Sleep-in Sunday

151 Comments

  1. Thanks for the pic, Tushar.

  2. It’s the last day of ice cream for breakfast today.

  3. I love long weekends. I don’t mind if every 1st and third weekend is made a one day weekend, and the 2nd and fourth are made long weekends.

  4. Isn’t today Monday?

  5. I’d vote for that long weekend thing.

  6. Tush, one of the full-time work options at NASA is eight 9-hour days, one 8-hour day, and one day off.

  7. There’s flexibility with the hours, too, so your shift can be 7:00 – 4:30, 7:30 – 5:00, or 8:00 – 5:30. (Half an hour for lunch that we don’t get paid.) I think there’s an 8:30 – 6:00 option, but I don’t know anyone who works that.

  8. Flexibility is part of the reason I’ll stick with this gig until the boys get older: as long as I’m relatively available and bill enough hours, I’m good.

  9. Cyn, same here for my part-time work.

  10. Plus, working from home: ice cream for lunch.

  11. Heh. Rocketboy came home from Scout camp, opened the fridge, and said, “Wow, leftovers!”

    Apparently the camp food wasn’t as good this year, so he decimated the pantry and finished off the tub of ice cream in the freezer. He also thanked me for the big bag of trail mix I packed for him.

  12. Will your grocery bill shrink by a significant amount when Rocketboy leaves for college in the fall, Roamy? :-)

  13. Good morning sexy ladies and Tushar!

    Hour 20 of Phat Bachelor Status. No dead hookers, live trannies or empty liquor bottles to dispose of this morning. Sigh.

    I must be getting old.

    Family gets home later tonight and I have to pick up the dogs from the kennel in an hour.

    It was a fun phatcation while it lasted.

  14. TiFW, the grocery bill has already shrunk compared to cross country season, so I expect so.

  15. gardening.

    wakey wakey

  16. JJesus, almost 300,000 illegals…………..

    http://dailycaller.com/2014/07/05/border-meltdown-obama-delivering-290000-illegals-to-u-s-homes/

  17. Republicans should really make this offer to democrats:
    You want mass immigration because of humanity whatever? Ok. We will give them some legal status. But anyone who comes here illegally never gets to vote. And nor do their children. The grandchildren can vote, provided their parents were born in US. And just like H1 visa holders can be deported for relatively minor crimes, so shall these immigrants. And they don’t get welfare.

    Take away the mass voter incentive and see if their intensity remains. If they oppose this deal, attack them for worrying more about their political fortunes than those innocent immigrants who simply want to work hard and earn a living.

  18. Don’t be racist, pepe.

  19. Tushar,

    The problem is that any agreement isn’t worth the paper it’s written on. Immediately after they are granted legal status the left will start pushing for full citizenship, and will use the court system to try and push it through no matter what. See, Gay Marriage.

  20. Further, they’ll fight tooth and nail against any and all forms of voter ID, and illegals will simply vote while being ineligible. There’s no way to catch them absent ID.

  21. There’s flexibility with the hours, too, so your shift can be 7:00 – 4:30, 7:30 – 5:00, or 8:00 – 5:30. (Half an hour for lunch that we don’t get paid.) I think there’s an 8:30 – 6:00 option, but I don’t know anyone who works that.

    Being single, I work a 9-5:30 or 9-6:00 shift most days. I like sleeping in in the mornings, and I often get more work done in the last hour and a half when I’m the only one in the building.

    Plus, the contract allows telework, as long as you don’t abuse it, so I’ve been known to book out early and then work a couple of hours on a Sunday evening from my balcony.

  22. If they were so worried about their political fortunes, they could make abortion much harder to obtain – at 1.2 million per year, in another 18 years they would have a steady stream of malleable voters coming up in the ranks every year.

    And they don’t get to cry, “But they’ll all be on welfare!”, either – just what do they think is going to happen with all of these little darlings they are letting in now?

    At least if they’re homegrown they will learn some semblance of English right out of the gate.

  23. At least if they’re homegrown they will learn some semblance of English right out of the gate.

    A wak through any inner-city high school would put lie to that.

    *denounces self*

  24. So, Hillary didn’t “profit” from her speaking fees, since she donates them to the Clinton Foundation.

    Hmmm…. purely altruistic, of course.

    Mind you, by making a charitable donation to the foundation of say, $1mm or so in cumulative fees, she gets a whopping income tax deduction that nicely offsets some of the taxable income from the advance she received for the book she sold.

    Also, foundations typically pay their officers a tidy little salary. The IRS has been getting a tad more inquisitive lately on some foundations, but one suspects that the Clinton Foundation hasn’t come under much scrutiny on that front.

    Foundations also quite often pick up a lot of “expenses” that their officers incur in the course of their foundation duties. That’s normal and reasonable usually. But one again suspects this is an area that might have been abused a bit in the Clinton’s case.

    And let’s not forget the real purpose of the Clinton foundation isn’t to do good, but rather to serve as a slush fund for the Clintons to pay out to favored supporters.

  25. One wondering about such things makes one prone to audits, one thinks.

  26. If these immigrants are allowed to stay, that pretty much guarantees power for the Democratic party for the foreseeable future. Barring a rebellion of course. The FSA is winning the war.

  27. “When you have a noncriminal [border-crossing ] mother, they are going to be released,” David Jennings, the head of the Immigrations and Customs Enforcement agency in southern California. “The most humane way to deal with this is to find out where they are going and get them there,” he said at a town meeting held in Murrieta, Calif., according to the New York Times.

    Non-criminal border crossing.

    We are doomed.

  28. Now that I think about it, I plan on having servants so I’m good with this.

  29. Mmm, beef chuck roast smoking on the grill. Can you smell it?

    No?

    That’s too bad. It smells really good. Apple smoke.

  30. Obama says Congress does nothing but block him. How dare they not appreciate all the shit sandwiches he has given them.

  31. http://imgur.com/gallery/dTh15rp

  32. Last new visitor from Washington, and on June 14 we got a view from Kosovo!

    (things you find out when you click on the flag counter by mistake)

  33. Hey Leon, this is opening in my town in the fall.

    http://www.texasdebrazil.com/

  34. He’s a mature, well functioning adult that just happens to use the word meanwich.

  35. Just got back from Austin, a friend we’ve known for almost 30 years got ass-ended by her big dog chasing a rabbit this week and smashed up her left shoulder. Total replacement. She was so funny, high as a kite this afternoon.

    I had a good visit with my kid down there and back. We talked about nothing, we talked about everything. Not heavy, just stuff.

  36. I am making Indian style grilled eggplant.
    Get those huge eggplants, the size of Pam Anderson’s implants.
    Poke a few holes in them for steam to escape. Coat the skin with a dab of oil. Put them on charcoal grill.
    Grill till the outside is all burned up and they have shrivelled to the size of Pam Anderson’s boobs if her implants burst and leak away.

    Take off the grill, let cool, peel away the burned skin. Mash the pulp well. You may want to use a blender if you are impatient, else a potato masher works well.

    Sauté some onions, ginger and garlic in some olive oil. Put in salt and whatever spices make sense to your palates, put in the eggplant mush and saute well.
    Garnish with some coriander leaves.

  37. Or you could just grill a fucking burger.

  38. cállate, Pendejo

  39. I had the grill make me a burger.

  40. I am making Indian style grilled eggplant.
    Get those huge eggplants, the size of Pam Anderson’s implants.
    Poke a few holes in them for steam to escape. Coat the skin with a dab of oil. Put them on charcoal grill.
    Grill till the outside is all burned up and they have shrivelled to the size of Pam Anderson’s boobs if her implants burst and leak away.

    Take off the grill, let cool, peel away the burned skin. Mash the pulp well. You may want to use a blender if you are impatient, else a potato masher works well.

    Sauté some onions, ginger and garlic in some olive oil. Put in salt and whatever spices make sense to your palates, put in the eggplant mush and saute well.
    Garnish with some coriander leaves.
    ————–
    Mmm.

  41. Heh. when they’re in their 20s you can flip em off then they lookin. Smile though, it’s ok if you smile.

  42. Pot roast is in the oven.

  43. My mom flipped me off once. She was more mad because I laughed.

    I almost felt bad.

  44. “The chair is against the wall. The chair is against the wall”

    /Red Dawn

  45. HAH.. my kid’s guy in the Stan is already sick of Army bullshit and he hasn’t been there a week (cept this is 3rd tour). He has acknowledged my admonition against more “Please No More Shoot Me medals, one is enough”. Keep him in your prayers if you do that, if you don’t kind thoughts are always welcome too. 3/3d Ironhawk. Brave Rifles.

  46. Greetings, people who aren’t looking forward to going back to work.

  47. Back to work?

    Well, la te da.

  48. Hey, me too, scott. Me too.

  49. John has a long mustache.

  50. I don’t remember my last day off.

  51. Dave is in the water. I repeat, Dave is in the water.

  52. There is one in every family.

  53. Herro world.

    So there was an ungodly screeching coming from the level above me in the ol’ apartamento complex. It was a kid, but a kid that was hurt and/or being beaten/kidnapped. It was not your usual kid screaming, so I, like an idiot ran up to see if anything bad was happening, yelling on the way up “should I call 911?”. It was that different. Yeah, dumb in so many ways.

    So what I found was a mother trying to negotiate her 3-4 year old back into her apartment “You wanna come back in?” She tells me there’s no emergency, “just one of his tantrums”.

    So at this point I roll my eyes, tell her that I thought it was an emergency, and say well just scoop him up and take him in. Then I go back down the stairs.

    Her husband called the apartment managers to complain about me! Turns out the kid was recently diagnosed as autistic, which makes me feel like absolute shit and so sorry for the mom and want to send her flowers in one moment and in the next be so pissed at the father for trying to get me evicted (and that’s what it had to be, otherwise why call if you didn’t want action to be taken?)

    I’ll send flowers cause the mom’s got a tough row to hoe and I apparently made her cry. Fuck the dad though.

  54. Wish Obama would take his entire shitty family down to the border when he visits Texas next week to see his new wonderful illiterate welfare clients
    They’d all wind up with head lice and scabies

  55. The next republican president should round them all up and ship them to Hawaii.

  56. Good plan Lipstick. Boy1 used to peel paint with his screeching tantrums. Worst one ever was about wearing underwear. He was agin’ it.

  57. Yeah, next Republican president should ship all these back plus all the others as a punitive gesture. Ha, like it’s punitive to actually uphold the law.

  58. I am still against it.

  59. I’m all for Boy 1 wearing underwear. Cyn, not so much.

  60. Watching the 2012 version of Red Dawn. For Chris Hemsworth science.

  61. Pups, she’s got more problems than I do, but peel paint indeed. I’d just never heard anything of that intensity that before.

    And why are you trying to oppress your boy with underwear?

  62. Please to ignore superfluous ‘that’ in that previous comment that I made.

  63. *turns up nose at superfluous “that” and winces*

  64. Turning up your nose? Trying to imitate Obama when asked if he will obey the law?

  65. Lippy, I’d be grateful for a neighbor who gave a shit. It wasn’t like you called the cops on them, and they had some ‘splaining to do.

  66. Ha! Laws are for little people.

  67. And why are you trying to oppress your boy with underwear?

    *sigh*

    Because of moral majority assholes like Xbrad.

    No, he was just out of diapers and we were going out in public. We let him air it all out as part of the training, but it’s hard to get that genie back in the bottle.

  68. Send flowers.

    On the note write ” The bouquet would have been bigger if your husband wasn’t such an asshole”.

  69. You know Scott, I smiled at your suggestion at first, but now, hmmm…

  70. Lips, when you were yelling, “should I call 911?”, they probably took it as a threat and not as an offer of help. If someone thinks you are trying to call the cops on them, they are going to be pissed, especially if they have done nothing wrong.
    So, right now, you are both pissed at each other. But it is likely that you have a clearer picture of the situation than them. Which means you may have to take a step towards truce. If that does not work, who knows.

  71. Lippy, I’d be grateful for a neighbor who gave a shit.

    A fact I pointed out to the manager. Along with “who is being the good neighbor in this situation?”

  72. Here’s an idea:

  73. Stand outside their door and scream your head off.

  74. I would do a simple note of apology and good wishes and leave it at that.

  75. I am sorry I cared.
    Won’t happen again.

  76. Wolverines!

  77. “I would like to clear up a misunderstanding between us. That night that I butted into your business, I honestly thought your son had hurt himself, and my intent was to help you in any way that I could, including calling an ambulance. I am very sorry to have added to your distress during a trying family moment.”

  78. Oh Lipstick, I just woke up and saw this. Sonofa.

    You did the right thing. Do you want me to kneecap that asshole dad? 1) yes 2) soon

    Your call.

  79. Or you could send in Dave.

  80. Also see the options..

    Also yes I napped way too damn late. On the plus side, this afternoon I spent 4 hours with my youngest kid after all the other hours this weekend.

    So that was good.

  81. all stupid aside I can’t do nothing but you did good and you can hang onto that. I’m sorry you had to deal with all this upsetting stuff honey.

  82. Send them a condolences card that’s blank on the inside except for your name. That’ll keep them guessing.

  83. I have grenades.. somewhere

  84. Lips, when you were yelling, “should I call 911?”, they probably took it as a threat and not as an offer of help. If someone thinks you are trying to call the cops on them, they are going to be pissed, especially if they have done nothing wrong.
    So, right now, you are both pissed at each other. But it is likely that you have a clearer picture of the situation than them. Which means you may have to take a step towards truce.

    An offer to call for help as a threat? I don’t think I live in a place where people are of such criminal or guilty minds that an offer to help is automatically taken as a threat. Plus I know what my demeanor was. But good to know.

    And they had done something wrong, as the manager pointed out — it was them disturbing the peace of other residents and I would not have been out of line for calling to report that as a complaint, not that it occurred to me. Yet I am wrong for trying to see if some child is being murdered or raped, Tushar?!

    And I already had the office clarify what my my intentions were and had them, after they called me, convey my deep apologies to the hysterical mother. So I think I’ve done my part already to express sympathy for people who tried to cause trouble between me and the company that has the power to make me homeless.

    Now I’m wondering if sending flowers will be used against me in some way.

  85. well shit.. could somebody hold this thing while I find the pin?

  86. I need Laura to come with me to the next family reunion so that I don’t piss off half the people in the room.

    Roamy: Good Lord, do you think you’re fooling anyone with that hair? That’s not a color found in nature.

    Laura: Ahem. What Roamy meant to say was that the sun catches your highlights in such an astonishing way, that there are no adequate words to describe it.

    **Roamy slips Laura a $20 and says thanks**

  87. Oh Lipstick. Your offer of flowers is way more than the knuckleheads deserve but it is so you. You are a good and decent person. And tall. And cute.

  88. Woah, wrote all of that before seeing the other responses. Which I like very much.

  89. Lippy, I am not saying what the neighbors are doing is justified. All I am saying is, in their stupidity, they thought that you are saying, “your kid is screaming. Either you are beating him up, or he is being a general nuisance. Either way, stop it, or I am calling the cops.”

    I am not saying you meant that, or came across as meaning that. All I am saying is that this is what they could have mistakenly assumed.

    I will hide now.

  90. You deserve the flowers.

  91. Romy, if that were a true verbal skill of mine and not just a writing thing, I would totally rent it out for parties, and learn to do balloon animals too.

  92. Ah Dave, I’m a cynic and scorched-earther when looking at threats to my loved ones, but astonishingly inept at seeing dangers to myself. I’d like to do something nice for the mom, but not if it makes dad able to sue me or something.

    Eye rolls need trigger warnings it seems.

  93. Ooooooo, balloons!

  94. People in the situation these parents are in, are exhausted and at the end of their ropes. They don’t really have the energy or even the good night’s sleep that is required to devote thoughtfulness and understanding to external events like distraught neighbors. They’re just gonna lash out.

  95. They could be assholes.

  96. Alternatively, they could actually be assholes. But it might be too soon to judge.

  97. I want to send you flowers Lipstick.

    Have your people talk to my people.

    As an aside, there is an incident involving my youngest, an asshole at her apt. I was ready to hire a PI and then she told me she made friends with a local cop who is two apts away, with a wife and baby daughter. I told her tell him everything. She did and he’s all into nice cop mode. So that’s something.

    <3 I'm emotional today, never mind me

  98. HA HA HA HAAA
    JINX!!

  99. Tushar, don’t hide. You didn’t know that I’d already had the office apologize to the mother.

  100. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NDjrPwf1Aw

  101. This version of Red Dawn sucks ballz! Do not watch evar.

  102. Dave, probs with a roommate or near neighbor? Or NOYB. Good on telling the cop neighbor, goaaaal!

  103. Next time you hear a peep out of them go out into the hallway and scream

    “DON’T MAKE ME COME UP THERE!”

  104. Not sure if they are the same upstairs neighbors who were making rhythmic, repeated banging noises on their floor. LHF.

    At first I put it down to assembling IKEA furniture or something, but at month two I banged on the ceiling with my cane and it has been pretty quiet since then.

  105. Lippy “brings flowers” to the neighbors:

    http://tinyurl.com/kbvpvfd

  106. man I do not miss living in apartments.

    People suck. And everybody is an asshole. Except me. And Lipstick. Scott, he’s ok.

    Laura..

    ok not an asshole just. nevermind.

    xbrad isn’t a total asshole.

    Cyn is nice..

    shit this could take a while..

  107. Did anybody suspect that anybody else’s letter to Penthouse was a bunch of bullshit today?

  108. I’ve had pretty good luck with apartments. So far.

  109. In close quarters like apartment buildings, eventually even nice people will hit each others’ buttons, mostly accidentally.

  110. you probably picked classy apts.

    Back in 1979 I didn’t. La Paloma Del Rey. The Place of the King.

    King cockroach.

  111. The crappiest places have the nicest names.

  112. My neighbors chose poorly.

  113. Lippy “brings flowers” to the neighbors:

    http://tinyurl.com/kbvpvfd

    Oh puh-leeze! She was holding back on the face punches. Going for the forehead instead of the nose. Ptfffft.

  114. Lippy knows things.

  115. The last time we lived in an apartment was in ’69-’70.

    An unfurnished one-bedroom went for $90/month, with pool & gym.

    The guy that taught us to skydive and taught Anita to ski, and me to flyi, offered to build us a house next to his on a very large lot.

    We took-over the construction-loan of $12,000, at 5%!

    We did NOT miss the fights, robberies, noise, or assholes.
    We were very fortunate…

  116. Paloma = dove, or pigeon.

  117. >>Paloma = dove

    Dave paloma into the water.

  118. Tush, one of my coworkers is trying to sell her house, and some Indian people viewed it today with her real estate agent. They brought a compass and used it during the viewing.

    Can I assume they were muslims?

  119. I might have misremembered it. It was govt sponsored class whatever housing in 1980. 3bdrm decent place for $150 a month. I was kidding about the roaches.

    Lipstick you went after a kid you thought was in trouble.

  120. I’ve never had the pleasure of living in an apartment. I lived in a trailer house once. ONCE!!!!

  121. Paloma=free bird
    Wooooooo Hooooooooo!
    *holds up lighter*

  122. Laura, not necessarily. The Indian equivalent of Feng Shui is Vaastu Shastra. There are some arcane rules about the design of the house. The only one I know is that north facing houses are considered the best. My friend won’t even buy rental properties that are not north facing. South facing are a no-no. East and west facing are ok.

    If you have names, I can tell right away if they are Hindu or Muslim.

  123. South faces evil sunshine.

  124. I hate all of you.

  125. No need to hate me, Scott. I’ll consider myself lucky to get a two bedroom townhouse for $2,500.

  126. Granted, I would like a garage that opens to the unit for security purposes when making three trips in with the groceries. A guest/store my extra crap room and washer-dryer hookups.

    I’m just too dang old to be fishing for quarters to do the laundry.

  127. Very interesting, Tushar. I have no names. She doesn’t know either. Her realtor is handling the whole thing and just happened to text her today.

    Goodnight darlings. So sweepy.

  128. >>I’ll consider myself lucky to get a two bedroom townhouse for $2,500.

    I got nothing in California. If you want something in Florida, I can get you a newly renovated 3 bedroom townhouse for $1100 a month.

  129. In a past life, I saw Evil Sunshine open for Blue Cheer at the Fillmore East in ’69.

  130. I lived in 3 different apartments. A 1Bed1Bath (with my fiancee) in my last year of college before the first marriage, a 2Bed2Bath (alone) after my divorce, and a 2Bed1Bath (alone) before I bought the house in Ann Arbor.

  131. MMM scheduled for 607am.

  132. I got nothing in California. If you want something in Florida, I can get you a newly renovated 3 bedroom townhouse for $1100 a month.

    *weeps*

  133. $2500?!? Ouch.

  134. Yeah, but not to complain (too much). It’s my choice. Plus salaries are higher because employers know they have to account for that.

  135. Everything over there has got to be expensive.

  136. The Rainmaker has turned out to be a good movie. Three bald heads.

  137. well I’m sleepy

  138. Is it September yet?

  139. It’s gotta be September somewhere.

  140. So can I ride with you guys?

  141. *awkward pause as XB calls Sean*

  142. Just kidding pendekos! I’m going out early.

  143. Sure you are.

  144. I’m leaving tonight. ‘gonna be great. couple six weeks at a KOA and bam! Hello Sean M. gimme a hug.

  145. Cool. Save a drifter for me.

  146. Brunette? or used to be brunette?

  147. Surprise me.

  148. I get frequent flier mileage from my stewardess chick
    She look right in that tight blue dress, she’s thick
    She gives me extra pillows and seat back love
    So I had to introduce her to the Derp High Club


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers