutesy little paper umbrella**

    **has Pablo the Pool Boy deliver to Ms. Cyn**

  214. Thanks.

    And I’m glad you’re not flooding.

  215. You need an H2 brand Anger Management Puppet on the rox.

    We can get MJ to invent the recipe.

  216. *slides two proxy torture victims Anger Management Puppets across the bar, fresh in wrappers*

    *watches in horror at Cyn’s depravity*

    JEEEZUSSS WOMAN, PACE YOURSELF! THEY ONLY SEND ME FOUR A MONTH!

    I need to ask if I can up the prescription.

  217. *does a drive by flood dance at XB’s*

  218. Seriously, I can bash the little button eyeballs out of one of these in like, four minutes. A quick drowning in the toilet and it’s ruined, and then I have to wait a whole week before I can attack a freshie. It’s fucking ridiculous.

  219. I mean, it’s not like you can’t dry it out and then knife the shit out of it the next day. You can. You totally can.

    But you can tell it has been drowned before. You can tell. Just not very fun then. Doesn’t take the edge off like when it’s ‘alive.’

  220. Seriously? Only four a month?!

    Welp, that O-care for ya. Just… wrong. Do they not see the benefit of increasing the delivery thus decreasing expensive in-office visits?!!

  221. We had showers awhile ago. Now the clouds are scraping the sky and the moon is peeking in and out. For some reason, it reminds me of the opening of Disney’s serialization of R.L. Stevenson’s “Treasure Island”.

  222. But you can tell it has been drowned before. You can tell. Just not very fun then. Doesn’t take the edge off like when it’s ‘alive.’

    *nods knowingly in total agreement*

  223. Nice.

    When yer a nurse I’d like to shoot a documentary at your ward.

    Laura Wrachette as The Nurse Templar

  224. I wonder if there is a co-pay on a six pack of Anger Management Puppets™ by Pfizer.

  225. You need an H2 brand Anger Management Puppet on the rox.

    One litre over here please.

  226. I wonder if there is a co-pay on a six pack of Anger Management Puppets™ by Pfizer.

    They make six-packs?! oooOOOOooo

  227. AMPs.

    Ha! Thats the drynk for me, by gum.

    “I swear yer honor, I was only drinking AMPs with Cyn and Laura. I have NO recollection of dynamiting the dam above Bagdad.

  228. What goes in the Anger Management cocktail?

    I think MJ needs to research this.

  229. Hah. HAH.

    *shows Cyn my drawer full of doll heads*

    Do you HONESTLY think I would keep these old roaches around if I wasn’t absolutely forced to conserve them by necessity??

    Don’t get me started. You should have seen how hard it was to get the prescription in the first place.

    Every fucking pothead in California can have their prescription written, filled and over-filled by the fanciest gourmet pot clubs outside of Amsterdam, but getting the clinical blessing for my little Toys R’ Us shipment is like pulling teeth.

    Please. And I would remind you; dolls are LEGAL.

  230. I used to go to Ensenada to buy full strength Anger Management Puppets without a prescription, but you have to be careful. Sometimes they sell them unwrapped and they’re no good, or they come in a closed box and after you get them home you discover half of them are just Beanie Babies with stage blood inside.

  231. What goes in the Anger Management cocktail?

    One of the ingredients will be Jaegger; I guarantee it insist.

  232. OK kids. Hunchback OUT.

    *bites a puppet on the face, spits out its pompon nose and roars*

    g’nigh

  233. åye yie yie

    http://tinyurl.com/lkdy838

  234. Nighty sweet dreams, Lauraw. Thanks for the puppets; I know I went thru those first three pretty quick but I’m savoring the last one. Promise.

  235. Gnight Puppet Master

  236. Red Hot Cinnamon of some sort should be in an H2 AMP.

  237. Goldschläger

    This is the one riiiiight here.

  238. Hmmmmmm… then what to mix in after?

  239. http://tinyurl.com/mbvpqk3

  240. Yep.
    Wild Turkey, Red Hot, Cinzano, Soda.
    Shake within an inch of it’s life and serve with a Bad Attitude and a Muddler.

  241. sub Goldschlager for Cinzano

  242. Goldschläger may make an appearance at TITS.

  243. OMG! The shit I ordered from Cafe Press FINALLY got here. Photoshoot may happen tomorrow.

  244. Rumple Minze

  245. Ooo – that would be like an Icy Hot drink thing

  246. Sleep time here now. Hugs until the morrow.

  247. Well, If X brings the Rumple Minze, Cyn brings zee Goldschlager, all we need iss zee Jager and we have Screemin’ Nazis- High Command.

    We’re going to need quite a few “Anger Management Puppets”.

  248. Bye Kitty.

  249. We’re going to need quite a few “Anger Management Puppets”.

    Probably oughta get the Jewish flavored ones.

  250. Yep.

  251. Err….. Matzo. Yeah, that’s what I meant.

  252. We’re going to need quite a few “Anger Management Puppets”.

    Probably oughta get the Jewish flavored ones.

    I hear the halal ones are considered a Class 1 explosive.

  253. Ugh, my body clock is really messed up now.

    Left Orange County at 10 pm, landed at Newark at 0530.

    Got to St. Louis at 1000.

    Napped for a couple of hours, but I’m messed up.

    It was great having lunch with Sean. What an awesome dude!

    *don’t get cocky, kid

  254. Have to go back to Chicago tomorrow, this job sucks sometimes.

  255. Really? I guess quitting drinking really has changed Sean.

    He was a major asshole the last time I saw him.

  256. Xbrad,

    HA!

    Seeing as you get to spend a few hours with him on the drive to TITS, have fun.

  257. Seriously, he shanked the waitress at The Tilted Kilt.

  258. Adios, Amigos.

    Good luck out there.

  259. I know no one is here but I think my brain is about to implode. I posted that anti-human shield ad online – you know, the one written by ELI WIESEL, and this was one of the responses it got:

    “Great guy and all I’m sure, but he should read Glenn Greenwald’s twitter feeds.”

    … this is like telling an astrophysicist that he should really talk to your high school science teacher before he goes spouting off.

  260. Revvy, dear thing, there’s a lot of incredibly stupid people out there.

    Leave them. Only hang out with us.

  261. Well, once we had an easy derp and always felt the same
    Time was on my side and I had everything to gain
    Let it be like yesterday
    Please let me have happy days

  262. hm!

  263. wakey wakey

  264. breakfast for y’all:
    http://tinyurl.com/lpwqwyy

  265. I now hate breakfast and Grover.

  266. Morning, children.

  267. Good morning, Iron Dome of Stupid!

  268. *drinks coffee with a splash of full-fat milk*

    *eats nothing*

    *breaks fingers of guy with blue puppet*

  269. Debbie Dingell won her primary. We are now poised to continue the 80 years that a Dingell has held that office.

    We should dispense with the political show and just give them a title. Duke/Duchess of the 12th congressional district.

  270. Everybody loves royalty! Only those anointed shall be ready to lead us!

    The minimum wage is the issue de jour in Iowa. Did you know Jodi Ernst thinks you can live on $15,000 a year?

  271. I didn’t bother voting in the primary. Won’t matter until November.

    Won’t really matter in November, but I at least have to try.

  272. i see Wolf lost to Roberts in Cansass… bummer; i was hoping for a miracle there. the interviews he gave were pretty good. these establishment punks are crowing about handing the tea party peeps another bitch slap, but with numbers like 48% to 41% (+ or -) the good ole pukes should be taking note of the monster getting ready to hand them their collective asses…

  273. I wonder what the NRA has to say about Debbie. John had an A+ rating from them for like 20 years straight. He represented deer-hunting UAW guys and knew it. If she drops the ball on that it might actually make a difference.

  274. in my district a no name challenger posted 47% (i think that was the final count) against the incumbent; while she lost, those kind of numbers should tell that piece of shit Dick Hanna that he doesn’t have much of the base in his camp….

  275. MJ?

  276. I’m sure Debbie has been well versed in how to pacify her voters.

  277. Gimme a few minutes, and I’ll have HHD up.

  278. I’ve heard about a closed-door meeting that John had with the rest of the Michigan congressional delegation back during the Clinton years when some gun control measure was on the table.

    He let them all know in no uncertain terms that he would run them each out of office if they supported it, like giving $1M to their primary opponents.

    Debbie won’t do that.

  279. New poat!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS