What you need

And this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSME53nL8tg

390 Comments

  1. Squeeeee!

  2. Thanks for making MMM seem content rich.

  3. Just helpin’ out, Leon.

  4. Mmmm, that fresh new poat smell. Good morning.

  5. This poat is loaded with sugar. Real sugar. Enjoy.

  6. Moarnin’ Roamy

  7. I need to get moving and get ready for work, but the couch sure is comfy this morning.

  8. Time for me to get fires lit under the boys. Catch you peeps later.

  9. gmurmin

  10. Day off.

  11. I think you guys should start serving breakfast.

  12. Time for me to get fires lit under the boys.

    Cyn, careful! Remember the lessons of Hansel and Gretel!

  13. I think you guys should start serving breakfast.

    No.

    It’s bad enough that we serve lunch.

    [whisphers] low bills

    On the weekends, we only serve the dinner menu and I lurve it.

  14. I almost had to murder a young couple last night. Young, one child. $30 bill.

    THey left me$2.

    You know, money is tight for me too. I don’t eat out.

  15. Maybe you weren’t quick with the chocolate milk refills.

    Did you watch Adam Corrola’s video on the ONT.

    Internalization is the key to change.

  16. 6.67% is not a proper tip? The hell you say.

  17. We don’t refill chocolate milk.

  18. Yannow, some people leave small tips to express dissatisfaction with their server….

    Jus’ sayin’…

  19. We don’t refill chocolate milk.

    Yes. Exactly.

  20. My $2 tip wasn’t my fault. It was pretty much pre-determined.

    I didn’t get upset, because it wasn’t exactly a surprise.

    I do like it when I get surprised. I got surprised Sunday night. $10 on $50 from what would have appeared to be a sure-fire low-tip.

    No offense, but if the table is speaking Spanish, a 10% tip is good. $4 on $80 is very likely, for example.

    But I got 20%. Yea me.

  21. If I am expressing dissatisfaction with my service I leave $0.02

  22. No offense

    none taken

  23. annow, some people leave small tips to express dissatisfaction with their server….

    Jus’ sayin’…

    Yea, that’s not why they left $2. They were cheap.

    And they made a complete mess of the table. They even got crab in their water, so I had to clean that out.

    But they said “thanks” so I guess that should cover everything?

  24. Que?

  25. But they said “thanks” so I guess that should cover everything?

    I was just teasing you. I’m sure you go above and beyond for your customers.

    And some people are just obnoxious when it comes to tipping.

    Nothing makes me more insane than watching people discuss “what should we give her?”

    Unless s/he intentionally threw your food at you while spitting in your drinks, you give 20%.

  26. We always joke that when people say thanks, and great service, you’re tip is going to be smaller because they’re giving you a “verbal tip.”

    It’s not that unusual for a table to rave to the manager about the service, while giving a crappy tip.

  27. And I always spit into the drinks in the kitchen, so they’d have no idea about that.

  28. *coffee spit take*

  29. It’s part of the cost of going out. You don’t want to pay, then don’t go out. Period.

    God, people are assholes.

  30. It’s not that unusual for a table to rave to the manager about the service, while giving a crappy tip.

    After Saturday’s show, the host and I went to lunch with the guest from the 2nd hour.

    OMG, that was the worst lunch I have ever sat through. That woman was obnoxious, pretentious, pushy, so full of herself I can’t imagine how she found room for her lunch.

    Other stuff happened, but after making the wait-staff run around like crazy and being so cloyingly sweet and condescending to them it was beyond rude, she left 15%.

    I wanted to slap her

  31. Have you noticed a racial quantifier to your tips, Car in? It’s noticeable in pizza delivery. Don’t know what it’s like in the restaurant side.

  32. Yes, J’ames. Of course, you NEVER know when they’re going to break type, so I always hope for the best and give good service.

    Interesting tidbit about people of J’ames’s pallor. Often if they are repeat guests – the FIRST time the tip will be low. But if they come back, and become regulars, they tip well.

    THere is a black couple who’ve been coming in a lot. The first time I waited on ‘em, I think I got 8%. But then they’ve come in a few times (and I always treat them like my BFF) and now I get 20% from them.

  33. Give’s Car In “just the tip”

  34. What people don’t realize is that the base hourly wage for a waiter is only $4.60 an hour, however they must be guaranteed a minimum of $7.40 an hour. So if they make the equivalent of $2.80 an hour in tips, all the restaurant has to pay is $4.60.

    Those tips are what make the difference between being waited on and flipping burgers at McDonalds.

    I hate cheapskates.

  35. I only make $2.65 an hour.

  36. That couple was there for my last HOUR of work (and my only table) so for the pleasure of waiting on them, and listening to their brat cry, I made $4.65.

    Totally worth it.

  37. And I always spit into the drinks in the kitchen

    And my wife wonders why I rarely want to go out for meals.

  38. I usually make 20% or more though.

  39. I tip 20% at buffets. I figure I’m burning up the margin on food, the least I can do is reward the nice lady who brought me water.

  40. You know, I thought it was $2.65, because that’s what it was when we had the inn, but they had talked about raising it, so I looked it up online just now, and it said $4.60.

    Something is fishy.

  41. I just looked into it further and it looks like it is still $2.65.

    Not sure where this site gets its info.

    http://www.ehow.com/list_6368689_michigan-labor-laws-waitresses.html

  42. Who gave this a thumbs down?!?

    *readies finger over ban button*

    That doggie is stinking cute! And winking fer pete’s sake!!!

  43. I usually make 20% or more though.

    usually more, but only if you really shake that moneymaker of yours, no whut I mean, sweetie?

    *smacks Car in on the ass

  44. And winking fer pete’s sake!!!

    oooOOOoooo It’s winking.

    I thought it lost an eye…

  45. *tee hee*

  46. I thought it lost an eye…

    Well, it might have, not sure about that. Which ~should~ make it even cuter!!

    *peers thru beady eyes*

    You’re the thumb-downerer, aren’t you.

  47. Wait a minute…. It’s Hotsperm!!!

    Sonuvabi…..

  48. That puppy is smiling?

    It looks to me like it is screaming in abject terror and excruciating pain.

    Seriously, Cyn, do you hate dogs so much that you take great pleasure in their pain and suffering?

  49. I love puppies dammit!!! And he’s smiling!! Dammit, he’s smiling! YOU’RE the real puppyH8r! And you’re not even my real great-uncle-in-law!

    *runs off crying, slams and tries to lock bedroom door; realizes someone has removed the lock*

    Sonuvabi…!

  50. Obama thumbed it down because it isn’t fat enough.

  51. HAHA! He’s just a snackin’ puppy.

  52. Time to go dash the hopes and dreams of someone wanting to strike it rich.

    Try not to suffocate yourselves when you warm your car in a closed garage while I’m gone. Except wiserbud (but not wiser).

  53. And you’re not even my real great-uncle-in-law!

    I’m not?

    well hell. That takes all the fun out molesting you then…

  54. I hate dogs.

  55. poor puppy can’t even breath, what with that person pressing against it’s lungs like that.

    I simply cannot see how the torture of that poor thing is even remotely cute.

  56. “And my wife wonders why I rarely want to go out for meals.”

    Ha! Years ago I told Laura that restaurants have a big spoon out back. The big spoon never gets washed, and it’s used to shovel everyone’s leftovers into doggy bags.

    She wraps her own food now.

  57. Yuck, scott. That’s not true. LOL

    I bring folks their takeout containers, or use their own silverware to transfer.

  58. http://tinyurl.com/bbq9cfn

  59. The big spoon hangs on a rusty nail, and there is so much old food stuck to it that it’s about 5 times it’s original size.

  60. Carin – Did you see the photo of DG I posted last night?

  61. The best tippers tend to be people who have actually worked as waitstaff themselves.

    DD#1 actually reached into her purse one time because she didn’t think that our (quite generous) tip was adequate for the job that the young lady waiting on us did one Mother’s Day.

    Made us kinda proud…..

  62. HS, wasn’t there some Japanese soldier who stayed hidden away for a couple of decades and didn’t realize that WWII was over?? Quite a culture shock for him when he finally emerged -

  63. Yeah, I remember something like that.

    They should have taken him to a Tool concert.

  64. i did not chief. I was taking people food.

  65. I thought that was a Gilligan’s Island episode :)

  66. Carin – here ya go. . .

    http://flic.kr/p/dQsG9F

  67. Very cute.

  68. They really should contact Gerber about that baby. She should be on the jar labels.

  69. That’s what I keep trying to tell the Chief – she is just a doll!

  70. My wife worked for Bill Knapps for years.

    I don’t let her pay, because she’s wwwwaaaaaaaaayyyyyyy more critical and harsh about service than I am.

  71. Inre: The Russian version of the Earnest T Bass family……

    I just got through reading “Escape from Camp 14″ on my Kindle Fire. It’s about a young man who was born into a Nork prison camp and never knew any different. He escaped to the south when he was about 20 or so and lives in America now. Pretty interesting read.

    Something I never really thought about is that the South Koreans got an opportunity to watch the West Germans take on the burden of trying to rehabilitate a backward society when they reunified with the East Germans and don’t really want to make that sacrifice themselves. They understand that on an abstract level, reunification is the morally right thing to do, but when the rubber meets the road, they’re not in favor of moving forward. Appeasement is the result of such thinking.

  72. Here’s a picture of my brother and me when we used to go shooting all the time.

  73. In reading the Amnesty story at AoSHQ, I see why I rarely comment there anymore. From 10:30 to 12:10 there are over 500 comments. Who has time to read all of that?

  74. So what if you get a bottle of wine thats up there in price and been marked up 4 times, lets say food was 60 and wine 40 for round numbers, what is the tip?

    What if the wine was 80?

  75. The tip is 20% minimum if the service is acceptable.

  76. And by the way, the person who served you that $80 bottle instead of the $40 bottle undoubtedly took the time to learn about the difference. And yes, you probably asked for a recommendation.

    So, pay up.

  77. Good morning, people who don’t need certain kinds of guns and/or magazines.

  78. I’ve had that thought as well, PG. My suspicion is that they’re waiting for the North to basically surrender so they can do reconstruction on their own terms.

  79. Well I don’t ask for recommendations, I always go with ‘tickled pink’.

  80. I don’t read anything over there but ace and the cobloggers that also participate here.

    I don’t really get, or agree with the new stuff. It’s still my favorite site, though, it’s just the content produced by my favorite bloggers seems to be dwindling.

  81. I don’t get why we don’t just grant Amnesty to all of the illegals. What’s the difference?

  82. We’re going to.

  83. I have to wonder how the folks who are all for Amnesty feel when someone cuts in front of them in line or speeds up to the front of the lane of traffic that is being narrowed and then tries to ease in between the cars that have been patiently waiting their turn.

    And I have to wonder why nobody in the media is willing to make a similar comparison.

    Then again, they’re probably the ones who always cut in line…..

  84. My kitchen staff is all mexicans. They’re nice, but they’re not trying very hard to assimilate. they seem to like being Mexican.

    Which makes me wonder why they’re HERE instead of there.

  85. Good morning, people who don’t need certain kinds of guns and/or magazines.

    I guess I don’t really need a subscription to Model Railroader.

  86. Because “there” is a fucking shithole crime ridden corrupt dung heap.

  87. Our (Mexican) expo girl and one of the (Mexican) cooks are dating/living together. He just got knocked her up.

    And he’s got a wife and children back in Mexico.

  88. Can’t wait for Rubio to wring his hands on Rush, bemoaning that he really wishes he didn’t have this problem. But let’s recruit new Democrat voters anyway.

  89. My wife, her sister, brother-in-law, daughter, and parents all came to this country legally. And my wife, sister and BIL all became citizens the old fashioned hard way.

    When we brought her parents here in ’05 immigration was a fucking bureaucratic nightmare, but we still did it legally. And they had to sign documents that prevented them any access to welfare or social security (not that we were planning that anyway.)

    So fuck all these Mexicans and Guatemalans and shit.

    Oh, and learn to speak our language if you want in.

  90. Yea, see that’s kinda my point.

    Why hold on to your Mexican-ness, if it’s a crime-ridden shithole?

    The Germans who emigrated after WW2 didn’t exactly wear their heritage with pride.

    I’d think the Mexicans would be like “ooh, it’s cool I’m Mexcn but it’s SOOO much cooler HERE- America FUCK YEA!” kinda attitude.

  91. I like what Rush said. THey can come here – immigrants, but they can’t vote for 20 years. I’d be willing to make it 10.

  92. But 20 does have a nice ring to it.

    We could just split the difference and make it 15?

  93. I’m hoping it accelerates the collapse. America 2.0 is going to awesome.

  94. shorter Hotspur:
    The GOP thinks you’re suckers for playing by the rules.

  95. Why hold on to your Mexican-ness, if it’s a crime-ridden shithole?

    Because we have an entire Diversity Industry (that overlaps with the politicians who have a hardon for giving them free shit in exchange for votes) which tells them that it’s better to hang onto their culture because Fuck Whitey and besides, You Didn’t Cross The Border, The Border Crossed You.

  96. Mexico would be so much better if we just gave them Texas, California, Arizona, and New Mexico back. It’s theirs, you know.

  97. So, Rubio is talking up what a pain in the ass it will be for illegals, and how it will be even worse than if they’d tried to legally immigrate.

    Since the legal route was already too hard for them, what makes you think the current crop of illegals will go back and do something even harder?

    They’ll just maintain their current status. So the fact is, it is de facto amnesty.

  98. Where’s that whore Mare?

  99. Because we have an entire Diversity Industry

    Ding, ding, ding, winner winner chicken dinner or

    cena de pollo ganador ganador

  100. Dana Perino was saying the same things as Rubio yesterday. I guess that’s because Dubya’s immigration views were about the same as Rubio.

    Also, Jeb Bush is trying his feet in the water now too. One publication labeled Rubio and Jeb as the 2 frontrunners for the 2016 nomination. This would not surprise me in the least.

  101. Marco Rubio and Jeb Bush: Is there a difference?

  102. The day after amnesty looks exactly like the day before. Not one illegal immigrant cares about citizenship above a job.

  103. Okay, Rubio is just being mealy-mouthed. He’s not in a “bidding war” to make the easiest path to “citizenship?”

    Then what is he pushing? Somewhere, Lucy van Pelt is howling with laughter.

  104. The day after amnesty looks exactly like the day before. Not one illegal immigrant cares about citizenship above a job.

    Somehow this point is too subtle for our GOP superiors.

  105. They aren’t talking citzenship yet. Only “bringing them out of the shadows”, whatever that means.

    I hope we prosecute every single person who used a false SSN or any forged document.

    I can dream.

  106. Okay, Rubio is a plain jerk. He just said too many people were “demagoguing” this argument over immigration. Riiight. His recent editorial in the WSJ was so full of blatant lies that John Derbyshire had to eviscerate it on his podcast, and it was a thing of beauty.

    http://takimag.com/radioderb/hate_studies_head_start_and_kabuki_theater

  107. Oh, here Rubio goes, with the “it’s so tough, it’s so uncomfortable to discuss this issue.”

    Box of Kleenex, stat.

  108. Rubio is so good on other things, why does he have to do this?

  109. Rubio is so good on other things, why does he have to do this?

    Just because you don’t have a haircut like Trent Lott doesn’t mean you can’t aspire.

    Rush let Rubio off the hook, and I didn’t expect much more.

  110. I hate dogs.

    Only when broasted. Deep fried or baked, they’re okay. :-)

    The tip is 20% minimum if the service is acceptable.

    What if the food sucks?

  111. I hope we prosecute every single person who used a false SSN or any forged document.

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! You should have your own HBO special, mang.

  112. Brrr. 26 degrees and a 35 mph wind. Hopefully this storm won’t stay around long.

  113. something retarded

  114. What if the food sucks?

    You complain to the owner or manager. Why would you take it out on the waiter?

  115. You know what Republicans really need? A voting bloc that increasingly favors Democrat policies like more government interference in the economy, more abortion, and same-sex marriage. Like the hispanic bloc.

    http://bit.ly/Vu3Wd4

    Hispanics chose big government and higher taxes by an astonishing 75-19 margin. Even third generation Hispanics are to the left of the general public.

    In another survey, after the Democrat shift on this issue Pew finds: “More Latinos Now Favor Gay Marriage Than Oppose”, by a healthy 52-34 margin.

    Hispanics believed Obama had a better plan for taxes by a 47-23 percent margin, while Obama lost Whites on taxes by a 32-44 percent margin.

    Hispanics supported Obama on Social Security by a 48-17 margin, while Obama lost won Whites on Social Security by a 26-40 percent margin.

    Hispanics supported Obama on Education by a 52-20 margin, while Obama lost Whites on Education with 33-39 percent margin.

    Hispanics supported Democrats on the crucial issue of Obama-Care by a massive 69-31 margin, while White opposed Obama-Care by a 39-61 margin.

    And a self-proclaimed hispanic conservative is just the guy to go hunting for that.

  116. I am disappointed in Rubio leading on immigration.
    What happened to the Great American Melting Pot?
    Did it go out like 70’s fondue?
    Now we are a salad and sadder for it

    *Resists obvious salad joke*

  117. You mark my words, next up will be a push to ban Assault Salad Shooters™.

  118. What if the food sucks?

    You complain to the owner or manager. Why would you take it out on the waiter?

    This can be problematic, and one of the reasons I don’t work at places where the food sucks.

    Last night I had a complaint (the food wasnt hot enough) but the lady didn’t want me to take it back to the kitchen and fix it and seemed determined to sit there with a scowl on her face.

    So I brought her a new meal w/o her consent. It was prime rib, so quick to remake (you just cut it off …).

    She still didn’t seem very happy (yes, it was hot, etc) but just seemed determined to stay unhappy. HOW COULD IT BE LUKEWARM?

    Well, these thing occasionally happen – and you were here with a party of 12 … yada yada yada. And – I brought you a new/hot one.

    SO STFU.

    Luckily, she wasn’t paying the tab.

  119. “But them Messicans are Cat Lickers, & they’re all pro-life, so you rehuglikkans should be wecoming them!”

    Oh, & blacks are, by & large, part of conservative Christian denominations. Weird they don’t vote like it.

  120. *Resists obvious salad joke*

    Jello salad is not a joke. It is a crime.

  121. No one needs high-capacity bacon bits or crouton magazines to hunt a salad.

  122. She still didn’t seem very happy (yes, it was hot, etc) but just seemed determined to stay unhappy.

    Some people seem to LIKE being unhappy.

    Actually, I think some of them like the attention that being unhappy brings them, but most of us get that shit knocked out of us early outgrow that eventually.

  123. Jello salad is not a joke. It is a crime.

    Oh, for fuck’s sake, Eric. Why did you have to go and do that?

  124. Here’s a novel concept: LIE.

  125. Here’s a novel concept: Tell people they are getting free shit, then tell them they have it.

    Unemployment is down. Your taxes were lowered by not raising them.

    And do it in Spanish. Or better yet Spanglish.

    Necissitamos free shit, cabrones.

  126. I don’t know “cabrones” yet. Is that Spanglish for “broheims”?

  127. I’m sure I’ll have pissed off all my liberal facejizm friends by posting the vids of my wife becoming an American, and titling it: This is the “path to citizenship.”

  128. If a person isn’t a “legal” citizen, are they bound by any laws?

    ‘Cuz it sure does seem that in Obamamerikka it’s a better deal to not be a citizen than to be one…..

  129. Why would you take it out on the waiter?

    Because I am doing business with a business, and they’re an employee of the business that just screwed me. Deal with it.They can bitch to the boss to get them to improve the food, or go work someplace with better food.

  130. “Laws.” That’s quaint.

  131. Heh. Apparently Michelle has lost interest in the “Let’s Move” stuff.

    http://www.whitehousedossier.com/2013/01/29/stop-michelle-abandons-move-campaign/

  132. Because I am doing business with a business, and they’re an employee of the business that just screwed me. Deal with it.They can bitch to the boss to get them to improve the food, or go work someplace with better food.

    As I said, I won’t work someplace where the food sucks, but you can’t please everyone. Some people love something that another person hates.

    One woman was really pissy because she didn’t like her meal. The food wasn’t bad, she just didnt’ like it. The shrimp still had the tails on, and there was mussels mixed. You know – like it said on the menu. WHich I OFFERED TO PUT ON THE SIDE.

    To which she replied … “you know, I’ll give it a try.”

    The look of horror on her face when I delivered the meal.I could have slapped her.

    The other people I served that dish to later in the night almost licked the plate.

  133. But, AD, the waiter can’t fix the problem. Only management can. If you want to screw somebody, refuse to pay the bill, then go on Yelp and post your gripe.

    The waiter is just trying to eke out a living in a job that is very hard to do.

  134. I missed it, but did Obama try to up his manlyness/gun factor by claiming he goes Skeet shooting all the time?

    ba haaa haaa haaaaaaaaa

    Skeet shooting?

    ba hhaaa haaa haaaa.

    That’s about as manly as golfing.

  135. Hey, skeet shooting is fun.

  136. I’m sure it’s fun.
    Lots of things are FUN.

    But it brings up images of kings/royalty ordering their staff to “pull” while they take aim in their robes.

  137. Skeet shooting IS fun (ftr, I’m really, really bad at it) but it’s hardly macho.

  138. Ok, I’ve already wasted over half the day waiting for my dad to call and say he’s ready to come home from the hospital. Crap. I have errands to run, but I’m waiting, etc.

    gah.

  139. Plus, he’s only been to camp David a handful of times.

    @@.

    He’s such a fucking asshole.

  140. Laws?

    Government overlords, please note the following:

    MJ (D)

  141. I think being able to hit fast moving targets is pretty macho. I mean it’s not macho like playing Jason Bourne in a movie, but still…

  142. Y’all saw how TNR got faked into publishing a bad photoshop of Hussein the Arrogant failing at skeet?

  143. Or macho like playing some racist piece of shit bounty hunter in a Quentin Tarantino jizz fest.

  144. Y’all saw how TNR got faked into publishing a bad photoshop of Hussein the Arrogant failing at skeet?

    Niiice.

  145. Skeet is the most fun Ive had using a gun. 12, 20, even 28 gage. I doubt obama has done it. And if so sucked,otherwise he’d be at Camp David every chance he got.

  146. It’s sad that they are so steeped in the cool-aid that they didn’t immediately recognize that picture. Idiots.

    Skeet shooting- it just brings up images of privilege.

  147. I just read he Bates camp David because there is no golf.

  148. Skeet is the most fun Ive had using a gun.

    Once you go bank robbery, you never go back.

  149. This is one of those times when I say “pics or I call bullshit.” They photograph the motherfucker whenever he cuts wind, if he’s ever been shooting there would be photos.

  150. images of privilege

    JFK had “Profiles in Courage.” TFG will have “Images of Privilege.”

    Both ghostwritten, of course.

  151. How’s that go?
    This is my rifle, this is my gun
    one is for shooting, one is for fun.

  152. They photograph the motherfucker whenever he cuts wind, if he’s ever been shooting there would be photos.

    Bingo.

  153. I’m sure TNR doesn’t realize that when Obama said “We” go skeet shooting that he was using the word in the royal sense.

    Obama loves to take credit for what other people actually do.

  154. If someone faked a photo of Obastard capping bin Laden with a snubnose, at least one libtard outlet would publish it as real.

  155. I just read he Bates camp David because there is no golf.

    Probably because it’s too remote. He likes the bling of expensive restaurants and access to celebrities.

  156. Obama is VERY comfortable lying. He’s been doing it without blow back since he was very young.

  157. Anyone else think that the reason there’s an ammo shortage is because the government was so busy buying all of it up at the end of 2012?

  158. Very true, Teresa.

  159. Teresa, the royal “we” means “I”. TNR would prefer to assert that he was referring to others, not himself, because they know he’s a lying sack of shit and that there is no proof.

  160. Attn: People with Photoshop skillz…

    http://tinyurl.com/bxdxfy3

    http://tinyurl.com/4yp8whc

    …just add shotguns.

  161. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-21203035

    So now if someone gets hold of wiser’s iPhone, we can figger out the password to his account on http://www.facebook.com/BroniesForever

  162. When a king says “we are cleaning the toilets” he does not me “I.”

  163. When the Queen says “We are not amused”, she definitely means “I.”

  164. They could use this too.

  165. By the way, it’s called the majestic plural, and it means “I”.

    Don’t fuck with me.

  166. Nicotine free for one year! As of today we are officially non-smokers.

    That will cut our Obamacare rate by 50%.

  167. Hahahahaha I forgot about that photo, Carin. That fucking ball didn’t even make it to the plate.

    I might not be able to produce a strike at that distance, but I could definitely make it to the plate.

  168. Holy shit! It’s been a year?

    Great job, Scott and Laura!

  169. Grats Scott.

    *puffs e-cig*

  170. Oh goodness I forgot hotspur thinks he knows crap.

  171. Teresa, the royal “we” means “I”.

    That was kind of my point – Obama is the exception to the rule.

    We’ve heard him say “I, me, mine” so many times that when he says “We”, anyone who’s been paying attention knows that means “Not I”.

    The man is not shy to take credit for something that he thinks will make him look good.

    Shooting ANYTHING (other than his mouth) doesn’t win him any points with his worshipers.

  172. A year? Seems like a couple of months ago. Well done.

  173. I kid, I pretty much only use those when I’m watching Archer.

  174. Congratulations, Scott & Laura! Didn’t realize it has been that long -

  175. Congrats Scott and Laura.

  176. Doesn’t seem like a year at all. Time flies.

  177. I’m proud of you, Mr. and Mrs. w. I’m not quite ready to give that up.

  178. Here you go, Sean

  179. They started selling my brand of e-cig at my nearest gas station. If I ever actually burn through my nicotine stockpile and want more, it’ll be really easy to re-stock. Not sure I will, but it’s reassuring.

  180. Starting in Jan ’14, insurance companies are ‘allowed’ under obamacare to charge up to a 50% premium for tobacco users.

  181. Don’t fuck with me.

    Don’t fuck with us.

  182. >>>> Here you go, Sean

    http://i.imgur.com/kQDgRpZ.jpg <<<<<

    Ha. Excellent.

  183. Well done, Eric.

  184. Hahahahha

    George, that made us LOL in our pants.

  185. I heard some interview with Tarantino on the radio not too long back where he talked about how his dad was absent and his mom basically whored around with a lot of black and hispanic guys while he was a kid. He talked about it in glowing terms because he said it gave him a unique perspective on race.

    It pretty much explains everything about why he’s crazy as bugshit, in other words.

  186. Just heard the other day that Obamacare rates for smokers will be 50% higher. That will cost some people several thousand dollars.

    Just wait, they will get around to fatty foods, dangerous sports, garden tools, alcohol, sugary drinks………..

  187. Just wait, they will get around to fatty foods, dangerous sports, garden tools, alcohol, sugary drinks………..

    Thank God I have the beef and chicken lobbies going to bat for me…

  188. marriage

  189. here’s a preview of next Monday’s post:

    http://tinyurl.com/bbprzye

  190. Congratulations, Scott & Laura! Didn’t realize it has been that long -

    Oh, I knew. They have been inSUFFERable….

    Actually, I’m kidding. They have gotten through this pretty damned well, in my opinion. They don’t even give me shit when I smoke around them, which I try to do as little as possible.

    Shooting ANYTHING (other than his mouth) doesn’t win him any points with his worshipers.

    The only “shooting” I believe he has ever done in his life is “up”

  191. Hey, look at that, we have had a reshuffling of my “people to kill if I find out I have a terminal disease” list. XBrad just broke into the top 10.

    Congratulations, XBrad!

  192. Just wait, they will get around to fatty foods, dangerous sports, garden tools, alcohol, sugary drinks………..

    And when they came for my fatty foods, there was no one left to speak for me.

  193. Why I really find hilarious is that everyone seems to have fixed Obama’s skeet shooting remark for him.

    He didn’t say he “goes” skeet shooting. He said they “do” skeet shooting.

    “We do skeet shooting at Camp David all the time”

    Please feel free to tell me if I’m wrong here, but that’s not quite right, is it?

  194. marriage

    Hotspur?

  195. Heh. Nice, George.

  196. Heh, Ace posted my Sean-sourced pic.

  197. Just heard the other day that Obamacare rates for smokers will be 50% higher. That will cost some people several thousand dollars.
    Just wait, they will get around to fatty foods, dangerous sports, garden tools, alcohol, sugary drinks………..
    —————————————-
    I think people should be given a health score, like a credit score. Then we could start forcing companies to provide low cost care to favored groups because FAIRNESS!!! That worked out really well for the housing market so I’m sure we’ll duplicate it.

    Given enough time a 400 pound, chain smoking, diabetic, alcoholic, race car driver will be a ‘victim.’

  198. Oddly, if you got the government out of the insurance/coverage mandate business, of course health insurance companies would charge more for smokers/fat people/kilt wearers. And it would make sense.

  199. If you image search “Obama skeet shooting”, some of them are pretty good.

  200. I’d give Lance Armstrong’s other nut to see Obama hunting or holding a gun.

    Backward.

  201. I’d give Lance Armstrong’s other nut

    Then cough it up.

  202. We used to shoot skeet with a hand launcher at a local dump when we were kids. My friend had a double barrel from his grandpa in Maine. After a while of missing clays we’d go Terminator and shoot car windows and the like. Good times.

  203. Terminator kilt it

  204. Or Lance’s nut

  205. Just heard the other day that Obamacare rates for smokers will be 50% higher

    Umm……isn’t that why some people couldn’t afford health “insurance” in the first place?

    And isn’t that DISCRIMINATION!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

    *waits for “smoking” to be declared a ‘pre-existing condition’*

  206. “We used to skeet shoot with a hand launcher at a local dump”

    Now if Obama had said that, then I would totally believe him.

  207. *waits for “smoking” to be declared a ‘pre-existing condition’*

    Hey, it’s a disease, right? An addiction.

    Who am I kidding? Like protected identity groups, there are protected disease victims. HIV: protected with money and pity. Smoker: fuck you.

  208. And just wait until they start charging more for people with cancer.

    Or old people.

    Or pregnant women.

    Or……

  209. lightning and thunder

  210. *waits for the day when they declare “There is no typhus in this city”….*

  211. lightning and thunder

    Huh. We’ve got that here, too – just started, along with the rain.

  212. [i]Or old people.[/i]

    Old people who have suffered historical discrimination deserve priority. So, fuck you old white motards. Hospital beds for blacks and gay hispanic poets first.

  213. Studies show that smokers actually save the government money by dying sooner.

  214. Thank Gaia Barry smokes.

  215. We should pay people to die.

    That would fix everything.

  216. And pregnant women not only cost us more because of the cost of OB care, there’s those icky clumps of cells that we’re gonna have to pay for for the next 26 years.

    *wonders when the one-child policy will kick in*

  217. Smokers’ tax money feeds government coffers. They give it all To The Children

  218. Roe v Wade was a long time ago. You want to do anything meaningful with it, propose to regulate abortion like gun sales.

    Waiting period. National database. None under a certain age, etc etc.

  219. We’re in the mid-fifties here. The record high temp. on this date was set in 1914, but Global Warming.

  220. I don’t want to have an abortion.

  221. Absofuckinglutely miserable day here in west Texas. Temperature and wind are a perfect match at 55 apiece.

  222. Roe v Wade was a long time ago. You want to do anything meaningful with it, propose to regulate abortion like gun sales.
    Waiting period. National database. None under a certain age, etc etc.

    I take it you’ve been asleep the last 20 years?

    How could you not hear all of the screeching from the Uterine Rights groups about “How dare you regulate our bodies! Eleventy!1!!!111!!!1111!!!!!”?

  223. 80

  224. I take it you’ve been asleep the last 20 years?
    How could you not hear all of the screeching from the Uterine Rights groups about “How dare you regulate our bodies! Eleventy!1!!!111!!!1111!!!!!”?
    ———————————–
    Yes, but they are liars. They want their bodies regulated by the state, so lets do it.

    My point is that even talking about abortion is silly. Adopt the tactics of the left and move the ball incrementally.

    Only extremists don’t want a parent notified when a minor undergoes very serious surgery.

    Only an extremist, racist, rape lover wants their daughter to have surgery without parental consent.

    You get the point.

  225. Supposed to be 60 here tomorrow with thunderstorms.

    Very rare for January.

  226. Comment by Hotspur on January 29, 2013 4:31 pm
    I don’t want to have an abortion.
    ===========
    Don’t worry, you can’t get pregnant from blowjobs, even if you swallow.

  227. Freezing rain tonight then rain tomorrow. Up to the 40’s which is a relief from the bitter cold we’ve had.

  228. A balmy 29 degrees with a 35+ mph wind here.

  229. If I sign up for crappy healthcare insurance this year, can I keep my crappy healthcare insurance?

  230. If I sign up for crappy healthcare insurance this year, can I keep my crappy healthcare insurance?

    Yes, but it will cost 25% more, even though Obamacare saves you money.

  231. One of my favorite lines in a Chuck Pahlaniuk book is, “I want to have your abortion.”

    I’m pretty sure it was true love.

  232. Pepe, FYI

    http://tinyurl.com/a78awmz

  233. There’s another case report of a female with Crohns Disease getting pregnant after oral sex because of an enterovaginal fistula. (Abnormal connection between loop of intestine and vagina). I looked but can’t find a reference to link.

    Despite the humor implied with the above, Crohn’s is an evil disease that we need to find a cure for now

  234. Fuckin-A, we’re finally going in the room after an hour and a half delay. I’m a victim of MAFUT=Mandatory Anesthesia Fuck Up Time. Time to fix some bones! (I always want to add that to Conan’s “What is good in life” soliloquy)

  235. My younger daughter will certainly thank you if you do.

  236. No argument about Crohn’s disease here; thankful all we had to deal with was Celiac.

  237. Looks like Lurch “Spent Christmas 1968 in Cambodia” is now Secretary of State.

  238. Looks like Lurch “Spent Christmas 1968 in Cambodia” is now Secretary of State.

    Which makes me ask which is worse: Him as Secretary of State, or Elizabeth Warren as the Senior Senator from MA?

  239. I still have the hat!

  240. Isn’t Chrohn’s Disease a euphamism for too much anal?

  241. Which makes me ask which is worse: Him as Secretary of State, or Elizabeth Warren as the Senior Senator from MA?

    Obviously a trick question. The correct answer is “The Voters of Massachussets!!” They gave us both, plus The Lifeguard, plus Barney Fag, plus a couple of dozen other lower level douches I can’t call off the top of my head.

  242. If Massachusetts were a border state with Mexico, I’d say we give it back.

  243. You hosefochers should be entertaining me now. I’m waiting for them to release my dad. He’s been here about ten days or so.

  244. Afternoon.

  245. Isn’t Chrohn’s Disease a euphamism for too much anal?

    cron’s daemon gets it done on schedule.

  246. How’s your dad doing these days, Car in? (Other than being in the hospital, obviously) You guys have been on the prayer list down here.

    You guys need anything?

  247. If a waitress brings me a lime green jello salad which is luke warm and melting, because the salad plate just came out of the diswasher, her tip will be $00.00.

    Nada.

    Zip.

    I don’t care whose fault it really was. It’s the waitress who is responsible.

    [Aside from lime green jello salads, I agree that 20% is the norm.]

  248. cron’s daemon gets it done on schedule.

    I hate you all for not laughing at my incredibly clever, nerdful Unix pun. You were all probably popular in high school too.

  249. Ill entertain you Car in.

    how many fingers am I holding up?

  250. Six.

  251. how many fingers am I holding up?

    Six.

    *moves to bar table served by Car in*

  252. how many fingers am I holding up?

    That’s not a finger, and I’m sorry that God played such a cruel joke on you.

  253. I tip 30%. Anymore than that and I’m forced to unbuckle my belt.

  254. Back during the eye incident, people would ask me how many fingers am I holding up? And I couldn’t tell, but I’d always answer “just the one”

  255. Actually it was three.

    So what do you want to do now?

  256. Decided to go with Ray Ban glasses. I think I look very smarter.

  257. If you’ll look like a naughty librarian, I will approve.

    /obligatory

  258. Excellent choice, MJ. Very snazzy.

    http://tinyurl.com/ah55acg

  259. I think they look nice.

    http://is.gd/HHU7LD

  260. Safety Poster that should be in every shop!

    http://tinyurl.com/asv5qbs

  261. OMG they are so ‘you’!! http://bit.ly/YCRw3H

  262. Wiser?

    http://is.gd/ubuK76

  263. Nailed it.

  264. Safety Poster that should be in every shop!

    http://tinyurl.com/asv5qbs

    ————————-
    I’ve heard you should never, ever drink this. No matter what.

  265. This too.

    http://is.gd/rd0vtR

  266. I’m wearing Wayfarers in my POL pic.

    The one without the sword. I go for the classic look.

  267. Nobody pulls off classic like you, man. Nobody.

  268. DD#2 drew an “Always wear safety glasses” poster for her chemistry class that the teacher liked so much, she posted it on the wall.

    More than one fellow student – when finding out she was the artist – told her that her drawing was a gruesome reminder of what could happen if they didn’t obey basic safety rules in the lab.

    It was…….unforgettable…… :P

  269. Wiser?

    http://is.gd/ubuK76

    Wait, wait, wait… is that… is that Kerry Marie?!?

    HaHa! I’m suddenly thinking that THIS was how Rosetta first saw her! Through an empty Jagger glass!! Bwahahahaha!

  270. That explains everything.

  271. A fedora would be good with it I bet.

  272. Congrats on your smoke-free first year Scott (and Laura too, wherever you are). You are strong-like-bull.

  273. Thanks.

  274. CYN – STFU! Thank you in advance.

  275. I have been putting off installing a new hot water heater because something told me our breakers were messed up. I got a chance to test it yesterday and it was labelled wrong. I would have fried.

    Always trust your something.

  276. Always trust your something.

    Female Intuition?

  277. Your something is usually pretty good when gambling too.

  278. Yeah, here’s what I know about electricity, it’s invisible and it can kill me.

  279. Forecast to get 1.38 inches of rain tomorrow. What should I do to occupy my time after my workout?

  280. nap

  281. Build a canoe.

  282. Jewstin – I live in a fucking condo!

  283. My something is not to be trusted.

    Unless its after midnight.

  284. Oh. . .

    Build a canoe in the living room.

  285. My something tells me Obama likes to eat dog…still. And that he lights up a smoke after a little dog meat treat.

  286. 60 degrees here today. Drove around with my head out the window.

  287. Timing. Everything.

  288. Did anybody tell anybody else that their big idea wasn’t cost effective today?

  289. *raises hand*

  290. Heh, look out behind you pup! There’s a skinny man with a kitchen knife bearing down on you!

  291. Did he shoot his own dog, or did someone else do that for him?

  292. I would bet my last Lance Armstrong testicle that Michelle Obama’s daddy owns a gun.

  293. Skeet, dog….What Difference Does It Make?

  294. Owned.

  295. Heavy rain you say MCPO?

    You must not build a canoe. You must build, an ark!

    ….

    Do you know what a “cubit” is? It’s kind of important..

  296. Just saw an ad for Crown Royal Maple. Combines two of my favorites whiskey + maple syrup.

    Pancakes may be in order here!

  297. I saw that ad last night, Jimbro. And l like maple syrup on my bacon. Which gives me an idea…

  298. We’re about a month away from maple syrup season here and the spate of articles about how climate change is threatening this vital tradition in New England. Yawn.

  299. I make Herself drink the Crown Royal. I drink the good whiskey.

  300. The ARK:

    http://www.pbase.com/paulthedane/noahs_ark

  301. You know, it was my experience that if whiskey was any good, you didn’t need to add anything but a few drops of water to it.

  302. The only time I’ve had CR was when we liberated a bottle from a liquor cabinet from a house party 25+ years ago. I was not a connoisseur of brown liquor then and it was wasted on me (insert joke here). I like either bourbon or scotch. Favorite scotch for special occasions is Balvenie Doublewood. I’ve been working off the same bottle for at least three years.

  303. Scott,
    It’s always a good idea to have a meter when working on electrical stuff. You can shut-off the breaker then test the appliance with the meter to see it it’s still hot.
    But then, I’ve been shocked so many times that it’s a miracle that I’m still alive…

  304. Debriefing time!!

  305. Or maybe Peanut Butter Jelly time.

  306. Also, our magnetron went out on the microwave. It’s amazing how much we actually use that silly thing. I think I’ve using a microwave since I was 13 or 14.

  307. Where you at? Where you at? Where you at? Where you at?

  308. Insert “been” in that last sentence. Should you care to.

  309. Cyn, we have all the new acronyms for debriefing and communication. Latest one is SBAR. Situation, Background, Assessment, Recommendation. You can give people a template but you can’t make them smarter.

  310. I’m re-reading the regulations about having chooks at my house, and I can see that this is totally do-able, but I basically have to have just a handful of them (5-7) and they must be confined to the garden. With a little chickie house in the middle of it.

    So it must be a very, very large garden. I’m going to have to expand it again. Gonna make a big part of it a plastic tunnel too. http://www.territorialseed.com/product/13488

    Darn. Oh no. Gosh, this is just terrible.

    Seriously though, I need advice on raising chooks. Can you refer me to good book sources that you find reasonable, thanks?

  311. You can give people a template but you can’t make them smarter.

    Word. Only glasses can do that.

  312. the fuck is a chook?

  313. CHICKENS

  314. So do Hillary’s new glasses make her smarter? Or, shudder, sexier?

  315. Asian chickens.

  316. The ark story made me think of this: http://tinyurl.com/b4dtwzx

    Guy had more faith than seamanship

    SYWM

  317. So do Hillary’s new glasses make her smarter? Or, shudder, sexier?

    No dividing by zero allowed!

  318. You kids with your crazy expressions and all. Chickens.

  319. When I googled ‘chook’, one of the top hits was a link to Urban Dictionary. I didn’t open it.

  320. The Double Wood is my favorite as well
    The single barrel is nice if you can get it cheep

  321. Laura, Storey’s Guide to Raising Chickens is the only book you need.

  322. I could also do a pictorial poat here or at my place for my coop setup, if that would help.

  323. On my way to Amazon…

  324. We all be hanging in da coop!

  325. Farmblog

  326. Chooks in the wire!

  327. My something tells me that we have a neighbor that is extremely allergic to chickens, or has a crippling chicken phobia.

  328. Hah, no shit.

    We take three steps outdoors, she’s allergic to it.

    When do people generally buy chicks in Spring? We have nothing ready for them yet.

  329. You seem to have a very highly developed something.

  330. Do they have mufflers for clucks?

  331. My something is something.

  332. I’ll say.

  333. We bought ours in late March last year, about 3 weeks old when we got them so they had colored feathers. Based on breed, that meant we could be pretty sure they were all girls. If you buy them young and fuzzy, you’ll have to keep them indoors for awhile like Car in did.

  334. I think we need 12′ fencing.

  335. >> The Double Wood is my favorite as well

    I can only do single wood.

  336. According to the town, we need 18′ fencing equipped with robotic gun turrets, to make sure that any chickens that try to escape are neutralized immediately.

    That only makes the cost of each egg, $12,098

  337. If you can do Double Tree, you can do Double Wood.

  338. Heh The Balvenie will give it to you
    Dave

  339. Well, at least you won’t have to worry about racoons.

  340. I’ve got all the wood I can handle already!

  341. If I lived in the county I could have 6 chickens I however live in the city where it is prohibited

    Municode is your friend google it

  342. Bedtime. Alldaymeeting tomorrow and I’m designated note-taker.

  343. I know Justified is on but I am still glad Leon killed it with notes.

  344. I’m just stuck on that expression my dad used, “busier than a dog with two dicks”.

    Which is silly, but I remember it still.

  345. Grabs mind bleach so I don’t have to think about XBrad handling his wood…………

  346. The Henry Ford bio on PBS is excellent.

  347. cyn – what’s up with the modified vulcan death grip on that frenchie?

  348. “Municode is your friend..”

    haha – the douches in Ithaca (NY) are revisiting livestock prohibition… evidently chickens are useful again-

    one year you’re a toothless, shit-shoed hick; the next you’re vogue.

  349. Where did everyone go?

  350. checking their chickens?

  351. Choking them!

  352. that’s probably a felony in some venues – they better check the Municode

  353. I need some cute puppies or kittehs after reading the ONT at AoS. Good Lord.

    **runs around giving out squishy hugs to feel better**

  354. Roamy – cheer up. I’m pretty sure there is an ointment for the cream of dafeet soup; if not it doesn’t matter.

  355. night

  356. I’m watching a youtube on early nuclear testing. No Godzilla so far.

  357. Good evening pegboys!

    After a nice boring shift I come here to relax.

    It really sucks that someone at wordpress got the attention of the Air Force IT Nazi’s and got the domain banned. Now the slow shifts really drag.

    xbrad, I need a scope for my Mini-14, any recommendations?

    Not looking for any thing long range. More varmint control and ‘social work’.

  358. I need some cute puppies or kittehs after reading the ONT at AoS

    Yeah, it was rather too saccharine for my taste.

  359. Phat, is it a Ranch rifle, already set for scope rings, or will you have to have it tapped?

    Back in ’87, I had the Mini-14/5R Ranch pre-milled. IIRC, I mounted a Tasco 3-9x32mm. And it was fine. The Mini is fairly accurate, but not a MOA gun by any means.

    Some folks prefer a fixed 4x scope.

    But as to brands, I never was much of a connoisseur. I think every scoped rifle I had mounted either a Tasco or Bushnell, not because they were particularly good, but they were available and a lot cheaper than Leopuld.

  360. I love the aardvark avatar.

  361. Or is that an anteater?

  362. Xbrad,

    It’s a ranch.

    I just bought a red dot for my Mossberg 500 and am debating if I need a scope for the -14.

    I’m thinking a 2-7x scope, but I’m a sped when it comes to gunsmithing.

    The military trains me on a weapon, issues one to me and off we go.

    I’m new to the civilian ownership market.

  363. George,

    The full jpg has text that says, ” Fuck you, I’m an Anteater!”

    I cannot explain why I think that is hilarious, but I do.

  364. Xbrad,

    I’m going to swing by the base Rod and Gun Club before shift tomorrow. I seem to recall that people get very hot/cold about optics and may just pick something up on resale.

  365. ” Fuck you, I’m an Anteater!”

    Too bad Western civilization hasn’t the same pride in itself.

  366. The original pic:

  367. A Mossberg 500 is the only sort of gun I’ve ever considered buying, because a shotgun is more forgiving of bad aim. That’s me, bad aim.

  368. George,

    It’s an interesting debate for self defense between a pistol and shotgun.

    I have a Glock 27 as my primary pistol and a Mossberg 500 under the bed.

    I just bought a hi-point 40, but it won’t be here until next week. I like the hi-point because it is cheap and reliable.

    It’s a bit clunky, will not suit as a CCW, and is not going to win a beauty contest. It will fire rounds into the target and is rugged.

    I’m considering buying the carbine just so I can keep my ammo calibers minimized.

  369. A friend might be willing to sell me his 7.65mm Beretta pistol. Perhaps I ought to do this before the fascists clamp down. Which Mossberg 500 models are generally for sale to the public? The 590s?

  370. Phat, I too am in the “I’ll master what they issue me” school. And since Uncle Sugar never issued me an M24 SWS, I never worried that much about scopes. I just bought one and mounted it. Zero’d it the next time I went to the range.

  371. Bonne nuit.

  372. And it’s only a day away
    We could leave tonight
    You could derp along the way
    Dream in black and white

  373. Morning.

  374. That it is.

  375. I’m going to try to be nice today, so I’m going to get out my negativity here this morning:

    Fuck everything.

    Ok. I feel better. Time to pretend to kick ass.

  376. Good morning all.

    Office all day with freezing rain in the forecast = lots of no shows. .

  377. We have flooding today, freezing expected tonight. Driving tomorrow will be a blast.

    Alldaymeeting starts now. ‘bye folks.

  378. Well well well. I see I wake up to 4 inches of snow, and happy happy joy joy at the H2.

  379. Bleh
    I need IV coffee
    Phat needs a Leopold scope. I am not a scope person but I found a noticeable improvement for the extra cost.

    I was all for cheep sunglasses until I bought a pair of Oakly’s now it is Costa’s or nothing.for me. Good optics matter.

  380. Jay, you’re an awesome guy. Don’t worry about the snow. At the very least it will look pretty and a whole bunch of kids will have fun playing in it.

  381. That was nice MJ
    Step one on your goal for today

  382. wakey wakey.

    My, you look dapper today MJ. You have a FABULOUS day, ok?

  383. I have decided to write Senator Marko Rubio a letter that I will poat here tomorrow after HHD

  384. Hi Carin
    I applied for a job in Lansing yesterday. How far is Lansing from you or the other Michiganders?

  385. Cool! Lansing is about … an hour. No more than that. Nice close distance.

  386. It’s probably even closer to Hotspurt and the ghetto bar.

    Maybe not too far for Leon either? I know lansing was a good hour and a half from Detroit … but from where he lives, maybe an hour as well?

  387. HHD!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers